We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We first stayed at The Collector 4 years ago and this time and it felt like returning home. Karel is the perfect 'host' available when you need advice or want to chat but leaving you free to enjoy your beautifully appointed room. We had a lovely outlook onto our long balcony and into the trees. The very cute well stocked breakfast room/kitchen has everything you might want, Karel even provides fresh organic bread if you prefer. Everything is high quality - fresh fruits, cereals, mueslies, pancakes, yoghurts, cheeses, cold meats, jams, juices, chocolate, coffee & many teas.The eggs are from the hens in the garden! It is in a lovely neighborhood, architecture, trees, good eating & boutique shopping; perfect positioning near Museum Platz, the canals and Vongel Park, with buses and trams on the street outside (which connect direct to trains & airport), but we walked everywhere. Need some laundry done? No problem & no extra charge. This was best place we stayed in on our 5 week tour of Netherlands, Germany and France. Makes us want to visit Amsterdam a 3rd time!

Room Tip: We like the 2 back rooms for quiteness , balcony & garden outlook. But all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    35
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
179
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent a week in Amsterdam at this B&B. The owner was so helpful with directions, food suggestions...The room was great - well appointed with a lovely balcony overlooking the garden. The bathroom was modern and large with lots of counter space. The kitchen was well stocked, and remained so for the length of our stay. The location of the B&B was also great as it is close to the museum district and far from the irff raff and noise. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This B&B establishment is located a short walking distance from th Museums square, it is just opposite a tram stop and close to a stop of the airport bus. The owner Karel is very nice and helpful (my wife left her bag with her purse and smart phone on the train and he spent more than an hour with us calling the Amsterdam Centraal andthe German train company (BD), and then called again a couple of days later, unfortunately to no avail). There is a kitchen witha stocked up refrigerator so that not only that you can prepare your breakfast but also eat later on in the day. The only drawback is that the rooms are up a narrow staircase and you have to carry your luggage up by yourself. The rooms are covered with coellections of items Karel, the avid collector has collected and put on display, some of them quite charming.

Room Tip: Try to get a back room. The back rooms are quiet as they face the inside court, the one facing the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Wonderful place to stay in Amsterdam. Stayed for 4 nights in July 2014 in a large spacious en suite room with quick access to trams and buses to go to the Central station and very close to the museum square. Excellent in so far as the little kitchenette is well stocked and you are invited to help yourself to whatever you want for breakfast. This makes catering easy and you can buy food for lunch or dinner and keep it in the fridge. Karel, the owner is most helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Spotlessly clean and always most welcoming staff. HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a nice size with plenty of place to work on your computer and quiet once the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in May 2014. The location is perfect: a couple of blocks from the major museums of Amsterdam, a reasonably short walk from downtown but in a quiet neighborhood, right on the tram and bus lines to the airport and the train station. Our room was beautiful, with a shared balcony overlooking the back yard. Karel keeps the kitchen stocked with delicious food, and you can use the kitchen any time, which is much better than having to be there for breakfast at a certain hour. You can rent a bicycle or get your laundry done. Karel is very helpful. This place has a very warm, peaceful feel to it; highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at The Collector for 6 nights (28th April - 4th May) for our firt visit to Amsterdam. Sadly we didn't meet Karel as he was on vacation. However Fauzan was there to greet us on our arrival with a big smile. We didn't see much of him for the whole stay, as we had no reason to, but he was always available.

The room was the "Clock Room" at the front. Although overlooking the main road it wasn't noisy, and we used to sit on the balcony watching the world go by. An excellent asset to the room. The room itself was very large with en-suite bathroom which was a comfortable size, not small like other B&B's. I cannot remember the last time I have slept so well or for as long. The bed was so comfortable.

The location is excellent as others have said. A few minutes stroll and you are on the Museumplein, with the Concertbeouw and all the major museums. Outside The Collector is the tram stop, and just along the street is the bus stop for the Schiphol Airport Bus 197.

I think everything that can be said about The Collector has already been written, but feel free to contact me if you want any more info. I know people always say they will return to places, but with Amsterdam being such a fantastic city we definitely will be, and after this stay there is only one place we would stay. The Collector.

Room Tip: Karel works on a first come, first served basis, so enquire when you book. The front "Clock Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights in april of 2014. We had a large room w/ 2 beds as requested, private bathroom and wonderful breakfast treats. Lots of sunlight in our room and we had fresh flowers and fresh towels everyday. The room is quiet and we slept well. The tram and bus stops are right outside our door and we are within walking distance to everything.
Fauzin was very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast, in a large house dating from 1914, has well-appointed rooms, each with its own character in the style of the 20's. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. The decoration of his house, including the guestrooms, has been inspired by his collections: unique dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Bed And Breakfast
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collector Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.