We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flying Pancake - A perfect combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Save
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€27 off room rate
Ranked #50 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Flying Pancake - A perfect combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The Flying Pancake apartments provide space to relax and sleep well, combined with a custom designed and delivered breakfast. The freedom this brings and the quality of the accomodation, is a real treat. The location is very pleasant with good walks all around, and a good stroll into town.

Amsterdam is a wonderful city, even if it was freezing cold on this visit. The city has a real buzz to it, the people are friendly, and there are plenty of decent visitors who are happy to share a drink, a laugh and a banter in a sports bar.

The accomodation was a great place to head back to, as it was warm and comfortable, very well stocked with reasonable priced drink and snacks. The nearest supermarkets also provided good food, to store in the fridge, for a decent supper after a hard night of exploring the pubs and coffeeshops.

Room Tip: These rooms offer charm, luxury and freedom. They are not designed for people who can't handle s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
104
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

If you plan to visit Amsterdam, I would recommend you to stay at the Flying Pancake. We have spent 2 nights there and it was just wonderful! Claudia, the owner, is very kind and helpful and does everything to make your stay 100% superb! The prices are moderate and the rooms are 100% worth the money!

Room Tip: Any of the room is great, we have seen them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed here in June for 4 nights based on the great reviews listed below. As we travelled by train we considered taking a taxi with our luggage from Central Station but found the price quoted was ridiculous so we opted for the tram. This took a bit of finding but after asking a tourist info bod we found the correct tram stop and within minutes Tram 9 arrived and we hopped on. We bought an hour's pass which was very reasonable and it was very easy to figure out which stop we needed. We hopped off at 'Plantage' and I'd already Google-mapped the walk from Plantage stop to the B&B which helped matters. There is a cash ATM on this road near the tram stop - this is the closest to the B&B - it took maybe 6 or 7 minutes' walk to reach the Flying Pancake just 2 streets away.
We were met by Claudia and shown to our room in the Cook's Suite which we'd opted for as we liked the idea of a bedroom away from the living space for quietness. I wasn't sure what to expect with the previous reviews regarding the stairs as I do have a knee injury. However, the stairs weren't too bad - there were a couple of ordinary flights of stairs then the final stairs were very narrow. The stairs twist in a curve until the steps become very thin indeed so you find yourself having to walk sideways in a sense but there are good bannisters and we mastered the clambering easily, even with luggage.
The room is larger than appears in the photos and very well equipped with comfy chairs and hi-fi, TV with a pile of mainstream DVDs, a good sized dining table and chairs, a little side table with complementary spirits and a collection of books and magazines.
In the centre of the room runs the staircase up to the attic bedroom. This is quite steep too but again quite managable with the bannisters either side so not an issue. The bedroom has just the bed in it and a window which opens and a lamp - it was perfectly comfortable.
The kitchen area is great - the coffee machine is easy to use after a lesson from Claudia, the dishwasher is handy, there are all kinds of different flavoured teas available and a kettle and microwave. The fridge was full of beer and cold drinks which were reasonably priced and there were some complimentary items such as peanuts and nibbles and milk.
The bathroom opens on to the kitchen area without a door but it does have a little corridor a few feet long. We brought the folding screen up the stairs which stands by the apartment door and used this to close off the bathroom which was fine and afforded us some privacy. The bathroom is a good size with 2 large sinks and a large counter running the length of the back window which overlooks the back gardens of the street. Behind one wall in the bathroom is a clothes rack which is used as a wardrobe and a chest of drawers and sufficient space to store suitcases etc. The steamroom was easy to use and just lovely - I couldn't stay out of it!
There is some damage to the floorboards in the kitchen area which Claudia advised was due to a previous leak - as the apartment was floored with very good wood it was going to take a while to replace. It was quite easy to trip over the wood as it was raised up in a little hill so I needed to leave a scarf on the floor to remind myself not to trip!
Breakfast was wonderful - we are very late risers so it was great just to pick the basket up from outside the apartment door whenever we felt like it. The juice was freshly squeezed, the eggs were soft or hard depending on what we ordered and we chose from yogurt and rolls and cheeses and cereal - it was filling and fresh and very good accompanied with the freshly brewed coffee from the machine on the wall.
The apartment can become quite hot in the sun but there are little windows either side of the eaves which can be opened fully and do make a difference.
The location is excellent. Well within walking distance of the city centre but it's well worth exploring Nieuwe Kerkstraat itself which is where the Pancake is nestled. If you continue to walk up the street, walk under the ugly office buildings there is a good sized supermarket on the left down the busy road. If you cross the crossroads to the next bit of Nieuwe Kerkstraat you will reach a Spar corner shop which is handy for beer, bread, cigarettes, snacks, ready meals, drinks etc and isn't too pricey. Slightly further up and across the road is a little shop with fruit and veg outside - this has a huge array of fresh and frozen vegetarian products and health food,fresh wholmeal bread and an interesting selection of very different foods at very reasonable prices. Continue walking down and you will come to the famous Magere Brug or "skinny bridge". Cross the bridge and the road becomes Kerkstraat - if you continue up here you will reach a crossroads again with a cash ATM and a thriving little area of interesting shops and bars away from the city centre, significantly cheaper and very friendly.
We can heartily recommend a good 40 minute walk from the FP well away from the city centre to a great Indonesian restaurant called Dèsa (Ceintuurbaan 103, 1072 EX Amsterdam). We had the vegetarian rice table here and it was just lovely - 20 different dishes and very, very reasonable for such a warm, friendly little family-run restaurant.
We loved the Flying Pancake and will definitely stay here again when we return to the Dam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

There are two equal suites in Flying Pancake - Captain and Cook. The Cook is a real duplex, with king size bed upstairs, and the Captain is a huge one-floor room. I love both.

Room Tip: Tha Cook is better for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

To me the main advantage of this B&B is the location: far away from the center to avoid noise and close enough by tram.
Service has been perfect, especially the breakfast delivered every morning in a basket.

Claudia was a very nice host, always ready to give you some advice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great place to stay for a B & B. We loved our stay there. The room was big and stocked with so much stuff. Claudia thought of a lot of things to make sure our stay was perfect.
Breakfast in a basket by the door in the morning was great! When we wanted to get up...we could get it and eat.
It is a little farther away from most of the sites in Amsterdam but there is a Metro or tram very close by. It was VERY quite...which was nice! I hate being in the middle of everything and hearing all the people walking and talking...you won't hear anything! Relaxing
You will be so happy to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely room, friendly helpful service from Claudia and well-placed to explore the town. Bed is cosy and comfortable. Room is well equipped with sofa, breakfast table, fridge, coffee maker, DVD player with tons of DVDs, stereo with iPod dock, big pile of guidebooks. It's worth knowing that the stairs are quite steep and narrow (both rooms are upstairs, we were in the top one). Bathroom and shower/steam room are lovely... if you don't mind a bathroom with no door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.