We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path, but not too far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarphati Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sarphati Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarphati Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Off the beaten path, but not too far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice location, across the street from relatively unknown Sarphati Park, and it sits right near the center. The rooms are clean, and you get a "Dutch" breakfast of unlimited PB and J's and coffee. The rooms are standard bunks, clean and well kept. The dining room is really nice, but you have to make breakfast for that.

The staff is cool, laid back, and helpful. They also are ready to give you specific tips if you need. The unique thing about this place is its location in the Pijp and close proximity to Albert Cuyp market.

The Pijp is the local hot neighborhood, with bars and vintage clothing shops and record shops. Its a funky area, with a less touristy feel.

The Albert Cuyp market is massive, stretching endlessly, offering all kinds of wares and food, with good quality, relative to the many outdoor markets in Amsterdam proper.

This place certainly provides the basics at a nice price, in a surprisingly cool location that you might not otherwise happen by over the course of a short visit.

Room Tip: no worries, its a quiet area, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    25
    21
    37
See reviews for
11
22
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maili, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a hostel, even thought it's sometimes listed as "Hotel" Sarphati. I thought the value was good for the money (23 Euro for a spot in a 4-bunk room).
This review presumes you know what you're getting when you stay at a hostel: a shared place to sleep, shower, eat, and (if you want) meet people. That's it -- at hostel prices, everything beyond that is extra. If you're a bit fussy, or a light sleeper, or a very private person, a hostel is not for you.
So within that context, the Sarphati was fine. Friendly, helpful staff, decent wi-fi. Bath/shower was tiny. Breakfast is included, but is basically, bread, peanut butter, jam, and coffee/tea.
Quiet location, bit of a walk from the center, but there's a tram stop just outside. #3 will take you to within a few minutes of Anne Frank House.
Short walk to shops, restaurants, stores.

Room Tip: The stairs are the steepest I've ever seen in my life. Definitely not disability-accessible. A r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed for one night in the 5 person bedroom. The room is small for 5 people and not worth 50 euros per night at all as I could smell the toilet from my bed. Moreover the ugly furnishing (mouldy, smelling bathroom) and just one toilet paper roll in the ensuite toilet killed my desire to even spend more nights. The Ensuite toilet itself was a horrow as it allowed no privacy at all . I would very much prefer an external toilet in this situation or more decent hygiene. Breakfast was OK and at least coffee was served in plastic cups but the cheap peanut butter and marmelades and cheap toast left very much more to be desired for your buck.

Room Tip: With 50 euros for 1 night in a 5 person dorm on a Saturday, you are better off spending your money i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Nang, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The sign of the hostel is a little bit hard to see, but the tramp from train station stop quite close. There are markets, supermarkets and convenient shops nearby so if you arrive late, there's still something to eat. The kitchen is quite small, and they have a microwave oven for heating food (no cooking is a minus point).
I booked a 10 bed mixed room. Room is very small, and there's not much space for your luggage. I think it's ok to sleep since i only stayed for 2 nights. Beds might be not very clean for some people.
As a lot of reviews said, it's ok for backpacker.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Worst dorm I have seen with quite high price charged.
It is not qualify as a hotel even though the name said it.
No lift provided. You have to be very careful with the precipitous staircase, advise to bring backpacks instead of wheels luggage.
We had a 10 persons dorm, toilet is mini (I couldn't describe it as small because it is worst than small), beds are placed back to back, you can only put your belongings under the bed. Bring mosquitoes repellent if you are going in summer.
Breakfast is horrible - loaf of breads, a toaster, a jug of coffee and tea and that's it. Bread jam, peanut are almost finishing. Make sure you wake up early for breakfast or else you will find nothing left to eat.

Amsterdam is a good place but staying in Sarphati is a bit disappoint us!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Ok for a cheap backpacker, But you wont be hanging around the hostel much because there's better places to be. The name is kind of miss leading, its NOT a Hotel it's a backpacker hostel.

It is quite far from the centre of town 40min walk, but there are other things to see reasonably nearby, once you've checkout the centre of town for a day.
So definitely hire a bike, trust me its the best 10 euro you'll spend, its also the best way to get home from town.
We did a mixture of walking (a hell of alot of it, like 8km a day) mainly and traming into town but it gets soooo expensive and tiring.
The area it'self is nice there's a park across the road. Also go to the market place during the day, it's awesome and right on your door step!
If you walk out the door of the hostel facing the park, turn left and then first road right. Walk straight ahead past the park and you'll find it.

The Hostels not that clean and there was a hole in the wall in our bathroom
Room 4 my sis, friend, Mum and I where in was really small for 4 people we could hardly move with all our stuff in the room. One bunk bed half blocks the door to the bathroom so the door only opens halfway and you have to squeeze through into the bathroom, which is actually quite good. Nice big tub with shower overhead and good pressure. No amenities included though so bring your own soap and towel or you can hire towel for 1.50 euros.
The mattresses are really hard but linen good.

Breakfast is a joke, don't even pay extra and waste your money. Go down the road and get something nice.
Its just coffee, bread and peanut butter. Which by the way I had to spread on my toast with a spoon because they only have 5 knifes in the whole hostel,
I'm not even joking that's all you get and if your not there between 8-9 am it's usually all gone.
We stayed in the holidays so it wasn't actually that cheap for us especially on the Friday, but like everyone else that posted on here we stayed here as a last resort as everything else was booked out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Sarphati hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the scenic and lush Sarphati park. The tram stops are literally just outside the front door and it is only a short walk to the markets, nice restaurants and the vibrant Rembrandtplein.

The downstairs, dining room of the Sarphati is lovely and spacious with a high ceiling and a perfect refuge to relax and chill out in with a cup of tea or coffee after spending the day sightseeing.

The staff are helpful and informative with every enquiry and always give the best tips and advice which really helps you savour the city.

Great place :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarphati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarphati Hotel

Address: Sarphatipark 58, 1073 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Albert)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sarphati Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Sarphati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarphati Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarphati Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.