We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Barangay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Barangay to your Saves list
B&B Barangay
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK VIA WWW.BARANGAY.NL
Ranked #25 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The men who run this B&B are welcoming and extremely friendly. Our room was clean and the bed very comfy. The atmosphere there is so laid back and the cats were very sweet and friendly. Breakfast can either be self-serve in the upstairs kitchen or served to your room for breakfast in bed.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Men of Barangay at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
hola ASHLEY.
thanks for taking the time in writing a review. we are glad to know that you enjoyed the hospitality of the men of barangay b&b.
we do our best to be always there for our guests indeed.
hopefully, we see each other again soon. tell the whole of salt lake city about us... he he he.
tropical regards,
wimmo, edson & godxxx
++ billy & bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    104
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
277
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

From our entry into the building, my wife and I were warmly welcomed, first with a drink and a chat over a map with Wimmo, who gave us great recommendations. Comfortable room, good serve yourself breakfasts with nice pastry treats, but above all a staff that was there to make our stay the best. A very enjoyable experience. As long as you can do stairs -- and take Rick Steve's advice, travel as lightly as possible- and are not looking for the 5-star hotel experience, you will enjoy it. It s a 5-star B&B!

Room Tip: Room was a bit quirky, but remember this is Amsterdam.bit of noise one night, but tolerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Jerry,
Thanks for your time to write this nice review! We are happy to hear you had a good time.
Our tropical decorated rooms are indeed a bit quirky, we just want to offer something else than a standard room..I hope you liked it.
Most rooms have a double set of window's now ( or double glass) if the windows are closed you (almost) hear nothing. We hope you had a good trip home and hopefully we meet again in future!
Best regards,

Wimmo & Godwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My son and I booked two rooms in June 2014. Amsterdam was full to the brim so we felt lucky to find two rooms in a convenient location for the dates we needed. We were greeted warmly and welcomed by the hosts, even offered a glass of wine, nice touch since we had just flown in from Istanbul and even the best travel is a little stressful these days. My room felt like being at home in Miami (except for the stairs.) They are steep but the guys were more than willing to carry everything up and down. Hopefully, I will get back to Amsterdam and when I do, I would choose first to stay there.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, All of Barangay Team at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks JANE for a wonderful honest review about Barangay.
We feel good reading your review as it both simple, direct and good overview of what our B&B is all about... its about service to our guests and trying our best.
It is always nice to read how we have become (little) part of your Amsterdam experience.
The stairs are indeed part of your Amsterdam experience. For those who dont want stairs, then we have the patio rooms.
Thanks for taking the time to write us your feedback. It is good for future guests to have a good idea of what they are getting when staying with us.
Tropical regards, the Barangay Team
Billy, Bossy, Eds, Wimmo & moi, godxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The lovely warm welcome from Wim, the complementary glass of wine and the detailed insider information about the area straight away put us in the mood to start discovering Amsterdam for ourselves, All of the recommendations were spot on. The breakfast was plentiful and having the complete breakfasting kitchen for the use of guests is a great idea - a relaxing start to the day. Our room was across from the breakfast room and we did not find it noisy at all - in fact it was nice to only have to walk across the landing and not go up and down the stairs! When we left it was early in the evening and it was no trouble to leave our luggage and collect it on our way back to the station. By the way, the location is excellent as it is only about 10 minutes walk away (and the instructions on how to reach the B&B were crystal clear). We would have no hesitation in recommending Barangay to anyone wanting a nice, well-located place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are feeling good reading your review. It is always nice to read how we have become (little) part of your Amsterdam experience.
Your room is indeed one of the most convenient going to the breakfast kitchen, no stairs to navigate.
Thanks for taking the time to write us your feedback. It is good for us and it definitely good for future guests to have a good idea of what they are getting when booking with us.
Tropical regards, the Barangay Team
Billy, Bossy, Eds, Wimmo & moi, godxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned home tonight from an absolute cracker of a surprise weekend away staying at Barangay B &B in Central Amsterdam
My wife found it on the internet and where do I start , on arrival we where given a really warm welcome and a free drink whilst booking in :)
Our room was beautiful , we stayed in one of the patio rooms, full of individual touch and thought
We had breakfast in bed both mornings and it was more like work of art as well as good food.
Position wise for exploring you could not get better, easy to find and slap bang in the middle so nothing too far
Thank you to the boys for making our stay so good and we will be over to stay again :)

Ian and Jayne

Room Tip: Patio room just gives that little extra touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, The Boys of Barangay at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Hola IAN & JAYNE.
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a lovely review.
We are indeed the B&B boys..... our lives centered on giving a different type of accommodation/experience in Amsterdam. We are very happy to differentiate ourselves from other b&bs by providing the best service we can.
Our deco is tropical-inspired in the middle of cold Amsterdam... he eh hehe !!!
For those who want to experience our world famous ( or as ian & jayne mentioned - artwork ) breakfasts in bed, then book via barangay.nl and choose the PATIO ROOM in a Classic Amsterdam house with steep winding stairs included.
Location is best, in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage Site and almost all attractions within a short leisurely walk and yet, on a very quiet street.
For those who find breakfasts in bed to be decadent ( h ehe he ), then book an upper room and you enjoy breakfasts in our lovely kitchen which is self-service with loads of goodies to choice from.
We hope to see & show our B&B to new guests as a result of this wonderful review.
Tropical regards, wimmo, eds & godxxx
++ Billy & Bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bixby, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a room near the station, due to an early morning train schedule, and found Barangay. It was perfect! Wimmo welcomed us warmly and gave us a map with all the salient areas marked. The retro music and eclectic decor made us feel right at home. Although there is no elevator, the spiraling stairs introduced us to the charms of the beautiful buildings in the Nederlands. We had the Red room on the third floor with our own very modern bathroom. A rain shower! I loved it. The shutters opened out over the neighboring balconies and rooftops. We even had swan towels on our bed when we arrived, as well as coffee/tea maker in the room. Very thoughtful. The breakfast room is the most charming one I have ever seen in our travels. Lovely china and place settings. A complete kitchen at our disposal with a stocked fridge and huge basket of fresh breads. Live orchids in our room and the breakfast room. We had a key to come and go as we pleased and the breakfast area was open before its regular time for us to use before we slipped out to catch our train. The entrance is charming, as well, with flower boxes and greenery. We highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, ask for one of the ground floor rooms. Go to their website and read about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, All of Us. at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a lovely review.
We try our very best indeed to differentiate us from other b&bs and from hotels especially. It is not your out of the box kind of accommodation.
As mentioned, our deco is tropical inspired and almost all our guests really like it indeed. For some it might be a bit out of the ordinary. As mentioned in this review, better be ready with our deco and stairs. Check our website indeed.
All rooms have private bathrooms either ensuite or external private. If you want to choose your own room, dont forget to book directly via our site, barangay.nl !!
Location-wise, it is indeed hard to beat. As mentioned, our breakfasts kitchen is self-service and there is loads of choices to make.
We hope to see & show our B&B to new guests as a result of this wonderful review.
Tropical regards, wimmo, eds & godxxx
++ Billy & Bossy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location was good, near main train station and able to walk to most major attractions or take tram. The B & B owners were very nice. Our room was ok, a bit small and noisy as it was across from the breakfast room and could hear tenants above us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thanks for the review.
We will look at your concern. This is our newest room and we always welcome constructive criticism from the guests in order to improve our facilities.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay still and that rest assured we will do our very best to make it even better next time around.
Tropical regards, godxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed & Breakfast, with tropical decorated rooms in the Heart of Amsterdam, less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Many tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. The best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Barangay
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Barangay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.