We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, Amsterdam 1018 VL, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Flying Pancake and had a great stay. I booked the FP as part of a birthday weekend away for myself and my Wife.

In case you are wondering where exactly the FP is located, it is a 5 minute walk from the Skinny Bridge and a 2 minute walk from Artis Zoo. To get to the FP from the airport we took the train which costs €3.90 a ticket and then took a tram from the Central Station. The tram took about 10 minutes and drops you at the end of the road. If you feel up to the walk, it will take about 20 minutes to walk dependent on how heavy your bags are and how many sights you take in along the way.

We stayed in the Captains Suite and Claudia was home to meet us on our arrival. I had a few e-mails backward and forwards with Claudia and always receive a reply with the information that I requested. I think I'm right in saying that Claudia works away from home, so at times responses are not immediate but were always waiting for me when I got up in the morning, which for me was more than acceptable.

The room itself was very large and would meet the requirement of even the most critical of American guests, who I know expect large rooms when travelling. There are lots of facilities in the room including Bang and Olufsen TV's and IPod docking stations, along with an amazing bathroom with steam room shower.

I have read some reviews that complain about location and the fact that you are not located close by to anything. All I would say to that, is get a good tour book, lonely planet do an excellent pocket guide which includes a map and that way you will see how close you are located to some amazing parts and sights of Amsterdam. Myself and my wife walked everywhere and never found location an issue. You can be by the harbour side with it's science museums within a 10 minute walk, the Red Light district was a 15 minute walk and other areas around the southern canal belt were even closer. As mentioned earlier, the Skinny Bridge is a 5 minute walk away, located on the same road as the FP.

We loved it and would highly recommend the FP. Book it, if you want a nice comfortable place to stay in a quiet street in an amazing city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!
Living in the ground floor apartment of The Flying Pancake ourselves, I totally agree with your comments about our location in the city centre. We are so nearby many great museums, restaurants, shops and other places of interest, which can easily be reached on foot in minutes.
However our street is nice and quiet, you do not hear the pubs, the trams and the traffic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
98
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Flying Pancake was a great place to stay for a weekend break in Amsterdam. We had the Cook suite up at the top of the house; over 2 floors which was beautiful. The room had loads of facilities. The little kitchen had a great coffee maker; there was a range of teas. We got a list to choose our breakfast which was delivered to outside our door each morning and then we enjoyed a relaxed meal in our suite. TV, great music selection, selection of complementary drinks. Very convenient for tram and an easy walk in to the Niewemarkt and the Western Canal ring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Flying Pancake during our stay in Amsterdam. Claudia was very accommodating and gave good directions from the central station as well as good restaurant information. Our room was very well equipped with everything we needed. We had 24 hour coffee or tea available and the room was divided into a sleeping area, sitting area and breakfast area. The shower and bathroom area was outstanding. The steam shower is a do not miss. The music system is very good and the selections of CDs is good. The room was very clean with lots of room to hang things up and places for our suitcases. The beds were comfortable, however, they creak when you roll over. The breakfast is delivered right out side your door with your order, which you fill out the night before. The Pancake is a little out of the main stream of things, but not a bad walk. Also a tram stop is just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a return to one of my favourite cities and staying in the Captain's Suite at The Flying Pancake, made it feel like a cosy, welcome home cuddle.

Prior to arrival, arrangements and payments were handled smoothly and efficiently. We were able to confirm our arrival time thus ensuring that Claudia was available to greet us.

As others have stated in previous reviews, yes, the location isn't directly on a canal and that is why we booked. With the Magere Brug nearby, it is a quick stroll to the nearby and lively Rembrandtplein, a plethora of eateries on Utrechtsestraat or the picturesque houses along Prinsengracht. Or walk up to Waterlooplein to catch the Tram or Metro to Centraal Station.

It was a treat to be able to laze on the sofa with the french windows open, listening to a selection of music or watching a TV. Much more preferable to noisy canal tours. For your convenience, there is an i-pod docking station, a CD player plus a DVD player if you don't want to venture out.

Wi-Fi was available thoughout our stay and the breakfast was substantial enough to set us up for our days of adventuring. Upon our return, it was a treat to try out the steam room. Bliss!

Would we book again? Yes!

Room Tip: This is five storey building built in 1730, so expect steep stairs (which is part of the charm) to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I spent our first two nights in Amsterdam at the Flying Pancake. Claudia was extraordinarily helpful from the moment that we made our reservations through checkout. The suite is spacious and the breakfast (delivered in a basket each morning) was the best we had on our vacation. While the property itself is off the beaten path (and therefore quiet at night), it is only a short walk to bustling main streets. A tram stop is also located across the street. If we return to Amsterdam, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was a good location, we felt as thought we were staying in Amsterdam not just in the tourist section.

we found the small touches were missing. We arrived at pm to drop off bags and said we would be back before dinner and we were assured the room would be cleaned and refreshed for us.

We couldn't notice any difference with the room, no milk, no soap, no firewood.

We were a little disappointed with small touched in there being no firewood as we had really looked forward to the fire on the one night wed assigned to being our stay in evening. (after we were explained it wasn't included. which should have been explained. and at $145 euro a night you'd think it would be included). Coffee machine which looked great, didnt work :( there was a cotton tip container with no cotton tips, small touches like this were unfortunately noticeable.

Otherwise we were happy with breakfast and our overall stay.

Room Tip: great couples room, lovely lay out and great to sit with the french windows open on the couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived around mid-day and the apartment wasn't ready but we was able to drop our bags off in the lounge area next door to the apartment. We asked what time the apartment would be ready and was told house keeping should have been by four o clock. We went back to the apartment around five o clock and it had been cleaned but our bags had been left in the lounge area next door, which was locked, so we called the lady looking after us and within ten minutes we had our bags.

We only took hand luggage so did not pack a travel iron, past reviews had said there was everything you could need there so we just assumed there would be an ironing board and iron but there wasn't unfortunately, We did ask for an ironing board and iron but the lady looking after said she only had a big steam iron, she did kindly offer to do some ironing for us, but we felt we couldn't ask this of her.

After two nights we requested fresh towels and more toilet roll, and we did receive these, but it would have been better if these items were stockpiled in the apartment incase you need these before you manage to request them.

The apartment was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable, but we was a bit suprised that there were some stains on the sofa and the floor cushions did not look like they had been cleaned for awhile. This is only a minor thing but it is something that we noticed and did not expect for the price of the accomodation.

Breakfast is adequate and when we had croissants and cakes these were still warm so that was nice.

The bathroom was lovely, with nice shower and steam room so this is good but the sinks are looking a little tired.

There is a good collection of DVD's available to watch.

We enloyed our holiday and it was a nice place to stay but we think it could have been a bit better considering the rate of 145 euros night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, Amsterdam 1018 VL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list