We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good, but could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Save
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #49 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leigh on Sea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overall good, but could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived around mid-day and the apartment wasn't ready but we was able to drop our bags off in the lounge area next door to the apartment. We asked what time the apartment would be ready and was told house keeping should have been by four o clock. We went back to the apartment around five o clock and it had been cleaned but our bags had been left in the lounge area next door, which was locked, so we called the lady looking after us and within ten minutes we had our bags.

We only took hand luggage so did not pack a travel iron, past reviews had said there was everything you could need there so we just assumed there would be an ironing board and iron but there wasn't unfortunately, We did ask for an ironing board and iron but the lady looking after said she only had a big steam iron, she did kindly offer to do some ironing for us, but we felt we couldn't ask this of her.

After two nights we requested fresh towels and more toilet roll, and we did receive these, but it would have been better if these items were stockpiled in the apartment incase you need these before you manage to request them.

The apartment was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable, but we was a bit suprised that there were some stains on the sofa and the floor cushions did not look like they had been cleaned for awhile. This is only a minor thing but it is something that we noticed and did not expect for the price of the accomodation.

Breakfast is adequate and when we had croissants and cakes these were still warm so that was nice.

The bathroom was lovely, with nice shower and steam room so this is good but the sinks are looking a little tired.

There is a good collection of DVD's available to watch.

We enloyed our holiday and it was a nice place to stay but we think it could have been a bit better considering the rate of 145 euros night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
104
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam for a professional meeting, but asked my husband to join me and we stayed also for the week end. We were very lucky to choose the Flying Pancake. The neighbourhood is clearly the best option if you want to stay near the center of the town. The building is a charming typical Dutch house. The ground and first floor is used as residence by the owners and the 3rd and 4th floor are two separate apartments for the guests. We chose the Cook's suite, with a nice speeping area in the attic and a large living space. Breakfast was great, served in time in a nice basket, which was left out of our door. The stairwell leading to the room is narrow, but if you know beforehand and do not bring large luggage, this will only add to the overall charm. Claudia, the manager, is an excellent host, calm and relaxed and very helpful in all aspects both during the reservation procedure, and during our stay. I owe her this review, for her contribution to a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, we booked a long weekend stay.

We weren't disappointed; the owner Claudia was very welcoming and happy to leave us undisturbed to enjoy our break.

The house and room were superbly appointed and decorated - we particularly enjoyed the steam cabinet!

A stay is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in the cook's suite, and I only wish that it was for longer! The location is perfect, in a quiet and safe area, only 5 minutes walk to a metro which takes you right into the city centre. Claudia was the perfect host; extremely helpful and welcoming and showed us around the amazing suite. All the facilities you could need were there, and the steam shower was a particular favourite, great for relaxing in after a day exploring Amsterdam! The small details such as a wide selection of dvd's, magazines and cd's, chocolates and fresh flowers made the room even more inviting and homely. It was our first stay in Amsterdam, and we will undoubtedly be returning, and will most definitely stay at the Flying Pancake again. I would go as far as to say it is better than any hotel/b&b I have ever stayed in and would not hestitate recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Cook's suite is like having your own little home with a bedroom on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in the cooks suite on the same weekend as the guests in the previous review. Unlike the other guests we had a fantastic stay! When we arrived in snowy conditions we were welcomed by Claudia and her beautiful dog. We were given a full walk through of our room with a quick and easy demonstration of the rooms facilities.( lights, coffee machine, steam room) We were then handed our request sheets for our breakfast choices... Which were fantastic! Our breakfast arrived every morning in a hamper basket which was left outside our room for collection. We were really pleased with the location with its easy tram and metro connections near by and short walking distance to the heart of the city. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we loved it! On the 2nd day we met Yohann who was happy to chat and guide us in the right direction of the sites we wanted to see that day. Overall we had a great stay at the flying pancake and are already planning a return visit in the summer. Thank you to Claudia & Yohann for making our first trip to Amsterdam a very pleasurable one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We waited in the cold (-1 ) on the doorstep for 10 mins before we were let in. Room v nice but no sink in kitchen. Was told dirty stuff would be taken away and washed and returned - but it wasn't. Washed up in bathroom.
Very draughty ( snowing) so room cold when we got there ( radiators hardly on) abd didnt hold heat - though log fire was lovely. Breakfast arrived over an hour late on first day- id gone to get some from local coffee shop as had given up. other residents said they had only got breakfast on one day out of 4 staying there.
I deducted breakfast money from the bill but it was poor value

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
At The Flying Pancake we take our customer satisfaction very serious. That is why I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.
However I do feel I have put your review into some perspective.
On the day of your arrival you told us on the phone, that you would arrive between 6:30 pm and 6:45 pm. When Yohann arrived at The Flying Pancake at 6:15 pm to be in time to welcome you, it turned out that you had already arrived earlier then you had planned yourself. You told Yohann this was not a problem as you had only arrived one minute before he did.
After your breakfast Yohann had put your dishes in the dishwasher in your room and started the program.
Upon your arrival Yohann had explained you, that you could select the room temperature of your liking yourself. The guests can regulate it in their own room.
It is true that Yohann served your breakfast on your first morning too late. To apologize for that he offered you a bottle of wine and indeed you did not pay the full amount for your stay, to cover for this. Once more my apologies that the breakfast was late and for the inconvenience this has caused on your part.
I am sorry to say, but your comment about the other guests is not correct. They had ordered breakfast for three days, and they received it all these three days. Upon check out they told Yohann that they had enjoyed their stay!
Yohann was working at The Flying Pancake during the week, that I was working at our other B&B in France myself. He has done this before, to the satisfaction of the guests he cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even though this was our first trip to Amsterdam the Cooks Suite was such a comfortable place to be we were back early at night to make the most of its facilities. We bought beers locally and takeaways and watched DVDs and listened to CDs from the interesting selection, although like other reviewers we couldn't get the hang of the lighting system.
We read other reviews and so took two smaller cases rather than one large, although not all the flights of stairs are too steep (44 to room) and it wasn't a problem.
Location is good and an easy tram ride into the centre and only 10 min. walk to the Skinny Bridge over the Amstel. We also walked to the brewery bar at the windmill in only 20 mins.
Although Claudia was away while we were there we were very well looked after by Bronwyn who made us an excellent breakfast each morning and gave us lots of information.
The local area's good with some restaurants and bars close by and a few shops.
A great first trip and hopefully we'll be back to the FP soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the suite and its facilities and that you were well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.