We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in an amazing new luxury hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €311
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dresden, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in an amazing new luxury hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spend 2 nights in the Waldorf Astoria in Amsterdam and we had a wonderful stay there and the team of the hotel made it possible. Thank you so much! I got contacted in advance to see if I have any special requests for our stay and every request was fulfilled. The hotel is brand new and is installed in various old town houses which are beautifully renovated located at one of the famous canals of the city. I loved the design of the hotel which might be too simple and pure to some guests here, but it is not an old fashioned grand hotel for sure. We stayed in a suite with a great view and beautiful furniture which had a coffee machine, an iPod docking station, 3 TVs, a very confortable bed and a nice welcome donut ;) The preserved low ceiling with wooden elements with the old windows keeps the spirit of the old house alive and makes you feel like you are on holidays and not just in an hotel. The check in to the hotel was warm and efficient and I really felt a warm welcome when Karem showed me around and was available for any needs and worries throughout our stay. When we needed bikes to explore the city, the hotel organized them for us, even though the hotel was out bikes on that day. We really had a great time and wish the hotel more happy customers like us in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for highlighting your positive experiences of your stay at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very glad to hear that the hotel was to your liking and that you got to enjoy the historic feel of our hotel, the suite and the anticipated service. We have passed on your compliments to Karem and she was delighted to hear that you have enjoyed her service.
We all hope to welcome you back into our hotel again. Please reach out to us should you be planning you next visit so we can try to make your experience even more memorable.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
28
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place, location and staff. Better than the Andaz staff for sure. Rooms are large, the Dutch front desk staff were very kind. A bit pricey but worth the cash. Will be back here sometime soon.
Hat's off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

We would like to thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room, location and service.
We all look forward to welcoming you back for another experience.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brand new hotel with luxurious amenities. Amazing renovations to buildings that are centuries old. But the service is what brought it head and shoulder above other five-star hotels we stayed in during this trip to Europe. Greeted personally at the hotel front door upon arrival, escorted to room by check-in staff member, received upgraded room, welcome gifts, and late check out as Hilton Gold member. Superb experience and exemplifies the Waldorf Astoria brand. Staying at this hotel was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for sharing your feedback on you recent experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured to read that staying with us has been one of the highlights of your vacation. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our luxury amenities and Hhonor benefits. At Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam we are passionate about creating memorable experiences that truly exemplifies the Waldorf Astoria brand and we are delighted that you have experienced this.
We truly hope to welcome you again.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 4 nights in this amazing hotel to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. We had a great suite overlooking the canal and the 17th century houses opposite, how more Amsterdam can that be ! And on the first floor with very high ceilings, just fabulous environment of these 5 historical houses joined together to create this gem of a hotel.
The location allowed us to walk everywhere, the hotel is pure 300 year old building with 21st century comfort, great bathrooms, great beds, and complete calm and silence....bliss...
We tried the award winning restaurant one night, and that was a real surprise as the hotel is so new, excellent cuisine with a strong Hong Kong influence and impeccable service, classic yet friendly.
The team was young , enthusiastic and looked after us beautifully, we were even welcomed by the general manager Roberto, this was just an amazing stay, thank you all, we will be back!

Room Tip: Canal view is typical Amsterdam but the back view is on a garden which looked very nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, it was a pleasure to meet you in person. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed the room and location. I have passed on your compliments to the kitchen and restaurant teams and they are delighted to hear that you enjoyed an award winning experience. At Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam our staff is passionate about creating memorable moments and we are glad to hear that you have had an amazing stay.
We all hope to welcome you back, and I will be happy to welcome you again personally.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been visiting Amsterdam twice a year for over twenty years. The choice of five star hotels has gotten better and better. Recently, I stayed for six nights at the Waldorf Astoria. This is truly a great hotel. The transformation of the four or five townhouses into a hotel is beautiful. The public spaces are airy and a pleasure to be in. I visited several rooms and they were all spacious, comfortable and beautiful. My room was on the first floor overlooking the gardens. It was silent and the bed was amazing. The room was spacious and lovely with high ceilings and windows. The bathroom large and perfect. The gardens are incredible. The breakfast is the best I have ever had at any hotel. The buffet had everything you could want. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel has bikes for its guests which is a great perk. These bikes are very good.

