We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“use as a last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sarphati Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarphati Hotel to your Saves list
Sarphati Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“use as a last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

hostel was ok if a bit grubby..we paid for breakfast which consisted of toast with jam or peanut butter so tough if you wanted cereal ,coffee/tea non existent ..Come on guys we paid good money ..Bit of a let down

Room Tip: could do with a clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    26
    23
    40
See reviews for
11
22
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsens
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The room was the size of a closet and the doubleroom we had was with bunkbeds. We were not informed that their definition of a doubleroom included a bunkbed. The bathroom was the size of a stamp and a shower basically took place standing in the toilet. Apart from that the bathrom was dirty and there was no hot water or towels! The staff was rude when we returned at night and slow to let us in. The room was facing a very busy street and there were several people talking outside through most of the night. The price was far too high for what we got and the only reason we stayed was that we had already visited several hotels that were booked. The price was far too high for the level of service and the (complete lack of) quality of the room. DO NOT STAY THERE!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The staff there are very friendly and helpful. The cleanliness and comfort of the room/bed are better than expected. But of course don't expect too much. You get what you paid for. All I needed was a clean room/bed to sleep for 2 nights. I love the surrounding neighbourhood. It's close to Sarphati market. And there is a street market nearby.

Room Tip: 4-person dorm is way much better 10-person one, and the prices are not much different
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was very willing to give this hotel a 3-3.5 star rating when I got home. However, after checking my bank account, I saw that they had charged my card TWICE for a ridiculous fee. I'm now out over half of my pay check for 10 days because they didn't tell me they would be holding money just in case we didn't show. Absolutely ridiculous.

The rooms were small, bathrooms pretty dirty, nowhere to lock valuables, and we didn't even bother with the 'breakfast'. The only good part was the cute kitten who also lived there and the one person at reception who was helpful. The kitchen is tiny, and not really a good area to meet people, as only about 12 people could eat there comfortably. It's also a bit of a trek from the city centre if you'll be spending a lot of time there or have an early tour after a late night.

Overall, I wouldn't stay at this hostel again if I went back to Amsterdam. It's not worth the trouble of missing half a paycheque or the walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 23 - it was pretty average. No ladders to the top bunk, so if you're on the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms are small and very dirty. The bathrooms are even worse. There is no place to store or lock your belongings. Even the free breakfast they promote is just a bag of sliced bread, jar of peanut butter, and jar of jelly. While we stayed here the toilet connected to our room overflowed and flooded our room with dirty toilet water. There was over and inch of water on the floor, and it smelled terrible. Any belongings on the floor were ruined. We asked if we could cancel our next night and get our money back, but the manager refused any refund and even blamed us for the overflowing toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

First day in the Netherlands. Came from Australia. This is a tourist area, so everything is bloody expensive. After trawling the streets till my legs hurt, j found sarphati. They checked me in late at night, and gave me a clean bed with fresh sheets and a clean towel, all for €10. I had the whole dorm to myself, so don't believe the stories about how every dorm is noisy. It's a good place to relax, charge your phone, and research the next step of your trip. Like finding a cheap bike. Good luck with that!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good hostel overall. Plus side: interesting and handy location, very pleasant and helpful staff, free breakfast, house cat and kittens. Down side: cramped rooms, and all a bit frayed around the edges.

Room Tip: There are no bedside lights (as advertised) - bring a torch if you want to read in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarphati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarphati Hotel

Address: Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarphati Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarphati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarphati Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarphati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.