We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, Amsterdam 1017 cv, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Considering this is a 1 star hotel it is great! The room was really clean, attractively decorated and even though we had a shared bathroom there were two to share on each floor so we were never stuck waiting. I can see why people might think it's noisy as the hotel overlooks right onto the middle of Rembrandt Square which is a lively square (however this does mean it is a great location with lots of bars and restaurants around) and we didn't ever find it a problem.

The staff were really friendly and we were able to leave our bags after checkout which was great.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    36
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
55
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a twin-bed room with shared bathroom. The room was just fair, in term of size and cleanliness. The door of the bathtub was broken and the shower gel was empty, but it was fine for us because we bring our own. Hotel is near to a coffee shop and a bar. That made the environment very noisy till mid-night, so I recommend people staying here should bring their ear-blocks. Be aware of the surely leg-breaking stair if you have luggage.

The staffs are cheerful and helpful. Breakfast provided was also satisfied.

Room Tip: Windows of the room never facing the Rembrandt Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here on a lads weekend break so this hotel was perfect for us, decent clean rooms and facilities and in a great location for a great price. Breakfast was also provided as part of the price next door in the nightclub area, was good for a bit of toast etc and a drink to start the day off. Looking to go back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year and it was a dream to stay in. We had a beautiful large room with balcony overlooking Rembrandt Square.
The food was great and staff were very helpful.
The hotel is in a really nice location. Lots of nightclubs dotted around the square if thats what you like.
The tram runs outside the hotel so east to get to Dam Square etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our first visit to Amsterdam, and had a good experience at the Rembrandt Square Hotel. There were a few issues we had with the place, however, that some people might find hard to look past. First, as most other reviewers have said, the hotel is located in one of the busiest squares of Amsterdam, directly above a coffee shop and numerous clubs that stay open until 3 or 4 in the morning. We were on the third floor, and it was still very loud, so I can only imagine how loud it is for the rooms on the second floor. But, the hotel is very upfront about this and offers free ear plugs for anyone who wants them. Along with the noise issues, I was bothered that the entire hotel constantly smelled like pot. But, there's nothing they can really do about that since they are located directly above a coffee shop. The Internet worked well throughout the hotel, and the shared bathrooms were pretty clean. Plus, the location is unbeatable. We were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see, and there was always something going on in Rembrandt Square. Finally, the hotel staff could not have been nicer, and gave us a map of Amsterdam pointing out how to get to all of the major sites. Though the noise and smell bothered me, I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padova
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is in one of the busiest squares in Amsterdam, at a walking distance to almost every major attraction, pubs and clubs outside if you want to party, friendly staff, good price, decent breakfast, hot girl at reception, as a young traveller I must say it doesn't get much better than this!
The rooms are a little small, the stairs are steep as hell and can be quite challenging if you've had a couple of beers ;-) but if you aren't a lazy bum you get use to it.
There is a club right beneath the hotel that stays open till 3 am, the music is a bit loud and I could hear it from my room but didn't disturb me that much.
Overall a nice hotel. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor! Stairs are crazy steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading comments on Tripadvisor - What a mistake. Booked for 5 nights, arrived 1am from the airport, first thing i noticed was a street full of drunk and stoned teenagers hanging about outside the club next door / below the hotel. Lifted our suitcases up the stairs to the reception, man on duty was friendly enough and said our room was on the fifth floor and there is no elevator!! After breaking my back lifting the first case up to the room to find out the room had three very small single beds, no en-suite and the sky-light window was open and no way to close it (temp was nearly 0 degrees outside. Immediately checked out!! Pointless asking for a refund - Have put it down to experience.

Room Tip: As close to the reception as possible unless you want to build up your muscles!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, Amsterdam 1017 cv, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.