We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compliments to The Collector” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Compliments to The Collector”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at The Collector during the Christmas period. Even though it is Winter Amsterdam was very busy and there were queues for most/all attractions. The Collector is about a 2 minute walk to the Museum Quarter and the 'I am sterdam' sign. There is a taxi rank on the same street outside the Opera House which was helpful. There is also a tram stop outside the front of The Collector. We had a light, airy room with a comfortable and good size bed. There was a lovely lookout over the gardens and their chickens.The kitchen is on the same level. The basic food provisions are provided and you cook your own. We enjoyed Dutch cheese on offer! Plus or minus, after the initial friendly greeting you come and go as you please without intereaction from the owner. It was kind of nice in the sense it felt like you had your own Amsterdam apartment. The room was very clean and serviced daily. We had a great stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    35
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
177
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Although I knew that the owner of the Collector keeps collections of unique things, I never quite expected to be amazed by what greeted my sight (apart from his ever-smiling helpful assistant!) upon entering his home. The display of Karel's collections blend in beautifully with the decor he has selected for each room. Such creative and artistically displayed decorations are very original and impressive! My family stayed in two spacious, lovely rooms that Karel very kindly provided for us during our 3-night stay. Apart from the decor, I would not hesitate to rate the clean, comfortable and cosy accommodation as excellent. The pretty and cosy kitchen was complete with a well-stocked refrigerator for you to choose between a full English or Continental breakfast or both! We felt so much at home as we could use the kitchen to eat our 'take-away' dinners too! The location is also strategic with the Rijks Museum, Van Gogh Museum and Vondelpark all within walking distance. The tram stops are also nearby. Although the owner was away, his assistant, Fauzan was most helpful, assisting us with useful information to make the last leg of our 3-week Europe holiday in Amsterdam truly memorable! Thank you, Karel and Fauzan!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for business purposes and felt right at home for the entire stay. The owner Karel is very friendly, but at the same time keeps a professional distance. The B&B is perfectly located and very cosy. The interior is clean, original and surprising. I will forever be grateful to the friend who recommended this place to me! In addition, an extra thumbs-up for the fresh flowers (tulips of course!) in the room! This B&B is perfect to every detail!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

How many places would open their door to you at 7:45am in the morning? Our flight was an early arrival and he did just that. Our "clock" bedroom was very comfortable. At one point we slept 12 hrs. Yikes! Sometimes it takes a long sleep to make up for a 9 hr time difference. We sleep with the window/doors open and it is noisy outside. I brought earplugs and it worked like a charm.

We didn't see Karel much over the 3 day stay but that was fine with us. The kitchen is stocked with all sorts of books, maps and other tourist info. This place is a great value with a great location for exploring the big "A".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Loved everything about this B & B, from the crowing rooster in the chicken shed in the lush, green courtyard to the interesting collections of musical instruments, barbie dolls and souvenir spoons. The red and white themed kitchen was well stocked each day with a good variety of items and we weren't restricted to specific breakfast times. The rooms were spacious, airy and tastefully decorated plus we had a balcony which connected our rooms. The location is excellent, a short walk to restaurants , canals and museums plus the convenience of the bus to and from Schipol Airport. High recommended,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For us, the Collector was ideally located, just down the block from Het Concertgebouw and the public bus from/to Schipol Airprort. We bought Museumkaarts and were a short walk from the newly renovated Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk and the Van Gogh museums. We also enjoyed walking to more distant neighborhoods.
Our room was spacious and clean, the bed extremely comfortable; bathroom and shower excellent. Our room and small balcony faced the street. We enjoyed seeing children en route to school and Amsterdamers cycling to work. With the windows closed, it was quiet. Other guests told us their rooms faced the garden.
Karel takes care to place beautiful fresh flowers in the common areas and rooms. We particularly enjoyed being able to make our own breakfasts on our own schedule. Karel keeps the kitchen stocked with fruit, vegetables, bread, cheese, eggs, cereals among other items and he asks you to tell him if there is something missing that he can provide. One day we met him at the local outdoor green market that sets up in the neighborhood every Saturday. When he learned that Andrew really enjoys cheeses, he bought one he especially wanted us to try and bring home with us.
We really felt comfortable at the Collector; Karel was accommodating but not intrusive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Karel makes Amsterdam feel like a private, unique experience every time I stay. I love the kitsch yet tasteful collections he integrates into the comfortable, spacious rooms. The kitchen is open so 'breakfast' is on your terms in a lovely, casual space as well as a place to grab a snack when you need it.

A great value & location- I'll never stay anywhere else.

We recommend Café Welling and L'Entrecôte et les Dames nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast, in a large house dating from 1914, has well-appointed rooms, each with its own character in the style of the 20's. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. The decoration of his house, including the guestrooms, has been inspired by his collections: unique dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam
The Collector Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collector Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list