We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Tulips B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sloterkade 65-1, 1058 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Montpellier, France
1 review
“great stay at Tulips B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

We have traveled europe extensively and really enjoyed the Tulips B&B. Our room was very large (HUGE by european standards), the bathroom too (no extras so make sure to pack shampoo and other personal needs). Impeccably clean and well maintained. We met my in-laws in Amsterdam and shared the top floor. We were received by Paul who gave us a great map and a list of local (walking distance) restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, etc. He quickly answered all of our questions and we didn't see him again. Breakfast is cold cereal and milk which was fine for me, but my husband and in-laws are all lactose intolerant so we had to go out for breakfast anyway. I thought the value was lacking, but the in-laws wanted to stay outside the city, which ended up being a very good choice.

Pros - clean, large, bright room. personalized service at check-in, mini-fridge, location just outside busy city means quiet nights and mornings and pleasant walks, close to public transportation, very private
Cons - very private (if you're the kind who wants a chat and new friends), slightly high priced

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    50
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
105
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

I arrived at Paul and Karen's in mid-afternoon, thrilled to discover that the photos on the Web site perfectly represented the idyllic location on the canal. Better still, the photos did not do justice to the lovely interior of the apartment on the top floor (where we stayed).

Our hosts were incredibly warm and welcoming. Paul had prepared a great deal of information about getting around Amsterdam and the local area - this proved immensely helpful for our explorations.

The interior stairs are typical old-European (meaning narrow and small) but that's all a part of why we travel ... to experience life and living in other cultures! The apartment included a separate bedroom, modern bath, full kitchen (which was fabulous for eating dinners in after a day out on the town) with living room and French doors overlooking a garden. Honestly, the only thing that could have made the suite more perfect is a fireplace, but that would have just been added ambiance to a lovely escape and home-away-from-home in Amsterdam.

All of the staff were courteous and the rooms were nicely cleaned every day while we were out exploring.

If I ever have an opportunity to go back, I won't hesitate to book a room at Tulips!!

  • Liked — Hard to narrow it to one - probably the comfortable feeling of
  • Disliked — That we weren't able to stay longer.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

I stayed with friends at Tulips B & B for 4 days. I had the downstairs room looking out on the street and canal.
The room has tall ceilings and is painted white with a red carpet and white drapes with red flowers. The bathroom has a heated towel rack.
There is a table and two chairs in the main room with the bed and night table. You can hang clothes on hooks by the door or use the spacious shelves. There is a TV. Karen and Paul put a chocolate on the pillow each night. I also had a carafe of Bessen Jenever (black currant gin) with two serving glasses. It was delicious.
You serve yourself breakfast of cereal and milk. There is a sink, dishes, refrigerator in the hall area. You can buy food and leave it in the refrigerator. A few nights we brought cheese, wine and bread from the store back to the B&B and ate dinner in our room.
If you want to sleep in, just leave your towels outside your room by 11:00 am. We were always gone by 9:00 but I like that you have the option of staying in your room later.
Karen and Paul provided lists of restaurants and side trips naming trams and buses. Karen met us after an early morning flight from Egypt. She gave us specific directions on how to get to Tulips from the airport. At the end of our stay, we got to chat with Karen and Paul. They are delightful people and very helpful.
They also provide a phone with directions on how to reach them or how to call for a taxi to the airport. The taxi was there in 5 minutes. Very convenient.
The B&B is in a quiet neighborhood with a pub next door and a grocery store and ATM down the block. You are across the street from lovely Vondel Park and a couple of blocks from some great restaurants. You are only a few blocks away from accessing trams to anywhere in the city.
I would recommend staying at Tulips. I loved being a little out of the main part of the city but within 5-7 minutes from Dam Square.

  • Liked — Location and self serve breakfast, cleanliness, close to store, ATM, restaurants, Trams
  • Disliked — Nothing disappointed me
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

The Tulips B & B was great! Paul and Karen were there to greet us after our LATE arrival from the airport. I loved the idea of bringing alon slippers as they don't want the beautiful rugs getting messy! The carpets were proof of this followed tradition!

I had spent several months traveling at this point and was hoping to get a little bit "off the beaten path" rather than stay in the city center! This place was great for exactly that!

Our rom was fantastic - decked out in my favorite color red... it was calming yet exciting to be in the room! Also a beautiful view of the canal.

We had a wonderful stay here and would highly recommend this B & B! Amazing deal for the price :)

Oh and there is a wonderful bagel place just up the road! FANTASTIC

  • Liked — The room was very beautiful
  • Disliked — Steep stairs but not bad!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

I stayed for 4 nights in June 2008. The room was clean, comfortable, pleasant, and cheerful. The proprietors were aloof, but helpful when needed. Paul greeted me on arrival and gave me a lot of useful information and brochures, including a map of the immediate area with restaurants, groceries, rail stations, etc. marked on it. He was available via cell phone the rest of the time for occasional questions, which he answered promptly. The room was at the top of two flights of VERY steep stairs (bumped my knees going up), so I do not recommend the property to elderly or arthritic visitors. The breakfast is a cold cereal and milk which one prepares for oneself in a shared kitchen. (Coffee is instant--not brewed!) There is no common dining area, so guests carry their cereal to their own room to eat it. Dirty dishes are returned to the kitchen and are washed up promptly by the staff. Guests can store a few items in a fridge in the kitchenette. I rarely saw the other guests sharing the kitchen with me, and never saw any of the guests staying on other floors in the house. The B&B is located only 1 block from VondelPark and it is a very pleasant (~1km) walk through the park to get to the museums. The tram stop is about a 1/4 mile away. The neighborhood is outside the intensely tourist oriented area, which I consider a plus. If you are looking for a chatty innkeeper, a hearty breakfast or an opportunity to mingle with other travellers, this is not the place. If you are looking for privacy and a nice clean, well kept room, I recommend this establishment.

  • Liked — Impeccably clean room
  • Disliked — cold breakfast with instant coffee
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Paul the owner was very welcoming and provided us with lots of information, maps and brochures of Amsterdam. However we only saw him when we arrived (when he asked for accomodation money to be paid up front) and for brief moment for another day . To be fair he did leave a mobile phone if we needed to contact him. We didnt see him at all when we checked out. The rooms were lovely and immacutely clean. We thought the breakfast was very poor for the price of the accomodation, only cereal, tea coffee and biscuits, which you had to get youself, I would have rather had a decent breakfast rather than the chocolates and gin.
The location was great and close to the Park.

  • Liked — Location, Clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days here in an immacutely clean and pleasantly furnished first floor apartment with a balcony overlooking gardens. Very quiet considering location in the city.The proximity of the Vondel Park gives a pleasant walk into the centre.
Paul gave us an excellent verbal and printed introduction to the apartment and locality. Information about restaurants and other facilities was particularly helpful. We liked the little touch of gin and chocolates!
We thought that for Continental bed and breakfast the kitchen should be equipped with a coffee maker and the possibilty of guests being able to access fresh rolls in the morning would have been very welcome.
We found Paul an obliging host and particularly appreciated the prompt postage of some forgotten property. Should we return to Amsterdam we would hope to stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness, location.
  • Disliked — Better provision could be made for breakfasts.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Sloterkade 65-1, 1058 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
b&b Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.