We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Prinsen Boat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Prinsen Boat
Save
You added The Prinsen Boat to your Saves list
Prinsengracht 816 F, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bentonville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed on the Prinsenboat for 5 days and enjoyed every minute. It's in a great location, close to stores, pubs, parks and museums. As it has a stove, fridge and microwave, we were able to cook every day. And with the local markets, we had great produce and ingredients. Its very charming and extremely clean. Peter was helpful and provided a lot of information. We would definitely recommend the Prinsenboat for a wonderful, unique getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
24
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JAS0126
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My 12 year old daughter and I just spent four days in Amsterdam aboard Prinsenboat. The location is fantastic - close to the tram, museums, restaurants, a great bakery, grocery store. Everything that we needed was close by. The houseboat itself is lovely and very comfortable. We hope to return some day! Why would you want to stay anywhere else but on a houseboat when in Amsterdam?

Please note that although several earlier reviews mention a well stocked fridge or food being provided, I think that may be from previous tenants. The cupboard was bare when we arrived.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Staying on the Prinsen Boat made our visit to Amsterdam unforgettable. Our first day, Saturday, the weather was very warm and sunny. There was a parade of boats on the canal that we watched right from our windows. It was so relaxing at the end of each day to sit with a glass of wine or beer and toast the people cruising by. The location is excellent, lots of restaurants and shops in the area. Only a five minute walk to Albert Cuyp Market or Waterlooplein Market. Near the Magere Brug, and must not miss the Purse and Handbag Museum.
Peter was great to deal with, very helpful. The cost to stay on the boat is VERY reasonable. More space then any hotel for the same price!!
If you want to experience Amsterdam like a local, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed on the Prinsen Boat from Sept. 20-23, 2012. The houseboat had all the comforts of home and is in a perfect location. Although we purchased a 3-day transportation ticket when arriving at Centraal Station, we ended up only taking the tram once to get from Centraal Station to the boat. An easy ride on Tram 4 about 5 stops from the station. After that everything was so close we ended up walking everywhere. The longest walk was probably to the Anne Frank House which took us about 30 minutes. There are plenty of restaurants and markets and shopping within a few minutes walk of the boat. We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam and highly recommend to anyone looking for a unique way to experience this city to stay on the Prinsen Boat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorocaba, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I were in that boat .... unforgettable wonderful décor, all in the most perfect state (space and extremely clean) .... a romantic, unforgettable!
Perfect attendance!
Simply wonderful!
We recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

we discovered The Prinsen boat by accident wile surfing the net looking for an acomodation for myself , my 2 year old daughter and a friend back in 2007.
I must say that it's the best place i've been. Best location, easy to reach and and lovely neighbourhood. The prinsesnboat itself it's unique and Peter is one of the most helpfull and friendly people i've ever meet.
As soon as we knowwthat someone has to go to Amsterdam we allways recomend the prinsen boat !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had a fabulous time on the boat. The children loved the experience of being on the boat, waving to other boats and feeding the ducks out of the window. The boat was quiet at night and everyone slept very well. Peter was very welcoming and was flexible about check out time as no other guests were booked in- this really helped us. The facilities on the boat are great and we really appreciated the wonderful hot shower. A wonderful relaxing time- great location, restaurants and bars and walking distance to the park. Perfect for a family with young children. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#150 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prinsen Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prinsen Boat

Address: Prinsengracht 816 F, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create a memory of your stay in Amsterdam aboard The Prinsenboat that you will always remember. We take pride in offering you a residence that is warm, inviting and comfortable. From the first day of your arrival at The Prinsen Boat to the last day you stay with us we will do our utmost to make sure that your experience is all that you wanted. Our little porch outside is right on the Prinsengracht. We can make arrangements for taxi service, and offer suggestions on activities. If you're celebrating an event, a birthday, anniversary or a reunion let us help you make it a unique experience. You will notice immediately the difference with an Amsterdam hotel. Children enjoy The Prinsen Boat as much or even more as adults. They love the small boats passing by and are thrilled by the life on the water. Also your very little ones are on our mind; we can provide a baby cot and a playpen. Be sure to ask for our special family prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Prinsen Boat Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Prinsen Boat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.