We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Durty Nelly's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Durty Nelly's Inn to your Saves list
Durty Nelly's Inn
Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I stayed at Durty Nelly's last weekend and found that it is perfectly located for both the red light district and Dam Square. The hostel bar is fantastic and the atmosphere for the Ireland game last weekend was terrific. Moreover, the food was really good and reasonably priced for Amsterdam standards and the discounted drinks menu for hostel guests was a pleasant surprise (only 3 euros for a bottle of Heineken). I found the staff to be both friendly and helpful and the rooms were basic yet very clean. Overall, I would highly recommend Durty Nelly's to anyone who is looking for cheap accommodation in the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    73
    29
    6
    15
See reviews for
5
13
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed at Nelly's just over a year ago with 3 girl friends on a cheap weekend break - we chose Durty Nelly's because it seemed like a fun place to stay and we were right, although cleanliness did leave a lot to be desired.

Despite being a hostel above an Irish bar I would have expected the rooms to be cleaner than they were but given the cost of hotels in Amsterdam, I guess the prices reflect this (Amsterdam accomodation as a whole is expensive though, I've found). We paid the extra for a private room, which was extremely cramped with 2 sets of bunk beds, a basic shower/toilet room and a sink in the bathroom.

As with a lot of buildings in Amsterdam, the stairs up to the rooms are quite a climb so don't stay here if you are likely to struggle!

The breakfast that comes with the rooms is terrible but if you're on a tight budget, would be enough to fill your tummy (toast, plastic cheese etc) but I would 100% suggest getting one of the paid for bar breakfasts- it was SUCH a welcome in my hungover state!

The bar also does a discount on drinks and food for people stopping over which was a nice touch, especially given that the bar did have a nice atmosphere and the people working there are lovely.

We also paid to go on one of the bar crawls that started at Durty Nelly's and that was such an experience.

To sum up, if you want a budget trip to Amsterdam, Durty Nelly's is a great place to stay - if you want anything other than a bit basic/grubby, go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a private room with a toilet - the shared rooms and toilets didn't smell great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed here with 2 other friends for 3 nights, so we booked a room for a private room which has 4 bunk beds. We were pleasantly surprised by the convenient location, friendly staff and clean rooms. They also offer quite a good breakfast every morning. The toilets were clean and working perfectly. The rooms had good heating, which we were thankful for as it was quite cold and wet when we were there.

Overall we had a great stay there and will definitely return to stay here if we go back to amsterdam. The friendly and helpful staf definitely made for a more pleasant amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This inn is just what every traveller needs, who goes to amsterdam.is a very clean inn, with lovely staff and a very nice bar.they offer a quite good breakfast and security for night hours and they change the bed sheets very often.the price is really good for what they offer.

Room Tip: rooms on the road side are not so quiet in the night but are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I went here with my 2 mates for 3 days was ok but the stairs were proper steep to walk up an the bathroom was tiny lol and we paid for a private room.was in a great place right by everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Just returned from a stag weekend in the Dam!
I can confirm that 'Durty Nellys' is surprisingly clean. The bar is cheap, the staff are fantastic and know how to handle large groups without spoiling anyones fun.
The guy who greeted us - Alex, was brilliant and sorted everything out really fast so we could get on with the weekend!
The beds are comfy despite them being bunk beds. The one bad point was how hot our room was. It was -10c outside and at least +40c in our room!! Alex soon sorted that out for us too.
Great location, plenty of bars, cafes, restaraunts, etc plus the Amsterdams main square just a 2 minute walk away. Food in hostel is also decent and fairly priced, but expect to take a walk if your after fancy cuisine!
This is slap bang in red light district, so if your easily offended - look elsewhere!

I have previously stayed next door at the Winston, also a good place, but the bar is more expensive! Whichever you stay in, eating & drinking is open to all. Though the Winston has an indoor smoking area.

Room Tip: Depends on your size of group, but if you dont want to share with strangers then best to check first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I was there for 2 nights with two of my cousins. The staff was great, very charismatic and accommodating. The rooms and bathrooms were surprisingly clean. There are some hostel perks associated with staying here, primarily the discounted bar menu. You can get a pint of Amstel for 3,50 euro, by far one of the cheapest prices I saw during my stay. There is also free breakfast and wifi, towels/hairdryers/adapters available. The location was excellent and it was very secure. There is a safe available for valuables, passports or pretty much anything you have of value (this is in addition to the lockers for each bed). I talked to some people in my room and they told me horror stories of other hostels in Amsterdam. One guy was staying for 2 weeks, spent three nights at Durty Nelly's and then was curious to check out the other hostels. He came back after one night and spent the remaining nights here. Did I mention they have tickets to the main attractions so that you don't have to wait in the ridiculously long lines? It was great. One thing though, I highly discourage the pub crawl in Amsterdam with the company party kings or pk. It was the worst pub crawl I have ever been on.

Room Tip: I was in the mixed 10 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Durty Nelly's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durty Nelly's Inn

Address: Warmoesstraat 117, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durty Nelly’s Hostel and Bar offers clean and comfortable budget accommodation in the coolest city on the planet!If you are up for sightseeing during day and party in the evening – you found the perfect place! We offer you a great mixture of atmosphere, top location, friendly and helpful staff and famous Irish Pub on the ground floor for your enjoyment!Located just a short walk from the Central Station, in the heart of the historical city center, in walking distance to city attractions, sights, and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Durty Nelly's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durty Nelly`s Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durty Nelly's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.