We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel - Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 30% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This beautiful hotel really made our vacation. The hotel is brand new and the staff are great. The rooms are very large, elegant and contemporary with nice touches like fresh flowers and beautiful vases. The hotel had a great spa and indoor pool area that included a sauna and steam room. We really enjoyed the location as well as it's just far enough away from the busy touristy areas but close enough to walk to everything. I would easily choose this destination again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you have had a memorable experience with us and that you appreciate the fresh flowers with the spa facilities as well. Your warm words about our staff are shared with the team and they are always glad to hear that their hard work is being appreciated. We truly hope to welcome you again at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    22
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
101
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location and views with room balcony . Excellent room and guest services. Fantastic food and choice. Recommend to everyone. Great local knowledge from all staff . Facilities are first class with very high standards with what you expect from world class Waldorf chain

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured and delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. The fact that you would reccomend our hotel to everyone is the biggest compliment we can recieve. We truly hope to welcome you again into Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Everything about this hotel was exceptionally memorable. The staff helped us book numerous restaurant reservations which were all perfect dining experiences. The rooms were big, elegant and modern with great views of the Herengracht canal. Definitely make a reservation to dine at the hotel's Librije Zusje- it was one of the best dining experiences I've had. The location of this hotel is also excellent...only a few steps away from the Rembrendt square. Overall- an exceptional stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that your stay has been memorable, since this is what we strive for with all of our guests. Your warm words have been shared with our team and they are delighted to hear that they have created an unique dining experience for you. We truly hope to welcome you again into our hotel. If would like to make a reservation please contact us so we can make your stay even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Enjoyed every minute of our stay at the new Waldorf-Astoria in Amsterdam. The staff was friendly and helpful and clearly proud of this beautiful new Hilton property. The room was spacious and elegant...the beds almost too wonderful! Great location that is adjacent to Rembrandt Plaza, trolley lines and many restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing feedback on your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured to get such great feedback. It is our passion to always deliver the True Waldorf Service and we are delighted to hear that you have had a great stay. We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh Province, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I really liked the hotel. The location was excellent. The building itself is very nice, sophisticated look, with calming colors throughout the hotel. The staff were very nice.
I highly recommend this hotel if anyone wants to visit Amsterdam and wants luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. It is always lovely to hear that you would recommend our hotel. We strive to deliver the best service to all of our guests and we are delighted to hear that in your case we have succeeded. We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff and the amenities here are very pleasant. You will definitely enjoy your stay! One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The toiletries are top of the line luxury products. Umbrellas are available to use during your stay should there be a need. And the concierge service was incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your revent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our signature Waldorf Astoria bed together with our luxury amenities. I have passed on your warm words to our concierges and they are always pleased to hear that their efforts are being appreciated.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip with another couple to the Waldorf in Amsterdam. We all loved this hotel ! The hotel is brand new and has a beautiful large lobby. After hours of walking around in the heat of mostly un-airconditioned Amsterdam, we were always thrilled to return to this oasis of luxury.Our room was spacious, pretty and very comfortable. We were on the street level so I was initially worried about the noise, but the room was very quiet. There is also a large garden in the back of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating-- the front desk was especially nice and helpful. For example, they always volunteered to help/make reservations when the concierge was busy with other guests. This is a top notch hotel and I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We would like to thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you experienced the quietness of our hotel and our large garden, that provides a luxury and peaceful environment that our guests deserve. I have passed on you compliments about our staff, it is our passion to always deliver the True Waldorf Service and the fact that you would recommend it to others is the biggest compliment we can receive.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam..

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.