We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Harbour Apartments

Old Harbour Apartments
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Harbour Apartments to your Saves list
Old Harbour Apartments
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Prins Hendrikkade 125-1, 1011 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

What more is there to say? The other reviewers have sold the virtues of these apartments and we totally agree. We stayed in the Guest room for 2 nights and the Patio Apartment for 3 nights and it was perfect for our working visit. The short walk from Central Station is very convenient and the facilities were fantastic. A short walk to cafes, restaurants and a supermarket; and a great place to base yourself when visiting the city sights.

I wouldn't recommend the Patio Apartment for the elderly or anyone with a physical disability - the stairs to the basement are steep and curved. The guestroom on the top floor is spacious, and has its own entrance. The toilet is located inside the owners apartment (but discretely set apart from their living area) - some people might find this a bit inconvenient. The owners were very obliging and carried our suitcases up and down the stairs. We'll definately be staying here again!

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    0
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We spent the final six nights of our honeymoon tour at the top floor(s) of Olde Harbour, and found everything to be exactly to our liking. While the property is literally within minutes of Centraal RR Station, the apartments are quiet, spacious, and very tastefully appointed. We had three floors to roam around, witha rooftop patio, as well. It's wonderful to have a complete living suite, a modern kitchen, a nice sound system, and comfortable seating areas when you return from exploring the varied sights of the city. If you're reasonably active, and okay with lot's of locks (canal and bike), be sure to rent one of those big Dutch bikes to get around. Amsterdam is very accomodating to bikes, and you can be out of the city within minutes, with the surrounding areas are well worth exploring.

  • Liked — Unique and authentic Old Dutch interior
  • Disliked — Hauling luggage up the stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

These apartments are absolutely fantastic and were just what we wanted as a family of four staying in Amsterdam for only a few days. Also very convenient as they are only a few minutes walk from central station and the centre of Amsterdam. The owners are genuinely nice and were very happy to answer all of our questions even though we arrived fairly late in the evening. We would happily go back and highly recommend staying here!!

  • Liked — The character
  • Disliked — Steep stairs to bedroom
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

This is an unexpected gem, almost within the Red Light district, but just far enough to avoid it but enjoy the benefits of being in such a central location.

We stayed in the Terrace Apartment and accompanying guest room which were furnished in modern style with good use of space. Shower rooms were well equipped with new, modern basins and showers and all rooms were extremely comfortable. The kitchen was extremely well equipped and up to date.

What was surprising was that, although on a busy central Amsterdam street, our rooms faced inwards and were incredibly quiet - you heard simply no noise at all and I have never stayed in such a peaceful spot at the heart of the City.

Our host, Marcus, was very helpful about finding restaurants locally, and all formalities were dealt with politely and clearly.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Spacious, central location, architecture
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

My husband and I have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Old Harbour Apartments in Amsterdam. The apartments are 5 mins walk from Central Station and within easy walking distance of all attractions. We stayed in the Patio Apartment which has been beautifully renovated. The owners are really friendly and we can certainly recommend the Old Harbour Apartments. It was like a home from home and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

I could not rate the Old Harbour Patio Apartment high enough. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and we had such a good time which was made even better by the wonderful accommodation. The Patio apartment was gorgeous, very trendy, modern and spacious.

Myself and 3 friends stayed here for a week in August. The apartment was huge and covered 2 floors (ground floor and a lower level). There was a double (futon) bed in the living room and the other beds downstairs in the basement.

The kitchen had everything we needed to be comfortable (all plates, glasses, bowls). There was a dishwasher, filter coffee maker and full stove. The bathroom was uber-clean and very trendy, everything was so well designed and fitted, it was a pleasure being there.

The location was excellent, a mere 5 minute walk to the Central Station and about 5 min walk to the NewMarket area (and red-light area) which had a supermarket as well as cafes, restaurants and bars. The apartment was excellent value for money and we will definately return on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Very modern
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

We stayed at the Patio Apartment in the Old Harbour Apartments in May 2006 and it was fantastic. The first thing that you notice when you arrive are the period details including original flooring from the construction of the property in the 16th and 17th centuries countered with the modern appliances and facilities installed during the renovation.

The location is excellent with all of the main attractions in easy walking distance or tram from Centraal Station.

The owners of the apartments are excellent and, as with a previous reviewer, were able to tell us (first time Amsterdammers) how to reach all the main attractions.

If this apartment is only at number 9 on the list (at the time of review) the others would have to be spectacular to beat it!! If we are in Amsterdam again we will back for the roof terrace this time to complete the set.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Harbour Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Apartments

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 125-1, 1011 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Harbour Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Harbour Apartments offers you a choice of a guestroom and two apartments: the Patio Apartment and the Roof Terrace Apartment. The apartments, in fact the whole house is beautifully restored and decorated by one of Amsterdam's architects. Still you can see the traditionally front and rear house which are so typical for houses in the 17th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Harbour Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Harbour Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.