We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam
Save Saved
You added The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€15 off room rate
Ranked #49 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Trabuco Canyon, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great place to stay for a B & B. We loved our stay there. The room was big and stocked with so much stuff. Claudia thought of a lot of things to make sure our stay was perfect.
Breakfast in a basket by the door in the morning was great! When we wanted to get up...we could get it and eat.
It is a little farther away from most of the sites in Amsterdam but there is a Metro or tram very close by. It was VERY quite...which was nice! I hate being in the middle of everything and hearing all the people walking and talking...you won't hear anything! Relaxing
You will be so happy to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
101
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Lovely room, friendly helpful service from Claudia and well-placed to explore the town. Bed is cosy and comfortable. Room is well equipped with sofa, breakfast table, fridge, coffee maker, DVD player with tons of DVDs, stereo with iPod dock, big pile of guidebooks. It's worth knowing that the stairs are quite steep and narrow (both rooms are upstairs, we were in the top one). Bathroom and shower/steam room are lovely... if you don't mind a bathroom with no door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Claudia is the best hostess and the home is lovely. It is spotlessly clean and very well located. For Americans, I have to note that there is no air conditioning but there is a floor fan and the windows open. We were comfortable there and would stay again in a minute. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the fresh juice. The restaurants recommended by Claudia were great also. The space was large and very comfortable. All in all, a great place to stay while in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in the Cook room which has a large sitting room and a bed in the gable above. I confirm what other reviewers have said: steep stairs, slight tripping hazard on warped floorboards, if that kind of thing would be a concern (didn't bother us). Great selection of DVDs, very spacious rooms, and a comfortable bed. Wifi worked well. We didn't use the steam room but the rain shower was brilliant. Coffee machine could have done with some instructions (you had to make your own coffee - the only warmed thing you could get for breakfast was an egg, due to the basket arrangement). Thanks to Cristina for letting us have cartons of milk for cereal rather than the little mini-coffee-milks.

One thing which was a little odd (for a prudish Englishwoman anyway) was that the bathroom had no door. You wouldn't be able to see your partner sitting on the loo, but I would have appreciated a door for noise/hygiene reasons.

Reasonable location - only about a 15 min walk down the street into the nice busting areas, 30 mins to the Jordaan area (though pavements and streets were full of obstacles - mainly bikes, some plants!). Very close to Botanic Gardens which is small but nice, with an amazing butterfly house.

The only other thing to beware of is the mosquitoes. There were only a few of them, but we were bitten every night. Bring mozzie repellant and antihistamines.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We spent our romantic weekend in a perfect B&B!
The Flying Pancake, the name is already a promise of joy, is close to the Hermitage Museum, in a very calm and silent area.
We were at the Captain Suite, a very large room doted with a bedroom, a cosy living room with fireplace, a kitchen and a super bathroom with mother of pearl tiles and steam bath included.
It looked like my house and we would have spent definitively more time on the couch watching the extensive cds available to watch, listening to music in between!
Cristina, the girl on duty, was extremely welcome, kind and full of suggestions.
The best idea: You order your breakfast the day before and it is delivered in a basket in front of your door the morning after!
Definitively a place where to stay when in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during our 1 month Europe trip and it was a perfect location to explore Amsterdam. Claudia is very helpful and our room was quirky modern and very spacious with separate kitchen, lounge, bathroom. Our shower was awesome, very large that also turned into a steam room. Great coffee machine, music, CD's, books. Breakfast is left in a cute basket at your door so no need to get out of bed. Claudia recommended two excellent restaurants. An Indian one which was nearby and Envy which was more pricey but excellent food and funky. Free WI FI

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed in the Flying Pancake for a long weekend while we were doing the Amsterdam marathon. In the run up to our stay, Claudia was extremely helpful in providing advice with directions to the B&B but also with regards to our race.

She was an extremely hospitable host and the B&B was a home from home. The area comprises a bedroom/kitchen/dining room/bathroom and is a spacious area with everything you need for a short stay. The interiors were quirky but stylish.

It's a fantastic location in the heart of Amsterdam and allows easy access to City transport to enable you to explore the city as much as you want. There are a selection of eateries and bars nearby too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Kerkstraat 153, 1018 VL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam we offer you the choice of two spacious suites: B&B the Business Class Way, in a monumental house from 1730 in the city centre of Amsterdam. Both suites have their own sleeping area, sitting area with fireplace, TV, CD, DVD, bathroom with shower and steam room, and a pantry with minibar, espresso machine, tea, microwave, plates and cups. Wireless internet is free of charge. At The Flying Pancake we have a bit of a legacy to live up to. It is not enough that you enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to have you thinking more along the lines of "I wish I could stay longer"... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Pancake B&B Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.