We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights in april of 2014. We had a large room w/ 2 beds as requested, private bathroom and wonderful breakfast treats. Lots of sunlight in our room and we had fresh flowers and fresh towels everyday. The room is quiet and we slept well. The tram and bus stops are right outside our door and we are within walking distance to everything.
Fauzin was very nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
185
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

...nearby to Museum Plein. Karol does a really good job of making sure the things you want for breakfast are supplied. Our room was large and quiet and we slept well. Karol was helped us find the attractions and eateries for which we searched. I love good art and nowhere I have been was better than Holland....especially the Ryksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, but also including the Frans Hals Museum in Haarlem and the museum in Den Hague that contains Vermeer's "Girl with the Pearl Earring." We stayed here for 2 weeks in 2009, and tried to again last month. But alas, Karol runs such a comfortable "ship" that he was booked.

But nonetheless, we enjoyed Amsterdam very much again. The people of Amsterdam are very gracious to foreigners and especially to old guys. Wish is were not so far away.

Room Tip: Be sure to book in advance. The Collector is often full. PS the When did you travel slot did not le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here last year for 5 days in 2013. Lovely place with interesting "collections". Well- lit rooms, there were fresh tulips in my room every day! Fridge is well- stocked for breakfast. Breakfast is self- serve. Karel and Fauzan were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Amsterdam. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I thought it was a little pricey... even for Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you're tired of standard hotels, then Karel's B&B will definitely provide a change. As named, he collects all sorts of items from wooden shoes to miniature perfume bottles. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms even have wash clothes! Breakfast is do-it-yourself in a shared kitchen with all necessary food and cookware provided. The only drawback is a set of very steep stairs as all rooms are on the 2nd floor. They help with the luggage so it's only a problem if you can't climb stairs well. Karel was most helpful in directing to local restaurants, places to visit and how to use the local transportation. We had a great visit and would definitely stay again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was such a lovely spot. Surprisingly quiet on a busy street. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious by european standards. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to see, although don't forget your umbrella! Lives up to it's name as you will be surrounded by a uniquely displayed collection of assorted items. Loved the serve yourself style breakfast, which allowed for wonderful flexibility. There was an amazing assortment of fresh foods to choose from. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was in Amsterdam on a business trip. So I arrived late, later then expected and was out early.

Karel was very helpful and kind. I already stayed ,as a romantic couple, with Karel ten years ago and would recommend the place to every traveler. It is like staying at your dream home close to the heart of the city and the beautiful Vondelpark.

Glenn
Bed and Breakfast Quatre20cinq.be

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Excellent location near the museums. Loved the place. It is tastefully decorated. Karol was very easy to reach via email before the trip and very friendly and helpful while we were there. Breakfast is good and plentiful. I like the concept of self serve when you're ready to eat. The place is clean. The bed was big and comfortable. The steps are a bit steep but that wasn't an issue for us. Would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast, in a large house dating from 1914, has well-appointed rooms, each with its own character in the style of the 20's. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. The decoration of his house, including the guestrooms, has been inspired by his collections: unique dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam
The Collector Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collector Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.