We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location - but sleep deprived” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bletchley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“central location - but sleep deprived”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

hotel is perfect location for sightseeing and access to city , walking distances to everywhere, only used tram for travelling to airport
hotel clean comfortable and staff were great , very friendly
room was small but functional , had a table and kettle, which was useful . we had a shared bathroom , bit apprehensive about this, but was fine , and kept very clean . the shower was very good (electric power shower)
noisy at night as located above a nightclub and nearby coffee shop, did not realise this prior to booking so sleep was somewhat disturbed, kind of good for people watching though :)
but we had a great trip , particularly fab hot weather too

Room Tip: room number 23 is above the night club facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Best location in Amsterdam for exploring the city's highlights as well as shopping and nightlife. everything is within walking distance. Rooms are very basic but clean. Good value for a hotel in the city centre.
During public holidays reservations have to be made several weeks in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nice small hotel - rooms very small but ideal for City breaks - very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly! Free wifi is good as well. Breakfast available in the bar below - E2.50 per day - buffet style continental breakfast. Right next to the tram stop - 5 mins into Dam Square. Recommended, however very noisy at night due to the bars/club below so not recommended for light sleepers!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macharen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Small hotel. Perfect balance between quality and prize. You can breeze Amsterdam in your room.
1 minute from the centre of the city and nearby tram and train and on a walking distance to the city's most important musea such as Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

A well run business. I have spent quite a long time in this hotel but had ot book almos 3 months in advance. The hotel gets very busy during weekends and is true what you read, is right above a night club. The location is good, no in the middle of dam square but certainly well located inside the canals ring. The square it looks at is very busy every day but is relatively safe compared to few years ago. The hotel is in fact closer to a hostel but definitely not a hostel. The staff is good, especially those that seems to be the owner and long term employees. I had alittle issue only with one youngish guy but not even worth mentioning it, just a misunderstandanding i guess. So, travelled from Toronto, you get to the hotel with any street car from the central station that runs on the damrak. The checkin was smooth, i got a double with shared bathroom. The bathroom was clean, even when there were other guests, whether it was because the guest were well mannered or because of the frequency it gets cleaned, i do not know but was acceptable. The room got cleaned every other day which i did not mind. My room was on the first floor just looking over the square. The price is good, for the same arrangement in Amsterdam you can easily expect a 10-15% more in terms of pricing, not sure if my way in advance booking helped with the prices but i think it was a honest one. The downstairs coffeeshop runs till 1am but was not noisy at all, the night club bass insteas can easily get up to 4am and the bass sounds are hearable from the room, but not annoying. Unexpectedly i found more annoying the guests in the nearby room, i think the rooms are better isolated from the outside than from each other so i could hear all the conversations even if they were almost whispering. Unless you get someone that decided to talk the whole night, which happened to me during the weekend, sleeping is not a problem.
I was surprised by the smoothness of the transaction: when you get this kind of hotel you are likely closer to travelling than to vacationing and therefore you are more concerned with avoiding financial damages. Instead, they never charged my credit card since i informed them of my intention to pay in cash, been given a proof of payment seconds after handling the cash to them and not been asked for a deposit. Which made me feel very comfortable. I also got somewhat sick and a very nice girl at the reception gave me useful tips about how to find a doctor, all solved in few hours. It is a safe place too, they are very careful, maybe because of the location, about who gets in and out and after a while a felt like there was a family taking care of me. If you need a cheap and safe place for few days or even a basic accomodation for a longer stay, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Someone mentioned that rooms on the other side of the square are less noisy but could not verify tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Easy to find, friendly staff, cleanliness is a high-level breakfast obilan.Jedina complaint is noisy night he hears the loud music from čofj shops but it should not bother anyone.
whatever you want to visit the most important sights of Amsterdam are located on the half-hour walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is by no means a hotel it's more like a hostel, we chose the room with the ensuite - wouldn't recommend due to the fact it's the only room and its above a nightclub which was really loud even at 5pm - very hard to sleep, you get what you pay for though, its a great location and I didn't expect much for the price - above a "coffee shop" too so the smell lingers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.