We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location , nice room, thank god for ear plugs!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
bham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great location , nice room, thank god for ear plugs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

good location . standard of room was also good.

Overall the staff were helpful, on the last day i requested a wake up call to leave, and didnt get one. I complained and instead of an apology i got a "there is no record " and then the lady on reception advised that i actually did have a wake up call. - i wasnt high, and im a deep sleeper , but i would have woken if i had a call. There were no apologies. However, other than this i actually really liked the hotel and if this incident didnt happen I would have given the hotel a higher rating.

it is loud on weekends - so if you are not looking for that , dont pick this hotel. on thursday and friday night it wasnt too bad.

Room Tip: request the highest floor possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I know Amsterdam is pricier than other cities, but we were pretty disappointed with this hotel. The price (80 euros) seemed like a lot for what we got. People mention the location, which is central but really rowdy with the drunk college crowd. Lots of noise in the room, weird smell throughout, small room that was *very* stuffy (even warm, and that on a rather cool day), could hear people coming and going, mosquitoes in the room. Yeah, I'd say find a short-term rental for a longer stay, more bang for your buck, because decent rooms in Amsterdam fetch a high price. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located but has gone down hill since I had stayed there the last time. The carpets were not clean and we had a problem with the mini bar. Very good location but this is all I can say. The restaurant attached "flo" is still very good but the service has slowed. Pity as this was a fab destination in the past

Room Tip: As this is in the middle of the entertainment district try not to get a room facing the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights with our toddler. The stairs (as mentioned in other reviews) were challenging with the stroller. We were street side and the noise was loud but not disruptive. There was a lovely concert going on that we could watch from our window (room 12). The decor was lovely and the rooms were very clean but small (as we expected). The staff was very helpful. The fire alarm did go off in the middle of the first night because guests were smoking outside their window. The second night we were woken up by a staff member that climbed onto the overhang for the Smoke shop below to reach our window. There was a problem with the door downstairs and he was unable to get back inside. We opened the door for him but it scared us to death and it was challenging to get our toddler back to sleep after that. Breakfast was fine but it was served in the cafe/bar next door that reeked of stale cigarette smoke. The square itself is a great location. A large new Starbucks and lots of quick, take away foods are right outside. Despite our few disruptions and breakfast, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Only stay on the street side if you are not a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved the hotel. It was very central (15 minute walk from Central station) and in a much better part of town, in front of a very nice enchanting park, away from the very busy, dirty, and crowded red light district, But close enough to visit it.
The rooms were very clean and new. Staff very helpful like my remote control not working properly and being replaced right away or having our luggage safely stored while waiting for check in. The shared bathrooms are very clean and well kept and never busy or engaged given there's 2 per 4 rooms floor.
The only downfall is the coffee shop and 2 clubs downstairs which specially during the weekends can be very noisy but not if you are on the 4th floor like we did.
Prices are extremely cheap for central Amsterdam and breakfast simple enough but very nice and more than enough.

Room Tip: Even though stairs are steep (but so are any other central old building hotel) try to stay as high a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very clean and well located although a bit too pricey. Ideal if you do not mind the noise (party goes on until very late in Rembrandt Square)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in january 2012. Nice clean place to stay in a great location with alot of attractions within walking distance. Breakfast is in smokeys bar which is to the left when you come out of the door and was pleasent but nothing out of the ordinary. Perfect to set you up for the day though, and no limitations to how much you could have.
Didnt really have any plans we just spent the days walking around taking in the scenery and doing a bit of shopping. Came across the zoo which if you are a family travelling would have to be amsterdams best kept secret. Lots of things to do in the area and there is a tram stop just across the road so you can travel a little further out.
Stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the square, was a lovely view but did have to close the window at night due to the noise of the clubs below, although after a long days walk fell asleep pretty easily. Bathrooms are shared with another three rooms however never had to wait for them and were always clean and fresh.
I would say if your not there for the nightlife it probably isnt the best place to stay, especially if your a light sleeper. The stairs up to the rooms are fairly steep and seem to go on forever after a night out, (but then most places in amsterdam are due to the nature of the buildings).
would recommend using the central station to get back and for to the airport as travel is easy and cheap. Got a taxi to the hotel for 45euro, which is a little scary with all the bikes and trams, but then braved it on the way back and walked the 10min walk over to the station and paid 8euros for both of us to the airport. You get out actually in the aiport and only takes about 15mins, was much easier and felt much safer.
overall would recommend as the hotel is clean well kept and in a prime location but just be aware of its little downfalls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.