We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful...Close to centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rembrandt Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rembrandt Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rembrandt Square Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and Cheerful...Close to centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have been to this hotel numerous times as it is so cheap and very close to Dam Square (about a 10-15 minute walk).
The price includes a breakfast (it's very basic with bread and hot drinks) which is enough to fill you up and there is also free wifi available. You just need to ask for the web key.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and they have a great map available as well as offering a free drink at the bar below.

The rooms are clean and basic with TV and has shared bathroom. It's great value you for money as it is in a great location. Rembrandt Square is well known for it's artists and performers.
I found an Italian restaurant on just off the square which was very tasty and great prices.

Room Tip: Ask for your free wi-fi key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    53
    35
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

Great location but this is really a hostel the bathrooms are clean but shared there is a small tv the beds are single mattresseson top of box springs On the floor. You can hear everyone in the building

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

very clean hotel and great location.coffeeshop underneath if that's your kind of thing,you don't have far to walk to get to your bed then.single night option was why i stayed there,wanted to move around the city on a daily basis.lot cheaper places to stay but if you want a clean room,sheets bathroom etc then this place is worth having a look at.friendly people in the c/shop underneath to give directions.

Room Tip: only stayed one night so not in position to give any advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

At 120 euro for one night for a twin room it doesn't come cheap but then where in Amsterdam does if you want to be in the heart and have safe, clean and decent digs? Also, this place was one of the only places with a one night stay option
Decent almost summery weather in late september meant the window was open when we eventually got to the 4th floor, but the sounds of the square down below wasn't too intrusive and the room itself was small but cleaned and fresh. Even through the night (much of it is a blur to be honest..) the sounds of the masses at 3pm weren't too disturbing and we awoke to the buzz of cleaning machines on a sunday morning. Also, with a coffee shop Smokey Joes situated underneath there wasn't much of a waft coming up and when we went for breakfast, which was decent quality continental fare, the cafe was most pleasant and again clean.
Overall, well situated, friendly staff, secure and well kempt.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here because it seemed the best of a bunch of centrally located budget options and we were prepared for the worst as it was only for 2 nights and everywhere was booked solid. However, we were very pleasantly surprised. Staff were friendly and when our room key wouldn't work when we arrived we were moved to a bigger room (a triple instead of the twin we had booked) with no fuss. The room was small ( this is common for central budget Amsterdam rooms) but really clean, had a kettle with lots of tea & coffees, there were 2 bathrooms shared between 4 bedrooms and our room was cleaned daily. The location is perfect for walking to all the tourist attractions,has lots of bars & restaurants nearby and breakfast was excellent. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Rembrandt Square Hotel is in a great location near the center of Amsterdam. There are several restaurants on the square and if your interested Smokey's Coffee is in the same building. Also, if you're not in a hurry it's within in walking distance to several attractions.

The hotel itself was just average. It appeared clean and we slept okay but I've definitely stayed at nicer hotels. We were on the 4th floor and the first night was pretty quite but the second night you could hear the music from the nightclub on the square. It wasn't bad on the 4th floor but if you were on the 1st or 2nd it probably would have been pretty loud. Also the steps in this hotel are no joke. We used backpacks for our trip so we managed just fine but I would not want to be carrying a large suitcase up those steps. So keep in mind if you are traveling with a large suitcase or have difficulty managing stairs you may want to consider somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Let's start with location - it's in Rembrandt square, which is awesome. It's full of clubs, bars, restaurants, coffee shops, all the good stuff right outside! Me & my friend had a room in the back so there was no problem with noise, but also we came back late so none of that bothered us. There's no elevators so be prepared, but there's barely any elevators in the city so it's nothing new. The room is small but it's great for a cheap Amsterdam hotel. It was really clean, and there was a sink in the room. It's shared bathrooms but they're right outside your door & are also clean. I'm a germophobe & it was fine for me!
Everyone at reception is sooo nice & will help you with anything you ask, like directions, room questions, etc. Bob was the best!! We came really early the first day & were probably annoying but he was so nice & recommended things to do while we waited. We always went to him with questions & he helped with everything. We loved Bob! haha
So anyway, overall it's a clean hotel in a really good location with great staff! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The back rooms are a little bigger and less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rembrandt Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Square Hotel

Address: Rembrandtplein 24, 1017 cv Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Rembrandt Square Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rembrandt Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rembrandt Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rembrandt Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.