We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More hostel than hotel, but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“More hostel than hotel, but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

When booking, suggest you request NOT to be on the 4th floor, or even 3rd. Lots of twisty stairs, not great with suitcase or after a skinful.
Rooms very basic, clean, shared bathroom with 4 other rooms, ours was quite dark even when the lights had warmed up.
Location is good, lots of bars and shops, just may be worth taking earplugs if you're a light sleeper, especially for those rooms on the front of the hotel.
Breakfast is served in the club two doors down. Sliced bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yog, ham, cheese;a basic continental (no danish, fresh bread) but the sandwich toaster was the godsend.
For a girls/boys weekend away, does the job just fine. Would NOT use for a romantic trip, need somewhere a bit more upmarket for that.

Room Tip: 15 or anything on 2nd floor, ask to be towards the back if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel just for the one night.

Comfy beds ( although mine had a broken slat i couldn't really tell). Our room (#15) was really large. There were two sets of stairs making it seem more spacious, with a little mini bathroom. The bathroom, although gloomy was equipped with a good quality shower.

The receptionists were all really lovely. Access was really easy, 24/7.

Warning: This hotel is noisy. It's on the square which is busy even during the week. We expected this, but ask for a room at the back of the hotel like we had, and it was barely audible :) Also, being on top of a coffee shop, there is constantly a strong smell of weed!

^ These are all minor problems though. This hotel was amazing for how much we paid!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only stayed for two nights, and i had no experience in Amsterdam hotels, we had problems with the not so obvious entrance to it ( its next to a smoke shop) , you have to ring to get someone open the door, so a couple of times we had to stand in the rain for several minutes ringing over and over so someone opened the door. Then the stairs, i know that is something more to do with the architecture of the city but they are a little steep and drunk people will have some problems dealing with them.

I found it clean at least our rooms, but it is a little gloomy and just not very welcoming. Its okay i guess, but it wasn't that cheap either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and were extremely impressed with every aspect of the hotel. Normally photos shown on hotel websites can be a little skewed, but these were true to life. The rooms were extremely clean and perfect for our short city break. The location is superb for young travellers with interest in going out at night as it was in the centre of the Rembrandt square itself, which is very easy to get to from the train station by tram, or even just a short walk of 10 mins. Whilst many reviews said that noise was an issue, i did not find that to be true as we didn't arrive back at the hotel until after all the clubs were closed! Because of this, the 24/7 reception was a godsend as they require you to ring a bell to be let in (which was fine by me as it ensured our safety). The reception staff were lovely and could not do enough for you and I would be more than happy to stay again, and probably will in a few months! Whilst each bedroom does not have a bathroom, two bathrooms are shared on each floor, but they were so clean you wouldn't have known there was anyone else in the hotel! Moreover, the room did have a sink in so we could brush our teeth in our PJ's. My one and only criticism was that the smell from the coffeeshop below did travel up into our room, however this was not a huge issue as you quickly got used to it as pretty much the whole city smells like this too.
Thank you to Rembrandt Square hotel for making my stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Me and my brother stayed here for 3 nights and we had a fantastic stay. We were on the fourth floor which was not a problem as up there we didn't hear any of the noise from the clubs below the hotel. The room was a perfect size for us and having a good fan in the room was very helpful. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. As for the location, well that for me was the best thing about this hotel. It is on the busy Rembrandt Square surrounded by restaurants and bars and Smokey's Coffeeshop is directly below the hotel if that is your kind of thing. One minor inconvenience was the shared toilets/showers however with two on every floor it means there is two toilets/showers shared between only five rooms so there were no queues to get in. There is also a toilet at reception. If I was going back to Amsterdam then I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you dont mind stairs, get a room nearer the top as it will block out most of the noise from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are exploring Amsterdam. The rooms are small and basic, but you won't be spending much time there anyway. The hotel is located on one of the busiest and vibrant squares in all of the city. You can easily walk from the hotel to anywhere in the city in about 20 minutes, and there is a tram station right out the front door. The staff is friendly, English-speaking, and available at all hours.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31' on the north side facing the square. No in room toilet, but had a sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and we loved this place. Easy to reach. Take tram 4 or 9 from amsterdam central and get down right opposite the rembrandt square. the hotel is right on top of smokey club. its 7 minute walk from waterlooplein station. if you are coming from airport, take train to amsterdam central and take tram 4or 9 from amsterdam central to hotel. Alternative route is you can get down at Zuid station and take a local train to waterlooplien and walk to hotel.

we found no issues with hotel. 24 hours reception, Bob at reception was helpful. check in quick. stairs are very steep. we were in 3rd floor and luckily did not travel with much luggage. numerous hotels and eateries around, we had no issues with food. the place is lively at night. we stayed in a weekday, but i guess weekends will be more buzzing.we bought a 48 hour GVA card for Euro 12 for metro/tram/bus travel. remember you can use this card for Airport travel (fyra or airport trains). 24 hour card is Euro 7.


room was very clean, airy and shared bathrooms were good. 2 bathrooms in a floor so no issues with it. the area seemed very safe. breakfast was served a club next to hotel and it was good and filling.

Except for steep stairs, this hotel won our heats. We would stay here again if travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;