We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarphati Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sarphati Hotel to your Saves list
Sarphati Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfectly adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good hostel overall. Plus side: interesting and handy location, very pleasant and helpful staff, free breakfast, house cat and kittens. Down side: cramped rooms, and all a bit frayed around the edges.

Room Tip: There are no bedside lights (as advertised) - bring a torch if you want to read in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    26
    23
    40
See reviews for
11
22
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Really Small and not the cleanest place, but very ok
for a cheap(ish) stay. Roommates make or brake it
ours were really nice, so Everything was ok. They
have a cat, the best part about the stay <3
the staff was also great, helpful and nice!




  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The only redeeming thing about the whole stay was that we only had to put up with it for one night

-The website clearly states that they take credit cards, yet when I arrived the man at the front desk argued with me and would only take cash.

-Very very overpriced for the size and quality of the room, ie. barely even space to put bags on the floor in the room (there were no cupboards or table, etc), bathroom was very dirty.

-We explicitly stated to the man at the front desk on check in that we would be awake at 5 am and checking out around 5:30 am. He did not let us know that between 12am and 6am the hot water would be shut off on purpose and so the person I was staying with had a freezing cold shower in the morning.

Room Tip: Above review is for room 15 - stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is my genuine opinion following my stay. 1st of all, you will be asked to pay the cost of your stay + approx 20 euros of city tax (which is normal) Secondly, you will have to leave a deposit of 10 euros for the room key. Not necessary as I can assure you the door could just be kicked down with a push kick. Stayed in room 15 which is meant to accommodate two. Bunk bed is dirty, no side table, chair, shelves or proper lighting. "Bathroom" is a 3 in 1 facility as you can pee, wash and brush teeth at the same time. There is nothing which separates or gives clear space between the sink and the toilet. Terribly dirty and disgusting smell coming from the toilet. Would not recommend for families or couples. Only for young and uncaring people.

Room Tip: If possible, ask to see the room before you get one allocated. Do not accept room 15 as it is likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I booked for one bed in a 4 bed room and paid 50 euros per night as it was last minute.

The public spaces had not been cleaned for quite a while and everything was very old.
The room was small (not enough space to even open the suitcase) and the bathroom was filthy. I have served in the army but Sarphati's dirtiness made the army look like a joke!

The breakfast is basic (bread, peanut butter, jam and coffee/tea).

The upside is that the staff is polite and friendly and the location is good.

As a synopsis, the experience was quite disheartening given the extremely low quality of the infrastructure as well as its lack of maintenance, which could not be offset by the good manners of the receptionists.

I would not recommend this hostel and if you end up staying there be forewarned; at least ask to see your room before prepaying 100% of your fees.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at the hostel and my first impression when I entered into the place was about a lack of cleaness. There was a strong bad smell, the carpets were really dirty, the room's floor was sticky, as the tiny little bathroom. The blankets were broken and I had to ask for a pillow change. All this experience for a cost of 80 euros for two nights.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarphati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarphati Hotel

Address: Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarphati Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarphati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarphati Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarphati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.