We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbour Apartments

Old Harbour Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Harbour Apartments to your Saves list
Old Harbour Apartments
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Prins Hendrikkade 125-1, 1011 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

My husband, brother in law, and I stayed in the Roof Top Terrace Apartment July 3 - 10. The apartment is very spacious, clean, quiet and well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is superb. Close walking distance to Central Station and many other hot spots. The host was very gracious with helping us carry up our luggage up the steep staricases and making sure we had everything we needed. We will definately be returning to this gem of a location!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

What more is there to say? The other reviewers have sold the virtues of these apartments and we totally agree. We stayed in the Guest room for 2 nights and the Patio Apartment for 3 nights and it was perfect for our working visit. The short walk from Central Station is very convenient and the facilities were fantastic. A short walk to cafes, restaurants and a supermarket; and a great place to base yourself when visiting the city sights.

I wouldn't recommend the Patio Apartment for the elderly or anyone with a physical disability - the stairs to the basement are steep and curved. The guestroom on the top floor is spacious, and has its own entrance. The toilet is located inside the owners apartment (but discretely set apart from their living area) - some people might find this a bit inconvenient. The owners were very obliging and carried our suitcases up and down the stairs. We'll definately be staying here again!

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We spent the final six nights of our honeymoon tour at the top floor(s) of Olde Harbour, and found everything to be exactly to our liking. While the property is literally within minutes of Centraal RR Station, the apartments are quiet, spacious, and very tastefully appointed. We had three floors to roam around, witha rooftop patio, as well. It's wonderful to have a complete living suite, a modern kitchen, a nice sound system, and comfortable seating areas when you return from exploring the varied sights of the city. If you're reasonably active, and okay with lot's of locks (canal and bike), be sure to rent one of those big Dutch bikes to get around. Amsterdam is very accomodating to bikes, and you can be out of the city within minutes, with the surrounding areas are well worth exploring.

  • Liked — Unique and authentic Old Dutch interior
  • Disliked — Hauling luggage up the stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

These apartments are absolutely fantastic and were just what we wanted as a family of four staying in Amsterdam for only a few days. Also very convenient as they are only a few minutes walk from central station and the centre of Amsterdam. The owners are genuinely nice and were very happy to answer all of our questions even though we arrived fairly late in the evening. We would happily go back and highly recommend staying here!!

  • Liked — The character
  • Disliked — Steep stairs to bedroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

This is an unexpected gem, almost within the Red Light district, but just far enough to avoid it but enjoy the benefits of being in such a central location.

We stayed in the Terrace Apartment and accompanying guest room which were furnished in modern style with good use of space. Shower rooms were well equipped with new, modern basins and showers and all rooms were extremely comfortable. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and up to date.

What was surprising was that, although on a busy central Amsterdam street, our rooms faced inwards and were incredibly quiet - you heard simply no noise at all and I have never stayed in such a peaceful spot at the heart of the City.

Our host, Marcus, was very helpful about finding restaurants locally, and all formalities were dealt with politely and clearly.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Spacious, central location, architecture
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

My husband and I have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Harbour Apartments in Amsterdam. The apartments are 5 mins walk from Central Station and within easy walking distance of all attractions. We stayed in the Patio Apartment which has been beautifully renovated. The owners are really friendly and we can certainly recommend the Old Harbour Apartments. It was like a home from home and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

I could not rate the Old Harbour Patio Apartment high enough. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we had such a good time which was made even better by the wonderful accommodation. The Patio apartment was gorgeous, very trendy, modern and spacious.

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a week in August. The apartment was huge and covered 2 floors (ground floor and a lower level). There was a double (futon) bed in the living room and the other beds downstairs in the basement.

The kitchen had everything we needed to be comfortable (all plates, glasses, bowls). There was a dishwasher, filter coffee maker and full stove. The bathroom was uber-clean and very trendy, everything was so well designed and fitted, it was a pleasure being there.

The location was excellent, a mere 5 minute walk to the Central Station and about 5 min walk to the NewMarket area (and red-light area) which had a supermarket as well as cafes, restaurants and bars. The apartment was excellent value for money and we will definately return on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Very modern
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Old Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Apartments

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 125-1, 1011 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Harbour Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbour Apartments offers you a choice of a guestroom and two apartments: the Patio Apartment and the Roof Terrace Apartment. The apartments, in fact the whole house is beautifully restored and decorated by one of Amsterdam's architects. Still you can see the traditionally front and rear house which are so typical for houses in the 17th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Harbour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbour Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.