We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap and great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Easy to find, friendly staff, cleanliness is a high-level breakfast obilan.Jedina complaint is noisy night he hears the loud music from čofj shops but it should not bother anyone.
whatever you want to visit the most important sights of Amsterdam are located on the half-hour walk.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    73
    46
    14
    10
See reviews for
11
69
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is by no means a hotel it's more like a hostel, we chose the room with the ensuite - wouldn't recommend due to the fact it's the only room and its above a nightclub which was really loud even at 5pm - very hard to sleep, you get what you pay for though, its a great location and I didn't expect much for the price - above a "coffee shop" too so the smell lingers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Rembrandt Square Hotel has really exceeded my expectations. for only 15 EUR a night, we stayed in a hostel with great location, staff and value. The hotel itself is kind of worn out and a bit old but the friendliness of staff and great location makes up for everything. Some people complained in their reviews about the sounds coming from the club downstairs (faded bass and beats) which is true, but hey, you're not in Amsterdam to sleep. You're most likely to be joining the party than staying in your room. Also, be prepared to go up the stairs with your bags.

The room also contains a kettle and complementary coffee and creamer which was a simple nice gesture from the hotel.

A shout out to the great receptionist Chris, thanks for being awesome and helpful.

Definitely recommended for backpackers and young groups who are not picky about the luxury of the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in this hotel and I can say it is excellent value for money. It is situated in the center so you have easy access to everything, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants and it is not noisy at all.
The room was basic but very clean, a bit cold but the staff were extremely helpful and they quickly fixed that and they also helped me to charge my phone as I left my adapter home. Much appreciated.
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When booking, suggest you request NOT to be on the 4th floor, or even 3rd. Lots of twisty stairs, not great with suitcase or after a skinful.
Rooms very basic, clean, shared bathroom with 4 other rooms, ours was quite dark even when the lights had warmed up.
Location is good, lots of bars and shops, just may be worth taking earplugs if you're a light sleeper, especially for those rooms on the front of the hotel.
Breakfast is served in the club two doors down. Sliced bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yog, ham, cheese;a basic continental (no danish, fresh bread) but the sandwich toaster was the godsend.
For a girls/boys weekend away, does the job just fine. Would NOT use for a romantic trip, need somewhere a bit more upmarket for that.

Room Tip: 15 or anything on 2nd floor, ask to be towards the back if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for the one night.

Comfy beds ( although mine had a broken slat i couldn't really tell). Our room (#15) was really large. There were two sets of stairs making it seem more spacious, with a little mini bathroom. The bathroom, although gloomy was equipped with a good quality shower.

The receptionists were all really lovely. Access was really easy, 24/7.

Warning: This hotel is noisy. It's on the square which is busy even during the week. We expected this, but ask for a room at the back of the hotel like we had, and it was barely audible :) Also, being on top of a coffee shop, there is constantly a strong smell of weed!

^ These are all minor problems though. This hotel was amazing for how much we paid!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only stayed for two nights, and i had no experience in Amsterdam hotels, we had problems with the not so obvious entrance to it ( its next to a smoke shop) , you have to ring to get someone open the door, so a couple of times we had to stand in the rain for several minutes ringing over and over so someone opened the door. Then the stairs, i know that is something more to do with the architecture of the city but they are a little steep and drunk people will have some problems dealing with them.

I found it clean at least our rooms, but it is a little gloomy and just not very welcoming. Its okay i guess, but it wasn't that cheap either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#255 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#235 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.