We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

On the recommendation of a friend, we booked a long weekend stay.

We weren't disappointed; the owner Claudia was very welcoming and happy to leave us undisturbed to enjoy our break.

The house and room were superbly appointed and decorated - we particularly enjoyed the steam cabinet!

A stay is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    16
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
98
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in the cook's suite, and I only wish that it was for longer! The location is perfect, in a quiet and safe area, only 5 minutes walk to a metro which takes you right into the city centre. Claudia was the perfect host; extremely helpful and welcoming and showed us around the amazing suite. All the facilities you could need were there, and the steam shower was a particular favourite, great for relaxing in after a day exploring Amsterdam! The small details such as a wide selection of dvd's, magazines and cd's, chocolates and fresh flowers made the room even more inviting and homely. It was our first stay in Amsterdam, and we will undoubtedly be returning, and will most definitely stay at the Flying Pancake again. I would go as far as to say it is better than any hotel/b&b I have ever stayed in and would not hestitate recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Cook's suite is like having your own little home with a bedroom on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights in the cooks suite on the same weekend as the guests in the previous review. Unlike the other guests we had a fantastic stay! When we arrived in snowy conditions we were welcomed by Claudia and her beautiful dog. We were given a full walk through of our room with a quick and easy demonstration of the rooms facilities.( lights, coffee machine, steam room) We were then handed our request sheets for our breakfast choices... Which were fantastic! Our breakfast arrived every morning in a hamper basket which was left outside our room for collection. We were really pleased with the location with its easy tram and metro connections near by and short walking distance to the heart of the city. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we loved it! On the 2nd day we met Yohann who was happy to chat and guide us in the right direction of the sites we wanted to see that day. Overall we had a great stay at the flying pancake and are already planning a return visit in the summer. Thank you to Claudia & Yohann for making our first trip to Amsterdam a very pleasurable one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We waited in the cold (-1 ) on the doorstep for 10 mins before we were let in. Room v nice but no sink in kitchen. Was told dirty stuff would be taken away and washed and returned - but it wasn't. Washed up in bathroom.
Very draughty ( snowing) so room cold when we got there ( radiators hardly on) abd didnt hold heat - though log fire was lovely. Breakfast arrived over an hour late on first day- id gone to get some from local coffee shop as had given up. other residents said they had only got breakfast on one day out of 4 staying there.
I deducted breakfast money from the bill but it was poor value

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
At The Flying Pancake we take our customer satisfaction very serious. That is why I am very sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.
However I do feel I have put your review into some perspective.
On the day of your arrival you told us on the phone, that you would arrive between 6:30 pm and 6:45 pm. When Yohann arrived at The Flying Pancake at 6:15 pm to be in time to welcome you, it turned out that you had already arrived earlier then you had planned yourself. You told Yohann this was not a problem as you had only arrived one minute before he did.
After your breakfast Yohann had put your dishes in the dishwasher in your room and started the program.
Upon your arrival Yohann had explained you, that you could select the room temperature of your liking yourself. The guests can regulate it in their own room.
It is true that Yohann served your breakfast on your first morning too late. To apologize for that he offered you a bottle of wine and indeed you did not pay the full amount for your stay, to cover for this. Once more my apologies that the breakfast was late and for the inconvenience this has caused on your part.
I am sorry to say, but your comment about the other guests is not correct. They had ordered breakfast for three days, and they received it all these three days. Upon check out they told Yohann that they had enjoyed their stay!
Yohann was working at The Flying Pancake during the week, that I was working at our other B&B in France myself. He has done this before, to the satisfaction of the guests he cared for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even though this was our first trip to Amsterdam the Cooks Suite was such a comfortable place to be we were back early at night to make the most of its facilities. We bought beers locally and takeaways and watched DVDs and listened to CDs from the interesting selection, although like other reviewers we couldn't get the hang of the lighting system.
We read other reviews and so took two smaller cases rather than one large, although not all the flights of stairs are too steep (44 to room) and it wasn't a problem.
Location is good and an easy tram ride into the centre and only 10 min. walk to the Skinny Bridge over the Amstel. We also walked to the brewery bar at the windmill in only 20 mins.
Although Claudia was away while we were there we were very well looked after by Bronwyn who made us an excellent breakfast each morning and gave us lots of information.
The local area's good with some restaurants and bars close by and a few shops.
A great first trip and hopefully we'll be back to the FP soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the suite and its facilities and that you were well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is perfect - in a quiet residential street but only a short tram ride away from the centre. Breakfast is delicious and delivered in a cute wicker basket outside the room door - you can select what you would like the day before. We stayed in the loft apartment, which is roomy, relaxing and very well designed.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about the breakfast!
With pleasure I get up early everyday in order to prepare everything fresh for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantasic experience staying at this gorgeous b&b in Easter 2012.
The upstairs apartment where we stayed was fantastica thoughout with a loft bed, fireplace, dvds, coffee machine, snacks... and the best part... a wonderful steam shower.
The breakfast in the morning was done beautifully. Yummy and gorgeous presentation.
The only thing I reckon Claudia could add would be some free to use old school Amsterdam bikes! The mountain bikes provided weren't very exciting. But this is just a tiny thing.
Honestly, I would go back to this place and recommend to everyone I know.
Claudia is running a great B&B with fantastic style, service and charm.
Clare (visited March 2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review, and for your idea about the bikes!
I'll definitely look into it for next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list