We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #8 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Just Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I loved this hotel. Not far from Rembrandtplein (but just far enough to be away from the activity - the street that the hotel is on is very quiet). About a 5 minute walk to the tram station there so you can get to the train station.

We were upgraded to a larger room and we thoroughly loved the style of the rooms. The bathroom was large with a double sink and a separate shower and tub (yeah! no stepping in and out of a tub to take a shower!!). The room had a walk-in closet with a safe. The bed was a little on the firm side - which I love. Internet access was free given my diamond status and was fast.

The hotel staff is pretty young but very friendly and willing to help. I am a pretty casual person - but we saw plenty of folks decked here - but me coming and going with shorts (it was hot out) and jeans was not an issue. Good for them! (I have to wear a suit to work so on vacation time I like to relax a little).

The checkin is on the right when you walk - you sit down with the staff member to check in. Is more friendly that way but probably takes a little longer as well.

Overall, highly recommended - been to Amsterdam many times and this will be my go to hotel now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing your a review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and vacation. We have indeed chosen to do the check-in procedure seated as this is more personal and this way we can truly get to know our guests which is important for us to create a memorable experience. It is our honour that Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam is your preferred hotel from now on.
We truly hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
56
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had asked for an early check-in as I had a business meeting. We arrived at the hotel at noon and no rooms were supposedly available yet. I asked if they could give me a upgraded room (of course I thought it would be complimentary). They said certainly but it would be an additional €1200 per night. Yes, they said this with a straight face. I asked to speak to the GM and miraculously my room was now ready. The A/C didn't work in the room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam during your recent visit to Amsterdam and for leaving a review regarding your stay.

We would like to apologize for the first impression perceived, please rest assured that we appreciate all our guests that arrive early and try our best to accommodate them as soon as possible. Unfortunately due to the hotel's occupancy, we weren't able to upgrade your reservation this time. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in a very nice Suite after a few minutes, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Having travelled to Amsterdam numerous times the city was desperate for a hotel of this quality. Wonderful staff, rooms were everything you would expect, and the food was memorably good. Only sticking point was the trouble we had with out A/C unit, however, they were able to rectify it within 24 hours or so. Staff seemed well trained and on par with any luxury hotel worldwide. Furthermore, the location is top-notch and within a decent walk of just about anything in Amsterdam for touring.

Room Tip: Canal View Room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured that an experienced traveller like yourself has enjoyed the hotel to its fullest. We have indeed had some troubles with the air-conditioning, luckily most of the problems have been resolved. Hopefully this has not negatively affected your stay. I have passed on your compliments to our staff members and they are always delighted to hear that their efforts have paid off.
We truly hope to welcome you again into Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Waldorf opened in May of 2014. We visited in July so the hotel was basically brand new. The hotel is well located on one of the quieter sections of the Herengracht canal. It is accessible to museums and restaurants. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely garden at the back. The owners put together six town houses in assembling the hotel. There are some quirks because of the historic nature of the houses. For instance, we had to go up one story to walk across a hallway so that we could descend two three stories to our garden room. But the room was comfortable with a very large bathroom, couch and lots of light. Hard to imagine how the room could have been any better. The staff was very cheerful and eager to assist us. The hotel is pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have fully enjoyed your stay and the location and that you experienced our True Waldorf Service. Indeed the building is a bit quirky with all the different floors on different levels, but we believe this also gives the hotel its historic charm.
We truly hope to welcome you again.

Warmest Regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is gorgeous, right on the canal. It's new, but decorated in a timeless fashion. The check in staff were delightful! They were able to check us in early due to an early morning international arrival.
We had 3 rooms at this hotel for family. All rooms were very nice, clean, well appointed. The garden facing rooms are very quiet.

The concierge set up a walking tour, a drive to outside the city and a canal cruise. The walking tour with our private guide, Folkert was great! He was so knowledgable. He had a great sense of humor and he spoke perfect English. The driving outside the city was the only thing I regret doing. The places the driver took us were similar to going to a theme park. It was extremely commercial! I could have seen the same thing in Epcot center at Disney world. I asked him of we could skip the commercial spots and go to an authentic Dutch restaurant or something and head back to the city. He spoke no English. We ended up getting dropped off in another commercial spot, at a restaurant that served microwaved food. So my advice for any tours... If you don't speak Dutch ask for a guide that speaks your language.

I had 1 small hiccup with my kids room 125, the phones didn't work. I asked 4 times to have it fixed, and finally an engineer came the morning we were leaving while the kids were sleeping. That won't sway my rating. Just make sure your phones work when you get into the room, if you want to call concierge, the front desk, room service or room to room, it can be a bit annoying.

Other than that, everything was superior quality. The room service was extremely fast, house keeping was extremely responsive.

There was a young doorman, I don't remember his name, but he was very helpful with local restaurant recommendations. So, if the concierge is pre-occupied, just ask the doorman where to go. Most if them are knowledgable of the area!


Thumbs up!


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the room, location and interior of the hotel. I have passed on your warm words to our front-of-house team and they are always delighted to hear such positive feedback.
We find it very unfortunate to hear that the driving tour was not up to your expectations and we have contacted the agency to see how we can change this to make the experience more memorable in a positive way. Regarding the phones, I have checked with our engineering department and they do apologize for possibly waking up your children. We appreciate your feedback, this helps us to continuously keep improving our service. We are happy to hear that this had not majorly affected your experience.
We truly hope to welcome you and your family into our hotel again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Spacious rooms, perfect and uber-stylish classic decor, great food. And of course, very central location. There we minor hickups in service (like forgetting part of an order for in-room dining) but absolutely forgivable, all staff is extremely friendly, attentive and helpful. I would come back to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the rooms, location and food. We find it very unfortunate that parts of your in-room dining were forgotten and your feedback will definitely help us to keep improving our service. Luckily the friendliness, attentiveness and unparalleled service of our staff helped resolve the problem, we have passed on your compliments.
We truly hope to welcome you back into our hotel again.

Warmest regard,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am always impressed when luxury chain hotels capture the boutique hotel feel with all of the services and amenities of a five-star property. The Waldorf in Amsterdam does just that. The hotel itself is almost nondescript from the exterior. It is a number of buildings combined into one fabulous hotel. Our room was spacious, well-appointed with an unexpectedly large bathroom. We loved the atmosphere. Service was great, if a little slow. Every staff member was helpful. The location was perfect and walking distance to every attraction / museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about your recent stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Creating a lovely atmosphere involves every aspect of the hotel, the interior, the decoration, the location and most of all the staff, therefore this compliment means a lot to us and I have notified all the staff members of your kind words.
We hope to welcome you back into our hotel again. If you should like to make a booking, please reach out to us so we can make your experience even more memorable than the last one!

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Agoda, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.