We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 30% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff and the amenities here are very pleasant. You will definitely enjoy your stay! One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The toiletries are top of the line luxury products. Umbrellas are available to use during your stay should there be a need. And the concierge service was incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your revent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our signature Waldorf Astoria bed together with our luxury amenities. I have passed on your warm words to our concierges and they are always pleased to hear that their efforts are being appreciated.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    21
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
31
85
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a trip with another couple to the Waldorf in Amsterdam. We all loved this hotel ! The hotel is brand new and has a beautiful large lobby. After hours of walking around in the heat of mostly un-airconditioned Amsterdam, we were always thrilled to return to this oasis of luxury.Our room was spacious, pretty and very comfortable. We were on the street level so I was initially worried about the noise, but the room was very quiet. There is also a large garden in the back of the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating-- the front desk was especially nice and helpful. For example, they always volunteered to help/make reservations when the concierge was busy with other guests. This is a top notch hotel and I would definitely return and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We would like to thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear you experienced the quietness of our hotel and our large garden, that provides a luxury and peaceful environment that our guests deserve. I have passed on you compliments about our staff, it is our passion to always deliver the True Waldorf Service and the fact that you would recommend it to others is the biggest compliment we can receive.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam..

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

the room was ready when we landed at 10am. It is clean and new with enthusiastic employees. i could not recommend it more. While we had a canal view room the rooms in the back were very nice and over looked a small park with a nice city view

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the True Waldorf Experience and that you would recommend it! I have shared your kind words about the enthusiasm of our employees with the team and they are glad to hear their efforts have paid off. We hope to welcome you again into our hotel, if you should like to make a booking, please reach out so we can try and make you stay even more memorable than last time.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved this hotel. Not far from Rembrandtplein (but just far enough to be away from the activity - the street that the hotel is on is very quiet). About a 5 minute walk to the tram station there so you can get to the train station.

We were upgraded to a larger room and we thoroughly loved the style of the rooms. The bathroom was large with a double sink and a separate shower and tub (yeah! no stepping in and out of a tub to take a shower!!). The room had a walk-in closet with a safe. The bed was a little on the firm side - which I love. Internet access was free given my diamond status and was fast.

The hotel staff is pretty young but very friendly and willing to help. I am a pretty casual person - but we saw plenty of folks decked here - but me coming and going with shorts (it was hot out) and jeans was not an issue. Good for them! (I have to wear a suit to work so on vacation time I like to relax a little).

The checkin is on the right when you walk - you sit down with the staff member to check in. Is more friendly that way but probably takes a little longer as well.

Overall, highly recommended - been to Amsterdam many times and this will be my go to hotel now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing your a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and vacation. We have indeed chosen to do the check-in procedure seated as this is more personal and this way we can truly get to know our guests which is important for us to create a memorable experience. It is our honour that Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam is your preferred hotel from now on.
We truly hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had asked for an early check-in as I had a business meeting. We arrived at the hotel at noon and no rooms were supposedly available yet. I asked if they could give me a upgraded room (of course I thought it would be complimentary). They said certainly but it would be an additional €1200 per night. Yes, they said this with a straight face. I asked to speak to the GM and miraculously my room was now ready. The A/C didn't work in the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam during your recent visit to Amsterdam and for leaving a review regarding your stay.

We would like to apologize for the first impression perceived, please rest assured that we appreciate all our guests that arrive early and try our best to accommodate them as soon as possible. Unfortunately due to the hotel's occupancy, we weren't able to upgrade your reservation this time. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in a very nice Suite after a few minutes, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having travelled to Amsterdam numerous times the city was desperate for a hotel of this quality. Wonderful staff, rooms were everything you would expect, and the food was memorably good. Only sticking point was the trouble we had with out A/C unit, however, they were able to rectify it within 24 hours or so. Staff seemed well trained and on par with any luxury hotel worldwide. Furthermore, the location is top-notch and within a decent walk of just about anything in Amsterdam for touring.

Room Tip: Canal View Room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured that an experienced traveller like yourself has enjoyed the hotel to its fullest. We have indeed had some troubles with the air-conditioning, luckily most of the problems have been resolved. Hopefully this has not negatively affected your stay. I have passed on your compliments to our staff members and they are always delighted to hear that their efforts have paid off.
We truly hope to welcome you again into Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Waldorf opened in May of 2014. We visited in July so the hotel was basically brand new. The hotel is well located on one of the quieter sections of the Herengracht canal. It is accessible to museums and restaurants. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely garden at the back. The owners put together six town houses in assembling the hotel. There are some quirks because of the historic nature of the houses. For instance, we had to go up one story to walk across a hallway so that we could descend two three stories to our garden room. But the room was comfortable with a very large bathroom, couch and lots of light. Hard to imagine how the room could have been any better. The staff was very cheerful and eager to assist us. The hotel is pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay and the location and that you experienced our True Waldorf Service. Indeed the building is a bit quirky with all the different floors on different levels, but we believe this also gives the hotel its historic charm.
We truly hope to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.