We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Makes Up For Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location Makes Up For Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights during our first visit to Amsterdam, and had a good experience at the Rembrandt Square Hotel. There were a few issues we had with the place, however, that some people might find hard to look past. First, as most other reviewers have said, the hotel is located in one of the busiest squares of Amsterdam, directly above a coffee shop and numerous clubs that stay open until 3 or 4 in the morning. We were on the third floor, and it was still very loud, so I can only imagine how loud it is for the rooms on the second floor. But, the hotel is very upfront about this and offers free ear plugs for anyone who wants them. Along with the noise issues, I was bothered that the entire hotel constantly smelled like pot. But, there's nothing they can really do about that since they are located directly above a coffee shop. The Internet worked well throughout the hotel, and the shared bathrooms were pretty clean. Plus, the location is unbeatable. We were in walking distance of everything we wanted to see, and there was always something going on in Rembrandt Square. Finally, the hotel staff could not have been nicer, and gave us a map of Amsterdam pointing out how to get to all of the major sites. Though the noise and smell bothered me, I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    44
    12
    8
See reviews for
9
63
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
padova
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is in one of the busiest squares in Amsterdam, at a walking distance to almost every major attraction, pubs and clubs outside if you want to party, friendly staff, good price, decent breakfast, hot girl at reception, as a young traveller I must say it doesn't get much better than this!
The rooms are a little small, the stairs are steep as hell and can be quite challenging if you've had a couple of beers ;-) but if you aren't a lazy bum you get use to it.
There is a club right beneath the hotel that stays open till 3 am, the music is a bit loud and I could hear it from my room but didn't disturb me that much.
Overall a nice hotel. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor! Stairs are crazy steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Booked this hotel after reading comments on Tripadvisor - What a mistake. Booked for 5 nights, arrived 1am from the airport, first thing i noticed was a street full of drunk and stoned teenagers hanging about outside the club next door / below the hotel. Lifted our suitcases up the stairs to the reception, man on duty was friendly enough and said our room was on the fifth floor and there is no elevator!! After breaking my back lifting the first case up to the room to find out the room had three very small single beds, no en-suite and the sky-light window was open and no way to close it (temp was nearly 0 degrees outside. Immediately checked out!! Pointless asking for a refund - Have put it down to experience.

Room Tip: As close to the reception as possible unless you want to build up your muscles!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Keep in mind that my rating is so high because this place is such a great value. It is only a one star hotel though, so don't be fooled. The rooms are very comfortable.and clean. The location is amazing, right over the Rembrandt Square. We really enjoyed just people watching out the window where we had a perfect view of the performers in the square. It is very noisy at nighttime as others have said. I would have been miserable without the ear plugs, but with them it was fine. Just be prepared. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
624 reviews 624 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 188 cities Reviews in 188 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I booked this hotel about two weeks before us coming to Amsterdam. For about 100€ per night it was the cheapest twin room available in Amsterdam city centre. The deal is fair. The price is fine, the room was clean and the staff was very pleasant. It is situated on the Rembrandtplaan which is the place to go for a night of partying. However, our room was oriented towards the courtyard so we were not disturbed by any commotion outside. There were two shared bathrooms with shower and toilet for three rooms on our floor and they were maintained clean. I appreciated the electric kettle with instant coffee and teabags.

As for the cons, our room was very tiny and one of the walls was actually a roof that was sloping, which meant that my bed which was put against the sloping part of the wall had very little space above it. It needs a bit time to get used to. There are no elevators, so prepare for the option of staying on 5th floor with about 100 stairs to make on a very narrow staircase. The breakfast is at the bar next door as there is not much space left on the ground floor of the hotel and we found the time to be very inconvenient - it was served fom 9 a.m. when most of the time we were already outside exploring. There is a coffeeshop right underneath the hotel as well.

Anyway overall a good value for money, it is a fair deal and I would recommend it to fellow young travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is great. At first we got a room facing the square which I must admit a bit noisy with the pulsating music from the street but we were lucky they upgraded our room into a triple room facing the back of the hotel which is very quiet. There's no elevator in the hotel & we had to carry our heavy luggage up to the 4th floor but at least we had exercise. Inside the room, basic such as kettle to boil water & fan is provided. The triple room we had also has a sink. The staff is very helpful to show us where to exciting location to visit around Amsterdam. Hotel also provide a small room to store your luggage in case you came early before the check in time or decide stay after the check out time. Train stop just 20 meters from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to lower floor, facing the back not the square because it is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here with two friends in September for one night and was very pleased with the standard of the hotel as well as the location. Sittimg right on the square, central Amsterdam is just outside the front door - the square can be lively at night but we were lucky with a rear facing room. Funnily enough, there is a letter in the room stating that earplugs are available FOC as reception should you need them but honestly - it's nowhere near as bad as that would suggest. Staff very friendly, room clean and tidy with tea / coffee making and the usual steep stairs. We had a shared toilet which was two enclosed toilet units between about 4 rooms and they were spotless, never saw another person and quality of shower etc was excellent.
The breakfast was very good, just served next door in what was a jumping nightclub until about 3am - but it was transformed into a breakfast room with an excellent buffet.
If your into that kind of thing, Smokeys Coffeshop is right underneath the hotel and I would also recommend it - it didn;t get a good right up some sites but we found it to be one of the best and kept coming back. The combination of being able to have a beer and a smoke at the same time, plus they do food and some excellent fruit smoothies as well as good music, pool tables, quality 'gear', outside tables and a generally good atmosphere.

All in all a very good experience for us and would highly recommend the Rembrandt !

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room , get one facing away from the main square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.