We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Save Saved
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list
Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best prices
Ranked #83 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Berlin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

We just came back from our trip to Amsterdam, where we stayed at Irene's Bed& Breakfast. We really enjoyed our time there. Our room had a view on the Rijksmuseum and on the typical houses of Amsterdam. It was always clean and cosy and Irene is such a nice person - it really felt just like home.
The breakfast also is really good and everything is so uncomplicated. You choose what you want to eat from the rich offer in the fridge in the communal area - so there can't be anything you don't like and have to eat out of politeness.
Every room has it's own bath and fridge and is decorated in a personal, beautiful way. Due to that you don't feel like any tourist in a big anonymous hotel but like someone who participates in real-life-Amsterdam.
We slept very well in our big bed. The noise from outside was recognizable but if you walked around Amsterdam the whole day, you should not have problems with falling asleep.
The location of the B&B is great for starting the exploration of Amsterdam. It's located in DePijp - an area that just became popular and therefore has an authentic flair and lots of nice bars, cafes and restaurants that are not exploding from tourists.
We hope to (re-)visit Amsterdam soon and surely will stay with Irene again!

  • Liked — Personal flair
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
44
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fl
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2006

This is more complicated than the others have suggested. Our room was roomy and relatively quiet. It is, however, a bit old and there was a sewage odor coming from an adjacent kitchen which was were the sink was located. I think in hot weather the room we were in would be very hot. The breakfast is generous but if you are a little worried about eating from already opened jars and containers, this is not for you.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Odor
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
showgirl8
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2005

The owner is really friendly here and did her best to make sure that we had everything we needed. Her dog was a friendly, curious little fellow and followed her around.

We stayed in the Art Deco room which was very comfortable and cosy. It was very hard to get out of bed in the morning as it was so comfortable! The room is quite large with lovely views of the nearby museum. The toilet and shower area is bricked off and has art deco stained glass windows which was in keeping with the decor of the room and was very clean. The room had lovely little touches like statues and a few knick-knacks lying around which gave it a different feel. Very different to the faceless non-entity hotel rooms you usually come across.

Breakfasts are provided when you want them and you can come and go as you please. There are about three flights of stairs to the room itself which is a commonality of all the canal houses in Amsterdam, so bear this in mind if you are mobility impaired.

You can make coffee and tea anytime you want in the communal area just outside the room and there is internet access provided as well.

Overall, I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this place highly if you want to get a feel of how real Amsterdammers live and don't just want to stay in a boring hotel!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2005. Our room was spacious, very clean and decorated in a nice, quirky way. The bathroom is actually in the room - not adjoining - but it has been done well and didn't detract from the ambience.

This B & B has a fantastic location, just a few minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. The tram is nearby and there are quite a few bars and restaurants in the area. Breakfast (served in the room) was fine. There is a proper kitchen for communal use right next to the room, with a fridge, coffee maker, etc.

The B & B is on the third floor, but anyone in reasonable shape shouldn't have a problem with the stairs. Allergy sufferers should be aware that the landlady has a friendly little dog and, apparently, a cat. The B & B isn't non-smoking (the landlady smokes).

Our only real complaint with "Between Art & Kitsch" was the noise level at night. A major road seems to run along the other side of the canal, and the traffic kept us awake. The windows blocked the noise out, but it was just too hot when we were there to keep them closed. All in all, we thought this B & B was pleasant and reasonably good value, but if we decided to use it again, we would definitely pack earplugs!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2005

Stayed here in March, 2004. The rooms are on the third floor (American) of a canal house with a commanding view of the Rijksmuseum. The room was very quite at night and the bed was comfortable. It's located right on a canal in a mostly residential area and just a few minutes walk to a tram line and the old Heineken factory. All the main attractions in Amsterdam can be reached by foot in no more than 20 minutes or by tram in about 5 - 10 minutes. Lot's of great restaurants and cafes in the neighborhood. The breakfast was served to the room by the host and varied a bit from day to day but included a soft boiled egg, breads, pastries, sliced meats, cheese, butter, jams, juice and coffee or tea. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Address: Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between Art and Kitsch B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.