We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B - Book it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Save
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing B&B - Book it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantasic experience staying at this gorgeous b&b in Easter 2012.
The upstairs apartment where we stayed was fantastica thoughout with a loft bed, fireplace, dvds, coffee machine, snacks... and the best part... a wonderful steam shower.
The breakfast in the morning was done beautifully. Yummy and gorgeous presentation.
The only thing I reckon Claudia could add would be some free to use old school Amsterdam bikes! The mountain bikes provided weren't very exciting. But this is just a tiny thing.
Honestly, I would go back to this place and recommend to everyone I know.
Claudia is running a great B&B with fantastic style, service and charm.
Clare (visited March 2012)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your great review, and for your idea about the bikes!
I'll definitely look into it for next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
109
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Claudia was an excellent hostess and we immediately felt at home. We had The Captain's Room and it was more than comfortable with fresh flowers in the room (Yellow Tulips) and in the bathroom (peonies) and a stocked kitchen, cappucino machine and liquers on the house. We didn't spend much time there to utilise the TV, DVD's books and music. Enjoyed the breakfast which was served in a basket left at our door. The Flying Pancake is very conveniently placed for public transport and within walking distance of several must see places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much.
Hope to have you as our guests again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Flying Pancake is even better than the website indicates, it is conveniently located near the city centre, museums, Metro, resdtuarants etc. Spacious, comfortable suite with above average facilities - steam bath, DVD player, MP3 docking station, coffee machine etc supplemented by snacks and drinks. A substantial breakfast is supplied - "Not your average continental one". Hostess Claudia is gracious, attentive and very helpful.
This is a superior B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much!
We do our best to have all our guests leave just as happy after their stay at The Flying Pancake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mâcon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really enjoyed the place !

- Our host was very welcoming
- it was cosy and we felt like home with the Cd's, the DVD's and the little things to drink/eat
- we loved the concept of breakfast : a menu to pick your favorites and a basket waiting behind the door
- we also enjoyed the sauna

However, a door might be good to seperate the bathroom.

I would definitely recommend that place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! Happy to read that you enjoyed The Flying Pancake.
We are in the process of trying to find two antique shutter doors, that can be placed at the entrance of the bathroom, while maintaining the modern and light lay-out of the Cook's suite.
For all Tripadvisor readers: the Captain's suite has a more traditional lay-out with a separate bathroom in the suite, with a door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A recent short stay at the Captain's suite. Found it spacious, clean, and a comfy place to wear off my jet lag. Claudia is friendly and the Pancake is reasonably located to the nearest metro stop (7 mins brisk walk). There are bars and restaurants only a couple of mins away and an assortment of liqueur + spirits already stocked up in the suite just in case anyone fancies a nightcap, or two.

The lighting system was a bit too clever for me as had more functions on the remote than on my phone. The stairs can be tricky to navigate with luggage but all-in-all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your review!
True, our lighting system is radiographic controlled and can be used for switching "on" and "off" as well as "more dim" and "more bright" :-)
Hoping to have you as our guest again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a cool apartment to start our European vacation! We relaxed in our huge room, complete with a living area, TV, stereo, travel books, efficiency kitchen, modern clean bathroom and comfortable master bed loft. The steam bath cured our jet lag. Claudia's breakfasts are delivered in a cute basket and have lots of variety. I love her Euro coffee maker and milk steamer. The third floor suite is a bit of a struggle up some steep stairs, but Claudia helped us with luggage. Good location, near attractions, but also very conventient via bus and train to airport. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your great review! Hope you are enjoying the other European destinations of your trip now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend break in Amsterdam staying at the Flying Pancake. There were 3 in our group - and the Captains suite was perfect, with plenty room for an extra bed.
The house is full of character, a real classic Dutch style, and beautifully furnished with all mod-cons - coffee maker, wifi, DVD player, ipod dock and of course the steam room!
Great location on nice quiet road, not far to walk to the town centre, or tram stop.
Claudia was a great host.
Will definitely stay again on our next trip to Amsterdam!
Thank you Claudia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlyingPancake, Owner at The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Looking forward to have you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Stout & Co Amsterdam
Stout & Co Amsterdam
#32 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Plantage & the East
TownHouse-Inn
TownHouse-Inn
#28 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#39 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Centrum
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#37 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Prinsenstede Lodging Amsterdam
#50 of 321 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.