We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How do you say excellence in Dutch? Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“How do you say excellence in Dutch? Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Fabulous hotel! Service, style and splendor above and beyond expectations. Great location. The rooms were beautiful, bathrooms elegant, great bedding. We stayed four nights, enjoyed every moment. Staff was helpful and knowledgable, couldn't do enough for you. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: No room would be bad, sound proofing excellent . Front has views of the canal. Back of hotel has g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing this wonderful review about your recent stay at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed staying with us as much as you did, and we love the title of your review. I have made sure that your warm words are shared with all of our team members. We truly hope to welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    48
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
74
248
15
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We loved the hotel!! Staff was wonderful. Drinks at the vault bar served by Rudy was great!canal outside the front of the hotel was gorgeous and within walking range of everywhere we wished to go, 5 star service is an understatement when it comes to the Waldorf Astoria of Amsterdam. Plus the doormen are absolutely adorable and assisted us in every situation we found ourselves in. For example if it were raining they would provide us with an umbrella each to stay dry and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience of staying at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. Reading this review puts a smile on all our faces, and I have shared this review with all of our team members. It is always great to hear that one of our team member provided something extra to make you stay memorable, this is a standard that we want to achieve with all of our employees. We truly hope to welcome you again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. If you would like to make a reservation, please reach out to us so that we can make your stay even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Very nice new hotel
All the luxury and Splendor you expect, with great modern in room touches which are must haves for todays luxury traveler.
Reception staff I would say is work in progress as not 5 star standard.... yet.
Will be back because I know this hotel is going to became something very special.

Room Tip: KING LOFT Room, very good room but no view just roof tops and one side over looked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are glad to hear that you will return and we are looking forward to welcome you on your next visit to Amsterdam. We would also like to show you then that our reception staff is learning and improving every day and that we are working on reaching True Waldorf Service level in all of our outlets and therefore we highly appreciate your feedback.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Probably the nicest European hotel I have stayed in. The room was huge, the staff was great, and you can't beat the location. We would definitely stay there again.

Getting there: taxi from the airport was about 40 Euro. Just leave the airport and find the taxi queue, no problems. Although drivers don't know where the hotel is yet since it is new.

Eating: Walk out of the hotel and take a left. The street names Utrechtstraat has a number of little cafes and restaurants. The Rembrandtplein also has bars and cafes, but don't eat there unless you must.

Getting Around: Taxis were a great way to get around. For evening plans the hotel called a taxi and 10 euros later you are there. You can also use the metro by buying one time trips or 24/48 hour passes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of staying at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the location, staff and the room. It is indeed true that the taxi drivers may not know yet where we are but luckily we are centrally located on the Herengracht which every taxi driver will know. What might be easier is for us to arrange a car service to come and pick you up at the airport on your next visit. There is so much to do, see and taste in Amsterdam and we are happy to read that you have seemed to enjoy the city at its fullest. We truly hope to welcome you back again at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What makes a good hotel for me? Location, a little luxury, happy and helpful staff, good food and wine and last, but not least, a good nights sleep.

We'll this place has it all and because it's newly opened it was not too crowded. We stayed in Room 1. (Never stayed in room 1 in any hotel before!). Quiet luxury!!

We will stay here again when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 1 was quiet and away from it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. Fantastic to hear that you have enjoyed the food, location, service and our signature Waldorf Astoria beds, we agree it is amazing to have a Room number 1. We are delighted to hear that you will choose to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you at your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay.
The staff has been so friendly and made us feel at home. Gave us a lot of good advise, had tickets for attraction without need to wait at the site. Made reservation to restaurants etc.
always with a smile and good will
Thank you so much and hope to see you soon

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you felt at home with us. Delivering True Waldorf Service is something that we pride ourselves on and from what I can read from your review, you have experienced this service. We truly hope to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed three nights at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam in August, 2014. I was told the hotel had only been open two months. It occupies the shells of several historic canal houses at a prime location on Herrengracht. I had a King Deluxe Room with View.

I learned there is a wide range of sizes in this room category--from 32 to 51 square meters--all at the same price. Also, the view can be of the garden in the rear or the canal in the front. The canal view is far superior with lots of activities to watch and from which useful information can be obtained such as whether pedestrians have umbrellas up or down. The King Deluxe category should be divided into four categories of larger and smaller and canal or garden view. The preferable room is a large one with a canal view. Don't be concerned about street noise. The more-than-double-paned windows reduce noise to a barely noticeable murmur--if fact it is not noticeable. My room was on the ground floor, but the view was over passing cars and there was no noise. I liked it.

The hotel interior is subdued and pleasing with colors of ivory, gray and tan. My room had only one picture on the wall, but that was fine. Strangely, for a hotel of this class, there was no bath robe provided, although slippers were. My larger King Deluxe room had a love seat and an upholstered chair. Smaller king deluxe rooms lack both. Neither of the seating types were comfortable--they were too firm. The bath was large and well-lighted with tub and separate shower and lots of counter space. Hot water was instant and very hot. The shower was excellent. There was a TV in the center of the bath mirror. The hotel was quiet, both between rooms and from the hallway. WiFi internet access was free. Air-conditioning and the thermostat were good.

I had lunch and dinner in the lower-priced restaurant. The dinner was excellent. The lunch was not, due to a way over-baked pizza of little appeal. The breakfast buffet was very good, but not outstanding. The breakfast buffet was the same each day with no variation whatever. It was light on fruit, with no citrus.

The touted private garden was not really of use. I found it uninteresting both to look at and to walk in. It probably is better with spring tulips. City parks are much superior with good people-watching.

Senior staff in this new property were experienced and outstanding. Several went above and beyond and I found no shortcomings. I give top marks to the reception staff, concierges, doormen and wait staff.. Some of the junior restaurant and room-cleaning staff were inexperienced, but they will be good in a few months and are fine today.

Overall, I was very pleased with the Waldorf, recommend it and would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, interior. The peace and quietness of our hotel is something we value and like to treasure, we are very excited to hear that you would happily return, this is a big compliment for us. We truly appreciate the feedback provided about our restaurant and breakfast and we will discuss this internally. I have passed on your warm words about our team and they are always delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated. We hope to welcome you again at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. If you would like to make a booking, please reach out to us so that we can make your stay even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#7 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, Priceline, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.