We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Firenze, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights with our toddler. The stairs (as mentioned in other reviews) were challenging with the stroller. We were street side and the noise was loud but not disruptive. There was a lovely concert going on that we could watch from our window (room 12). The decor was lovely and the rooms were very clean but small (as we expected). The staff was very helpful. The fire alarm did go off in the middle of the first night because guests were smoking outside their window. The second night we were woken up by a staff member that climbed onto the overhang for the Smoke shop below to reach our window. There was a problem with the door downstairs and he was unable to get back inside. We opened the door for him but it scared us to death and it was challenging to get our toddler back to sleep after that. Breakfast was fine but it was served in the cafe/bar next door that reeked of stale cigarette smoke. The square itself is a great location. A large new Starbucks and lots of quick, take away foods are right outside. Despite our few disruptions and breakfast, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Only stay on the street side if you are not a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    61
    43
    12
    8
See reviews for
9
63
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved the hotel. It was very central (15 minute walk from Central station) and in a much better part of town, in front of a very nice enchanting park, away from the very busy, dirty, and crowded red light district, But close enough to visit it.
The rooms were very clean and new. Staff very helpful like my remote control not working properly and being replaced right away or having our luggage safely stored while waiting for check in. The shared bathrooms are very clean and well kept and never busy or engaged given there's 2 per 4 rooms floor.
The only downfall is the coffee shop and 2 clubs downstairs which specially during the weekends can be very noisy but not if you are on the 4th floor like we did.
Prices are extremely cheap for central Amsterdam and breakfast simple enough but very nice and more than enough.

Room Tip: Even though stairs are steep (but so are any other central old building hotel) try to stay as high a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very clean and well located although a bit too pricey. Ideal if you do not mind the noise (party goes on until very late in Rembrandt Square)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in january 2012. Nice clean place to stay in a great location with alot of attractions within walking distance. Breakfast is in smokeys bar which is to the left when you come out of the door and was pleasent but nothing out of the ordinary. Perfect to set you up for the day though, and no limitations to how much you could have.
Didnt really have any plans we just spent the days walking around taking in the scenery and doing a bit of shopping. Came across the zoo which if you are a family travelling would have to be amsterdams best kept secret. Lots of things to do in the area and there is a tram stop just across the road so you can travel a little further out.
Stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the square, was a lovely view but did have to close the window at night due to the noise of the clubs below, although after a long days walk fell asleep pretty easily. Bathrooms are shared with another three rooms however never had to wait for them and were always clean and fresh.
I would say if your not there for the nightlife it probably isnt the best place to stay, especially if your a light sleeper. The stairs up to the rooms are fairly steep and seem to go on forever after a night out, (but then most places in amsterdam are due to the nature of the buildings).
would recommend using the central station to get back and for to the airport as travel is easy and cheap. Got a taxi to the hotel for 45euro, which is a little scary with all the bikes and trams, but then braved it on the way back and walked the 10min walk over to the station and paid 8euros for both of us to the airport. You get out actually in the aiport and only takes about 15mins, was much easier and felt much safer.
overall would recommend as the hotel is clean well kept and in a prime location but just be aware of its little downfalls.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

I stopped here when my football team played here and found the cheapest place I could find.a twin room for €50 a night an absolute bargain for me and my mate.i was fearing the worst due to the price but on arrival I was surprised how clean the place was.but best of all is the location.my room overlooked Rembrandt square that had an ice rink and Xmas market on it,and the hotel is in the middle of everything in Amsterdam.the steep stairs are a struggle after 15hours partying but it's the same in other hotels due to the nature of the buildings.the buffet breakfast is as good as any in Europe,there all pretty much the same.all in all a cracking little hotel.and smokeys below the hotel is worth travelling to Amsterdam alone a great place where I've never laughed so much since I watched my best mate fall in the river whilst fishing in the summer of 1988

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nites. Must say it is very central (very very central) staff extremely friendly and helpful. breakfast was nothing special but more than enough :) :). Hotel extremely clean. Bathrooms may be shared however you may specify otherwise for a small extra charge.
Would not recommend it for families however, rooms are rather small and the breakfast room is a nightclub at night - too much smell of weed in general.
However as a student i found it perfect. You get what you pay for and you are close to almost anything, and if not close to transport. (city generally isnt that big)
Would definately recommend it, and would definately stay there again.
As for the noise complaint - i cannot really say. Then again it might depend on the room you are in.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Best value for money. its only a one star so we were expecting it to be dirty, smelly, unhelpful staff but it was fresh, clean and the most helpful staff you could ask for.
recently painted. we were on the top floor(not fun walking up them after a few j's or drinks!)
bed sheets and towels cleaned single day. best location u could ask for. opposite Escape niteclub few more pubs, restruants and two coffeeshops side by side the hotel.. get bubblegum in the coffeeshop below the hotel. laughed my bum off for an hour. little sink and mirror in room. full length mirror also. it is 2 shared bathrooms with another room on each floor. water so warm and we never crossed path with other guests which was great. television little flatscreen load of channels. book early and you'll get it really cheap. two of us for 4 nights , twin room for 120euro each!!

Room Tip: top room is good as its the only one with the best view and has two big doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.