We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chill-out place in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Save
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great chill-out place in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Even though this was our first trip to Amsterdam the Cooks Suite was such a comfortable place to be we were back early at night to make the most of its facilities. We bought beers locally and takeaways and watched DVDs and listened to CDs from the interesting selection, although like other reviewers we couldn't get the hang of the lighting system.
We read other reviews and so took two smaller cases rather than one large, although not all the flights of stairs are too steep (44 to room) and it wasn't a problem.
Location is good and an easy tram ride into the centre and only 10 min. walk to the Skinny Bridge over the Amstel. We also walked to the brewery bar at the windmill in only 20 mins.
Although Claudia was away while we were there we were very well looked after by Bronwyn who made us an excellent breakfast each morning and gave us lots of information.
The local area's good with some restaurants and bars close by and a few shops.
A great first trip and hopefully we'll be back to the FP soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay, the suite and its facilities and that you were well looked after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
104
15
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location is perfect - in a quiet residential street but only a short tram ride away from the centre. Breakfast is delicious and delivered in a cute wicker basket outside the room door - you can select what you would like the day before. We stayed in the loft apartment, which is roomy, relaxing and very well designed.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your compliments about the breakfast!
With pleasure I get up early everyday in order to prepare everything fresh for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantasic experience staying at this gorgeous b&b in Easter 2012.
The upstairs apartment where we stayed was fantastica thoughout with a loft bed, fireplace, dvds, coffee machine, snacks... and the best part... a wonderful steam shower.
The breakfast in the morning was done beautifully. Yummy and gorgeous presentation.
The only thing I reckon Claudia could add would be some free to use old school Amsterdam bikes! The mountain bikes provided weren't very exciting. But this is just a tiny thing.
Honestly, I would go back to this place and recommend to everyone I know.
Claudia is running a great B&B with fantastic style, service and charm.
Clare (visited March 2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review, and for your idea about the bikes!
I'll definitely look into it for next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Claudia was an excellent hostess and we immediately felt at home. We had The Captain's Room and it was more than comfortable with fresh flowers in the room (Yellow Tulips) and in the bathroom (peonies) and a stocked kitchen, cappucino machine and liquers on the house. We didn't spend much time there to utilise the TV, DVD's books and music. Enjoyed the breakfast which was served in a basket left at our door. The Flying Pancake is very conveniently placed for public transport and within walking distance of several must see places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much.
Hope to have you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Flying Pancake is even better than the website indicates, it is conveniently located near the city centre, museums, Metro, resdtuarants etc. Spacious, comfortable suite with above average facilities - steam bath, DVD player, MP3 docking station, coffee machine etc supplemented by snacks and drinks. A substantial breakfast is supplied - "Not your average continental one". Hostess Claudia is gracious, attentive and very helpful.
This is a superior B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much!
We do our best to have all our guests leave just as happy after their stay at The Flying Pancake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mâcon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed the place !

- Our host was very welcoming
- it was cosy and we felt like home with the Cd's, the DVD's and the little things to drink/eat
- we loved the concept of breakfast : a menu to pick your favorites and a basket waiting behind the door
- we also enjoyed the sauna

However, a door might be good to seperate the bathroom.

I would definitely recommend that place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! Happy to read that you enjoyed The Flying Pancake.
We are in the process of trying to find two antique shutter doors, that can be placed at the entrance of the bathroom, while maintaining the modern and light lay-out of the Cook's suite.
For all Tripadvisor readers: the Captain's suite has a more traditional lay-out with a separate bathroom in the suite, with a door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A recent short stay at the Captain's suite. Found it spacious, clean, and a comfy place to wear off my jet lag. Claudia is friendly and the Pancake is reasonably located to the nearest metro stop (7 mins brisk walk). There are bars and restaurants only a couple of mins away and an assortment of liqueur + spirits already stocked up in the suite just in case anyone fancies a nightcap, or two.

The lighting system was a bit too clever for me as had more functions on the remote than on my phone. The stairs can be tricky to navigate with luggage but all-in-all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review!
True, our lighting system is radiographic controlled and can be used for switching "on" and "off" as well as "more dim" and "more bright" :-)
Hoping to have you as our guest again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.