We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Annemarie Hotel

Save Saved
You added Annemarie Hotel to your Saves list
Annemarie Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Annemarie Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14, 1071 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Basic.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

the rooms are clean, the bedding is changed after every person stays and under the beds are swept. however, the guy does come in and do this very early, and not very quietly... the balconies are good cause you can smoke on them (not sure if you're actually allowed but who's gonna know?) the only downside is it is FREEZING, and the bathrooms in the rooms are shocking, 3 of us were in an 8 person room and the bathroom was no bigger than the size of a small toilet cubicle. you can't take your clothes into the shower with you because they will get soaked so you will need to go into the shower undressed and leave the shower undressed which can be awkward seeing as you're in a room with various strangers... we never stayed for breakfast because it was literally bread.. however for the price you can't expect much. the location is not ideal and to get to Dam Square and the Red Light District you do have to get on the trams 7.50 euros per day, but this is also good for seeing other things. Amsterdam is an amazing place so don't be put off! if you're going there to smoke i would recommend paying that bit extra to get a comfortable room, becuase no matter what you think you will be spending time there, when you get a 7.50 tram ticket it lasts 24 hours and you ccan get on as many as you like so we usully went out around 11 then came back at 4ish, had a nap to sort our heads out then went back out, these beds are NOT ideal for chilling on, or comfortable in any way...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    25
    10
    46
See reviews for
Families
0
8
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

As a backpacker of 7 months I would say this hostel is a fine hostel/backpackers! You get everything you need! Good size rooms, basic breakfast included, tram stop very close, kitchen and the staff are friendly and clean the hostel everyday! The only issue I had with the place was that the shower on our level was to small so I had to go up one level to a bigger one! But apart from that I give this place two thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here as a university field trip in February and it almost ruined our holiday. I was covered in bed bug bites and the manager was one of the nastiest, rudest men I have ever met. The receptionist were friendly thank god!

I would absolutely insist that you don't stay here, our friends stayed just up the road in a different hostel and paid something like 1 pound more a night and had a lovely time! It’s not worth the saving!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a late review, we stayed here last 2010.

I didn't book this hostel, it was my friend with me, so I can't complain when we were there and it was too late for us to book and all better hostels that time were fully booked :(
It is located at the city centre but few blocks away from the red light district so it's quite quiet here.

It is near the Van Gogh Museum just opposite the a concert hall so sometimes the street is a bit crowded every after or before the concert, but guaranteed you won’t hear the sound from the outside. You can walk going to Leidesplein or red light district too, just use map and you can never go wrong. They have free maps just ask the receptionist.

Hostel has friendy and helpful (cool!) receptionists, it has free internet kiosks at the common area. Breakfast is also ok and they provide their own linen and towels. The stairs' steps are just soooo steep and not within the standards, so be careful when carrying your backpacks ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful when organising transport and helping with using the buses and trams. They don't take cash/credit cards so you have to pay cash which is a pain. There's a cash machine not far away, but still. There was no elevator either and dragging our 20kg+ suitcase up three flights of stairs was less than enjoyable. Overall we had a good stay and the location is great. The rooms were quite hot with minimal ventilation and there was only one shower and toilet per floor. I wouldn't have liked to spend more than a couple of nights there.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

dont even THINK about staying here. sketchiest hostel ever AND they have BEDBUGS !!!!!!! not kidding. when i went to bed it was dark so i couldn't see anything, but when i woke up in the morning there were these tiny black bugs (about half the size of an apple seed) crawling all over my sheets. i didn't think anything of it until a few days later i was COVERED IN red, painstakingly-itchy HIVES from head to toe and they didn't go away for weeks. those were the most miserable weeks of my entire life. so absolutely DO NOT NOT NOT NOT NOTTTTTTTT STAY HERE. (also i was with 3 other girls on this trip and when we woke up there were several fat disgusting older men in the room, snoring very loudly. and those bunk beds were very close together... ew. ) overall a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE. WORST HOSTEL IVE EVER ENCOUNTERED.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

people of hotel booked the same room twice, they would want to chance us of hotel to anywhere place, but they never wanted refund the money. staff were not friendly were rude, place are dirty and expensive. it was a very bad experience. "Imagine more than 100 euros per night and they want to take the hotel" huye de este lugar

Room Tip: near the area there are better options, I recommend omega hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Annemarie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annemarie Hotel

Address: Jan Willem Brouwstraat 14, 1071 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Annemarie Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Annemarie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annemarie Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annemarie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.