We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Barangay

Save Saved
You added B&B Barangay to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Barangay
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
USE BARANGAY SITE -40%OFF
Ranked #24 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

4 nights spent at Barangay so central and convenient, all anyone could wish for we stayed in the studio next door which is huge and well fitted out, no need to go out if your too tired in the evening!!!! The owners Godwin and Wimmow couldn't do enough to make us more comfortable, I will be going back with my husband!!!!!.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, General Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Rosemary darling. It was so nice to have meet you indeed.
Same is true for Wimmo(w?), Eds and Noy. It is always sooo nice to meet people you welcome to your house (b&b) as guests and ends up being friends.
We are so happy to know that you truly enjoyed your Amsterdam experience and that are very proud to have given a bit of share to that effect.
We look forward to welcoming your husband next time around. Lots of kisses from the boys of Barangay and not to forget MR BOSSY & MR BILLY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    96
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
52
250
36
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was my umpteenth visit to Barangay, chosen initially because of it's quiet location and it's proximity to Centraal Station; now I choose it because I love it! Visited with a friend and we chose to stay in the studio as this provides a little more flexibility to your stay and provides all the comforts of home with lovely comfortable beds, interesting décor, cooking facilities and, most important for me, a Nespresso machine for lovely coffee. The studio is spacious and bright. There are a couple of sofas, flat screen TV and even a selection of books and magazines. If you don't want to bother making breakfast for yourself, for a small charge you can have a lovely buffet breakfast in Barangay - it's worth the climb (typical old Dutch house with steep staircases - be prepared!). Godwin and Wimmo were busy making a new, bigger breakfast room when we left and I understand this will be finished in a few days. I would always recommend Barangay and will, no doubt, be staying there again myself.

Room Tip: If you book one of the two tropical rooms you get a huge breakfast delivered to your room, all other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Owner at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for continuously choosing Barangay as your home in Amsterdam. Yes, indeed we are making a much bigger kitchen for more comfort to our new future guests. And of course for you FIONA to enjoy next time you are visiting your Barangay Family.
Give our kisses to Rosemary and Steve. Til we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Edson and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. These people redefine hospitality! The B&B is well located, near the train station, but very quiet inside. Our large room in this old building was on the top floor (very good work out on those steep Amsterdam stairs), with a beautiful peaked open beam ceiling, and tasteful decor. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was very modern, with a nice design. The breakfast, which is served from 7 - 11:30 am, was top notch: fresh croissants, breads, waffles, eggs, ham, cheese, espresso, cap, teas, it went on and on. The best part of breakfast was meeting the other guests, mostly interesting young couples visiting Amsterdam from many countries, and planning to visit more. The price was fair, which is probably why this place is so successful and often fully booked. In other words, make your reservations early. Bottom line: A+++++++++++++++.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor facing the street was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, General Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hallo Tom.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in Barangay B&B.
I am especially HONOURED being mentioned as the owners were away when you stayed with us and this way they can see I did my best to keep the Barangay standard as high as I could possibly do.

Wimmo & Godwin are back home and I am very proud to show your review indeed.
Again, thanks for staying with us, Eds

PS
At this moment, we are renovating our kitchen and should be finished by 20th of March to give our guests even more relaxing and spacious kitchen to enjoy all the goodies you mentioned for their breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed there one night in January 2014. Were greeted with warm smile and nice coffee right after we arrived. The two black cats have also welcomed us warmly : )
We're then introduced to our room in the adjacent block and the room was clean and huge, the largest one i have ever stayed in Amsterdam. Our room was at basement floor but got a window opening to the stairwell so we have some natural light. Were then introduced to the other facilities and the staff has excellent command of Englsih. Very good self serve breakfast with variety. Walking distance to train station and other spots. Quiet neighbourhood. Strong wifi. Not really a budget stay but well worth the money. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Our room was at basement in the adjacent block and it's huge and quiet. Got our own coffee mach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godwin Dumagat Y, Manager at B&B Barangay, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hallo.
Thank you sooo much for such a lovely review about B&B.
Surely, I have shown it to the owners that I took good care of the guests while they were on vacation.
Tell your friends about Barangay and hopefully we see each other again soon.
Tropical regards, Eds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for my 30th birthday from 4th until 7th january. Not going to repeat what others have said but service was excellent and also ideal location from centraal station. Amsterdam was a fabulous city and would definately return and also to the barangay!!!

Keep up the good work!!!

kelly and nigel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This bed and breakfast was quirky, unique & clearly ran with love. We were greeted by Edson who was very friendly & helpful throughout our stay. Upon arrival he offered us a complimentary drink and shared one with us trading a number of pleasantries. Our room was a lovely large sized room, it was within the basement and had a sky light as opposed to a window. The lack of window was not an issue as the room had a make believe window showing a beautiful sea with forest that lit up lovely in the night with a backlight. We had tea and coffee facilities with our own bathroom with bath and shower, dining table, four poster bed, sofa and also coffee machine. The room decor was beautiful and took on a very safari looking theme, really relaxing. Breakfast was self service up until as late as 11:30 and stocked with plenty of items, more continental based, but lots of eggs, ham, bread, cereals, juices, fruit & cheeses. The owners were away having what appears from how this place is ran, a well deserved break. The location is perfect just a few minutes walk from central station and easy to find. This is my 4th visit to Amsterdam and first to the Barangay, I won't stay anywhere else in the future. Thank you for helping make my anniversary special and for fantastic service & welcome, see you again soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This bed and breakfast was quirky, unique & clearly ran with love. We were greeted by Edson who was very friendly & helpful throughout our stay. Upon arrival he offered us a complimentary drink and shared one with us trading a number of pleasantries. Our room was a lovely large sized room, it was within the basement and had a sky light as opposed to a window. The lack of window was not an issue as the room had a make believe window showing a beautiful sea with forest that lit up lovely in the night with a backlight. We had tea and coffee facilities with our own bathroom with bath and shower, dining table, four poster bed, sofa and also coffee machine. The room decor was beautiful and took on a very safari looking theme, really relaxing. Breakfast was self service up until as late as 11:30 and stocked with plenty of items, more continental based, but lots of eggs, ham, bread, cereals, juices, fruit & cheeses. The owners were away having what appears from how this place is ran, a well deserved break. The location is perfect just a few minutes walk from central station and easy to find. This is my 4th visit to Amsterdam and first to the Barangay, I won't stay anywhere else in the future. Thank you for helping make my anniversary special and for fantastic service & welcome, see you again soon!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to B&B Barangay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Barangay

Address: Droogbak 15 | Black Bell Only, 1013 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Barangay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning B&B. Your friendly tropical hide-away in the Heart of Amsterdam less than 5 minute leisurely walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station. Almost all tourist attractions are literally just around the corner. The best location to explore the city and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your B&B Barangay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Barangay
b&b Barangay Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Barangay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;