We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Authentic Dutch Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Collector Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Collector Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Collector Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Authentic Dutch Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed here after reading other tripadvisor recommendations and had a wonderful time. Perfectly located away from the main touristy areas of Amsterdam but close to Vondelpark and the museum quarter, the Collector lived up to all expectations. The breakfasts were plentiful and included fresh fruit, excellent fruit toast and other breads, pancakes, meats, cheeses, yoghurts and cereals. The bedroom was enormous with a large and comfortable bed, balcony and very clean bathroom. The collections were very impressive, particularly the clogs lining the stairs. We would happily return again. A special thank you Karel for your generous hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    40
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
185
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Our stay at the Collector couldn't have been better! Karel was the ultimate host , from providing a lovely, homey , comfortable place to call our own to being available to help with surprising needs like needing a doctor! We were welcomed as if we had come home after a long trip instead of being a stopping place in between travel. Karel made himself available without being intrusive and yet seemed to know what we needed before we even did. The kitchen was charming, well stocked with our desires and a perfect place to just hang out in between sightseeing. The location was within walking distance to many museums, convenient to public transportation and near a picturesque canal with boats with a hop on hop off philosophy . We loved Amsterdam and hope to be back some day. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else but at the Collector with Karel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I just got back from this fine place on Monday. I stayed there from Oct. 14th to the 31st. I was in the front room with a comfortable bed. There was a view of the street and I enjoyed seeing the 16 tram going by outside my window. Karel, the informative and friendly owner was available for any questions I needed answered about Amsterdam. We had many nice talks in the well stocked kitchen he provides, over a good cup of coffee. His friendly assistant Fauzan was present much of the time to help keep the rooms spotlessly fresh and clean. The larder was full of wonderful cheeses and ham and everything one needs for a filling breakfast. He even had the American staple--peanut butter--available and fresh eggs from the chickens he keeps in his garden chicken house. It is located in a wonderful area of the city near the Concertgebouw, where I heard 2 brilliant concerts, and Vondalpark and the main museums. I look forward to many times of staying there in the years to com.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed at The Collector B&B for one night in October. We arrived at about lunchtime and our room was ready which was good. Lovely welcome from Karel and he showed us around the room, breakfast area etc. Asked if we had any requests for breakfast and he said he would get us bacon in for the next morning (which he did!).
The room was lovely, very spacious with a nice big bed, dressing table, balcony with a view of the garden and the chickens and lovely bathroom with shower.
The only downside to this B&B is that we would have liked to be a bit closer to the centre, but the tram stop is right outside so is still easy to get in and out. (It is handy for the Museums etc though). We actually booked it because it was around the corner from where some friends were staying so the location on this trip was ideal, however I might consider staying a bit more central next time. Although if you want somewhere a bit more quiet with easy access to the busy centre this is perfect.
The breakfast room was lovely with a good selection of food. We quite liked having to cook it ourselves as this meant we could get up when we wanted (and after a late night the night before this was ideal!) and we didn’t have to check out until 12 so the lie in was just what we needed!
We loved Amsterdam and the Collector B&B was perfect. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Compared to the prices of more central hotels it was excellent value for money. The only downside was that we only stayed for one night!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have stayed 3 nights in September at The Collector. Overall a good experience. Public transport is really only 20 meters from the doorstep, so the whole of Amsterdam is easy to reach. It was only a short walk to the Vondel Park, the Leidseplein and other interesting places. Many eateries around as well. We had a nice quiet room at the back. The only down side we have found was the bed. The matrasses need replacement. Finally, host Karel is a nice and friendly guy, which gives this place a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed here a few years ago and I have felt guilty about not giving this B & B the high praise it deserves. I spent countless hours researching where to stay and finally settled on this one. The host Karel is a gentleman and the accomodations were perfect in every sense. I will not visit Amsterdam again unless there is a room available here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My daughter and I spent 10 nights in September in this wonderful B&B. Everything was wonderful, the big room with balcony, the bathroom, the well equipped refrigerator and kitchen. And the best of course Karel and his assistant Kees who really know how to make you feel at home. The location is superb, the museum quarter, the Vondelpark and Amsterdam South which gives you the feeling of being a real Amsterdammer. The public transport in front of the house and more trams 2minutes away from the Concertgebouw stop. And of course the free W-Fi and also the use of the computer downstairs were a fantastic part of this deal. When a friend of my daughter from Paris came to visit us for 3 nights they arranged for an extra bed at a nice rate (and the room was still big enough). Karel also arranged a very reasonably priced taxi for us to Schiphol. Words are really not enough to describe this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Collector Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Collector Bed & Breakfast

Address: De Lairessestraat 46 hs, 1071PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Collector Bed and Breakfast, in a large house dating from 1914, has well-appointed rooms, each with its own character in the style of the 20's. Your host Karel Poels is an active collector, who can tell about his different collections with lots of enthusiasm. The decoration of his house, including the guestrooms, has been inspired by his collections: unique dutch wooden skates, branded pins, chinaware, you name it! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Collector Hotel Amsterdam
The Collector Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Collector Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.