We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay at hotel paganini.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paganini Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paganini Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paganini Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“my stay at hotel paganini.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were on the 5th floor of an unstedy stairway. No lift. The room was really small. I asked for a twin and got a double. I ended up sleeping in the same bed as my 21 yr old son. There was mould on the walls in the shower, quite a lot too. There was dirty curtains up and muck on the walls. We had to check in at a different hotel. I won't be recommending it to anyone. Probably the worst place I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    30
    38
    84
See reviews for
11
54
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked a 3 bed room, we had separate bathroom with towels and everything. The room was clean but DON'T look outside of the windows if you are staying on the ground floor because it's full of garbage. The window was broken but it didn't bothered because it was not could outside. Somehow the fire alarm was raised but luckily was a false alarm and after 1 minute it was shut down. The bad thing is that is that if you going with car you don't have parking space and for 2 day we paid 72 euros for the parking witch is a lot!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I get it, it was 100 Euros/night so I didn't expect too much...bed was so uncomfortable that when i laid on it, I basically slipped off the bed because there was no support. It kept caving onto the floor for where it was the heaviest - I weigh 115 pounds. My back hurt so much every morning but couldn't chance sleeping on the dirty floor. Even with that, I would haven given 2 stars but then the bathroom - oh lord. It stank like sewer and I had to keep the door closed or else the room would have reeked. But then the bathroom couldn't air out and the smell was horrendous. I had to hold my breathe while I was in the bathroom - it was that severe. We asked for another room but he said they were all the same and didn't have availability for 2 nights - we stayed for 3. On the up side, its close to everything - including Club Crystal haha - a strip joint 2 buildings down. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Three good things can be said about the Paganini/Vivaldi Hotel - everything about the room was clean, it was surprisingly quiet considering its location and it was just 5 minutes walk from the museums.
The hotel was more like a downmarket boarding house which at over £80 a night was well over priced. The single bed was awful, the curtains didn't fit the windows and there was nowhere to sit. The key failed on two occasions and help had to be summoned but this was prompt and efficient.
Can recommend the bar next door at the traffic lights for excellent food, beer and courteous, friendly service.
Only a port in a storm - there must be better for the price!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hotel was absolutely fine. The room was cleaned everyday, the sheets were clean and you got new towels.

The bathroom was actually quite big and the room was an apt size for a couple. The location was the real winner here, being very close to the museum quarter, Leidseplaine, Vondelpark and you can also hop on the tram for a short trip to Dam square.

Service was fine - though we didn't really test it as we had nothing to ask. I would advise that you use this hotel merely as a place for sleeping, as it's very basic. Minor complaint would be a slightly dirty toilet and the halls themselves didn't look the cleanest. But again, this should just be used as a stopping point and it's very conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was a bad stay...The hotel have a good location But it's bad. The bedroom is really really small for a couple, without a blackout , the bathroom is small and estrange but it was acceptable. The cleaning was ridiculous. The bed .. was terrible, a very hard bed i felt irons springs in my back, was really difficult to sleep. We stay at 5flor and the hotel doesn't have a elevator, then you can imagine how it was to take up our luggages in a small stair . Expensive hotel, 90E per day. Bad quality, breakfast not include but cheap.
Dirty hotel, estrangers receptionists,
A hotel for tennagers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Definitely not a hotel. Toilets were thankfully clean. Bed was too work out. Had a back ache after staying here for 2 nights. It sinks in too much in the hips area. Room was too small. I lived in room 502. No stairs so u gotta carry your luggage up all 5 levels. Heard neighbours having sex. Okay for backpackers. Dining room chairs were stained. Definitely will not be staying here the next time I'm back in Amsterdam. For the price I think a proper hostel would be more decent. Would pay extra 20£ a night for somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paganini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganini Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paganini Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Paganini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganini Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paganini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.