We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one and Waldorf in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 30% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The one and Waldorf in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Now this is service with a smile! The first place in a longtime where we felt pampered. What a great location to stay and the staff is definitely 5 star, North American Style. I wouldn't rent a car and park, but some great walking opportunities for sure. The rooms are very small, but wonderful bathroom and shower.
Great stay,
Ovishunter.

Room Tip: Front rooms face the canal, which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you have felt pampered during your stay with us! This is what we strive for with all our guests. Great to hear that you have enjoyed the many activities within walking distance of the hotel. We truly hope to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
85
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

An extremely beautiful property which is elegantly decorated and In a convenient location. Staff were very friendly, however, we did feel there were several service lapses for a hotel of this quality. Our bags took more than 20 minutes to be delivered (most bags, except one which they forgot and was brought up in 30 minutes or so). When calling several times from the room I was on hold for 5 minutes, and no one answered the phone (tried 3-4 times), so I had to finally go down to the reception. Also, when we returned at 3:30pm from a day of walking around the city we found that our room had not been made up, despite the "make up my room" light being left on. Every time I raised these issues the manager in charge seemed to offer up a reason...it was very busy and bell boy doubles up as the concierge sometimes (there was a concierge during the day, who was very helpful). With regards to the room not being serviced, the manager explained that there was misunderstanding as I had requested to see the other rooms (each room is different and I was offered a different room, however I said I would let them know if I would like to move). So found the staff to be helpful, but the managers to be not very responsive. Drinks at the bar were great, but the breakfast selection is extremely limited and basic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much to have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the location and interior of the hotel. Delivering the bags to your room should not have taken this long and therefore we apologize, this is definitely not according to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam standards. The same goes for the not answering of the phone and being on hold for five minutes, it is simply unacceptable to us and we are looking into how this might have happened. Your feedback is valued and the different challenges will be discussed during our management meetings, we will use it to our advantage to learn and improve. We do hope to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to show what True Waldorf Service is supposed to be.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My son and I stayed for three nights at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel recently. We were pleasantly surprised; it proved to be beyond our expectations, making our visit to Amsterdam a pleasure.

The hotel location, on Herrengraft Street, one of the most prestigious avenues of the city, minutes away from Rembrandt Plaza, is located so close to most of the attractions we wanted to visit.

The professionalism, the well appointed rooms, and the public areas were a joy to the senses. From the first contact for reservations, all our questions and requests were handled in a friendly and correct manner. We felt as though the entire staff were awaiting our arrival. Boo and Hetia at reception, were perfectly courteous.

On our way to the hotel, we noticed we had lost our passports and money. We contacted the hotel immediately. We were offered assistance in going to the police and notifying the proper authorities. Special thanks to security consultant, Martin Schmid, who diligently solved an important issue for us.

Courtesy, smiles, as well as pampering, were given at the highest levels, all were pleasant intelligent and reassuring. The breakfast waiters were polite, as well as attentive, as it was the case with any other small requests which were handled promptly, with an elegant touch.
Fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very delighted to read your wonderful words about the hotel and our entire team. Losing something whilst being on vacation is an awful thing to happen and we are pleased that we have been able to help with the authorities. We truly hope to welcome you and your son back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is a truly beautiful hotel perfectly situated in the centre of Amsterdam. We arrived on Wednesday 20th August for a 3 night stay. Our bags were whisked away, we were checked in by a lovely lady called Bo, who then proceeded to take us on a tour of the hotel before escorting us to our room (yes our luggage was already waiting).

Our room was absolutely lovely. A separate sitting area, large flat screen tv plus a DVD player. Kettle and coffee maker plus mini-bar. Large double bed, single bed for our 11 year old daughter and another flat screen tv. Then we discovered a large walk-in wardrobe, safe etc, then another wardrobe for my husband. The bathroom was simply beautiful, underfloor heating, large bath, double sinks, lovely products, plenty of white fluffy towels and a large walk-in shower. Whilst in the bath you can watch tv (yes a 3rd TV in the bathroom). The bed was very comfortable and you can choose your pillow type.

The hotel is elegantly yet comfortably furnished. Beautiful flowers throughout (including a lovely arrangement in our room). Plenty of staff in evidence, always on hand to make your stay that bit more special. We were able to book local restaurants (all excellent) and could purchase tickets for the Van Gogh museum through the hotel (Amsterdam is a busy city so pre-purchase your tickets where possible). The concierge service ( Jasper & Richard) recommended 3 very different restaurants, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We always received a warm welcome back to the hotel from our trips out from Martin and his team. Being loaned a umbrella (thank you Martin) proved most useful on the one rainy day.

We booked on a bed and breakfast basis (definitely book for breakfast). Beautiful choice of cooked breakfast (excellent poached eggs), plus the little pastries and muffins (delicious). Our daughter especially enjoyed the freshly cooked waffles on the 1st morning, although on day 2 she discovered the pancakes. My daughter described the pancakes as heavenly! They were served with chocolate sauce, maple syrup and whipped cream. They are an extra at 10 euros but so worth it. She was delighted! Fruit, yoghurt, strawberry jam and every table had a little jar of honey. Perfect to pour over some fruit and yoghurt.

The chap who welcomed us to the breakfast room (sorry I don't know your name) was so very pleasant and was happy to accommodate us. All the hotel staff were very friendly and always ready with a greeting and a smile.

We would definitely be happy to recommend this hotel. It maybe a little more expensive than some of the others but worth every penny. Amsterdam is perfect for a mini-break, lots to do but having the perfect hotel really adds to the experience and makes it special. Yes we will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the canal at the front. Some rooms are canal side and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank your for writing such a wonderful review about your recent say at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. I cannot say anything else than thank you for writing such warm words about all of our team members. They go above and beyond to make every guests stay memorable and to receive a compliment like this makes it all worth it. I have shared your kind words with the team members and it puts a smile on all of our faces. We truly hope to welcome you and your family back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Gorgeous new property in a fantastic location - walk to almost anything one would want/need (boutique shops, bars, restaurants, vondelpark (120 acre park perfect for running)). Quiet part of the neighborhood. Staff is fabulous - attentive, friendly and open to every request.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very happy to read all of your positive feedback about your recent stay with us. Great to hear that you have enjoyed all that Amsterdam has to offer like the many restaurants and bars and the wonderful Vondelpark, which is indeed great for running but also just for walking and watching people. We truly hope to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. For more different locations to run you can always ask our concierges for tips and perfect running surroundings!

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It was wonderful staying in Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, canal view room was just great, Spa excellent, swimming pool very pleasant, everything clean and very comfortable, beds are highly comfortable, staff very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very excited to read that you have enjoyed your room, the spa and our team. I have made sure to pass on your warm words to all of our team members. We truly hope to welcome you again at our Guerlain Spa and the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California OC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We had a great stay in Amsterdam. The Waldorf is very well located and the staff and food was exceptional. Some have commented on the austerity of the hotel which I don't understand. While modern and styled, they have maintained much of the character of the original canal houses. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed the interior of our hotel along with the original details. The biggest compliment we can receive is that you would come and stay with us again. If you should like to make a booking, please reach out to us so that we can make your stay even more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.