I had worried that staying at a chain hotel like the Waldorf would mean that the hotel wouldn't have character and feel Dutch. This was not the case. This hotel has blended into the neighborhood and there were no signs I was staying in a Hilton. I watched a soccer game in the lovely bar and it was filled with Dutch residents from nearby homes in the area. This gives the hotel a very nice feel.

The spa and fitness center are outstanding. The work out room is airy and bright and has all of the equipment required for a great workout. It is clean and well kept. The Guerlain Spa has excellent treatments and rooms. When they were full and could not accommodate me for a massage, they booked me at an excellent day spa around the corner.

I have one issue with this hotel. I don't know who made the decision to make the beautiful and fantastic pool so ridiculously short. This was an error. Five extra meters and the pool would have been swimmable. As it is now it is a plunge pool. They could have made it longer because the steam room could have been where the showers are. I only book hotels with indoor pools because I swim while on holiday. That is why I am upset about this. The pool is the only flaw in an otherwise perfect hotel.

Lastly, the location is great. Five minutes by bike to museumplein. Near the flower market and all of the attractions and still tranquil on the beautiful Herengracht.

Room Tip: Any room will be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing your valued feedback about your experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are very honoured to hear that an experienced traveller like yourself has enjoyed the True Waldorf experience. At the Waldorf Astoria the staff is very passionate about delivering world class service and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed this to the fullest. I have passed on your kind feedback to our team members. We are sad to hear that the size of the swimming pool was not up to your expectations.
We truly hope to welcome you back , please reach out should you like to make another booking so that we can make your stay even more memorable. We can try to assist with making a reservation to experience a massage at our Guerlain Spa, and we will look at some alternative solutions for a swimming pool.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful building on the finest gracht's of Amsterdam, everything is within walking distance.
Upon arrival the hotel staff looked at us quite awkwardly as we arrived with motorbike. I guess they did not believe we were staying in the hotel. Once they realized we were indeed quests, they became very friendly.
Our room was reasonable size, lush pillows, duvets and bathrobes. also the bathroom was big. Beautiful views overlooking the canal.
The hotel was recently opened, and the check-in process took a bit of time.
There are no parking places in front of the hotel, the street is extremely narrow. Valet parking is offered around the block

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience of staying at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the room and stunning views. It is our priority to deliver service of the highest standard to every guest of the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We appreciate your feedback on the check-in procedure, this helps us to continuously keep improving our service. Thanks to you we are now training two of our valet parkers on motorcycle driving, and we have been working on getting some additional parking spaces, thank you!
We truly hope to welcome you back to showcase Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam to its fullest potential.

Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Waldorf in Amsterdam. It has been open for only a few months, but the experience is already seamless. The property is stunning. The staff is committed to anticipating your every need. It was like being a guest in someone's (gorgeous) home. I travel frequently for business and pleasure and am very critical of hotels, but the Waldorf Astoria in Amsterdam is now one of my favorite properties on the planet. There is certainly no where else in Amsterdam that compares.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at the Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam. We are honoured to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us and that we are one of your favourite properties.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you again. Please reach out to us should you plan a next visit so that we can make you experience even more memorable.
Warmest regards,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam

Address: Herengracht 542-556, 1017 CG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, a new and unique 5-star luxury hotel created by combining six 17th century canal palaces located on the Herengracht or Gentlemen's canal. Inspired by timeless Dutch history, the hotel brings authentic charm together with world class amenities and the personalized and legendary True Waldorf Service. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, close to all major museums, theatres and shops, and only 25 minutes from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The setting of this storied destination is matched by its unparalleled facilities. Enjoy spectacular culinary dishes and the finest wines in the exclusive restaurant in collaboration with 3-Michelin star restaurant De Librije, or visit the stylish Peacock Alley or signature Vault Bar. Or unwind at our private garden and exclusive Guerlain Spa, featuring three treatment rooms, an indoor pool, sauna and fitness centre. Each of the 93 elegant rooms, including 17 suites with our Brentano suite as the grandest of them all (123m2), are dressed in exquisite decor and feature contemporary amenities for an unforgettable stay. For social events and business meetings the hotel has 7 meetings and events rooms all with its unique feature, like our Hooft Room of 155m2 overlooking the canal or our Maurer Room with original Rococo style decoration and 18th century wall paintings. All same-floor meeting rooms offer high windows with natural daylight, and the level of service you would expect from a Waldorf Astoria hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.