We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even think about this one!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paganini Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Paganini Hotel to your Saves list
Paganini Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Annecy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't even think about this one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Worst hotel we ever had the opportunity to stay in. Besides the very smelly socks we found in the drawer next to our bed, the drains of this hotel stank like nothing else in this world. We dreaded to head back at the end of the night and after complaining about the filthy room we were put in, was told that: "the cleaning was done by an independent company, all the rooms were the same, and because the hotel was always fully booked, no room was ever cleaned properly." If you are thinking of going to Amsterdam don't waist your money or time on this one!!! It is not cheap for what you get and not possible to cancel when booked in advance.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    8
    33
    44
    114
See reviews for
14
69
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Please do not ignore all the bad reviews they are all true ! This has to be one of the worst hotels ever, It is dirty and smelly. The staff are indifferent. The rooms are minute. Curtains do not hang prpoerly . Shower would be good if it drained well and the sealant around the bottom was not black with mould. I think even homeless people would be loathe to stay at here. I would advise any hotel booking site to remove it from their listing and the Amsterdam tourist board should close it down

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked this hotel with some trepidation as we had read previous negative reviews. I did e-mail previously to ask the hotel management how they responded to negative reviews and had they addressed areas of concern - I should have known by the reply which was very bland that they didn't do anything . The place was dirty and dingy , the bathroom smelt , the shower sealant was thick with mould , the carpet and curtains were filthy - I have to say the towels were good and the water pressure in the shower was good (however didn't drain well)but they are the only good things that I can say . We had to change rooms as the first was so small - nowhere even to hang clothes (probably best left in the case anyway) and the second was not much better although at least we could open a window to let clean air into the room. The staff were disinterested is all I can say about them

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

As a group of friends we stayed at Hotel Paganini under the premise that we were getting a hotel. How wrong were we! The price is extortionate for the quality of the rooms. We were placed in a room on the fifth floor that had 6 beds crammed in with numbers above each bed like some of camp. The location is okay, but other than that I agree with the other reviews. I wish I had been on tripadvisor before booking our stay. What a horrible, grotty, dirty place.
Avoid! Even when we complained due to false advertising they had nothing to say to offer any consolation. Horrible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I couldn't even find the hotel as name on door seems to be shared with another hotel / name. Not even a real reception. Room small and hot, carpet, walls and ceiling all very dirty. Shower didn't drain properly. Extremely over priced for this grotty place. I'm not sure if you can really call it a hotel. The location is the only positive here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Great location and access to the city !!!!! but the room was not clean, and the bed was uncomfortable. The place felt like a youth hostel quality or even more poor than that, so definitely was overpriced for what you got. We asked for a room with a window and were put on the street level with windows we could not open otherwise the passersby would be able to reach in a take our things or touch us - so, we had to lock the windows at all times and keep the curtains closed. that was very unpleasant.
The breakfast was good value for the cost. Daytime desk staff (in another building) were good, but evening staff were inattentive and gave bad information and service. The experience was ok until the last day. We slept through our alarm clock and at 11:00AM sharp (check out time) the cleaning staff knocked on our door and asked us to vacate the room immediately. I had just woken up and explained that we had slept through our alarm and need to get cleaned up and pack our suitcases. The staff person replied that we needed to vacate the room immediately and that it was not his problem that we had slept through the alarm clock. we were given 5 minutes to pack and leave. That was RUDE and totally unecessary !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I'm not a man of high expectations and often laugh at some peoples reviews of half decent hotels but this place really is tremendously bad. It wasn't that cheap either. The double room was the size of a shoe box and had 2 very small beds and nothing else, to give you an idea of how small it was we had to lift our suitcase on to the bed to get the door open. It was also filthy and needed a gutting to be honest, the window which overlooks a busy street didn't shut properly so it was noisy too. In short you would have a much more pleasant stay in this wonderful city if on arrival you punched the first policeman you saw and stayed in the cells. That's rubbish for site seeing though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#270 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#269 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#235 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#217 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Kap
Hotel Kap
#267 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganini Hotel

Address: Stadhouderskade 68, 1072 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Paganini Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Paganini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganini Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paganini Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.