We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Save Saved
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list
Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best prices
Ranked #82 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I feel Between Art and Kitsch B&B made our trip to Amsterdam incredibly enjoyable and effortless. It was so nice to return "home" after a full day of sight-seeing in Amsterdam, and decompress. This is so much better than a hotel room because we could cook in the kitchenette and relax in the spacious and comfortable rooms. Irene took good care of us and was able to offer tourist advice whenever we requested it. The location is fantastic, too--museums, tram lines, grocery store, cafes are all within easy walking distance. I completely recommend this B&B to people planning a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    27
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
43
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was the ideal place for us as a young couple who wanted to explore amsterdam and stay somewhere nice! Comfy beds, no curfew, friendly and helpful hostess (Irene), walking distance to everywhere and self catering delicious breakfast provided! bargain!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hostess of this B & B is as warm and charming as the city she is welcoming you to. The location is perfect; you are a 5 minutes stroll from the Rijk museum and trams to Central Station/Schiphol airport in one direction and a stroll in the other directions take you into many charming neighborhoods of the city you might not have explored otherwise.

Irene is extremely helpful with any questions you may have and we felt free to come and go as we pleased. It truly felt like we were staying with family. Don't forget to ask her for a taste of some typical Dutch cookies - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had a really good stay at this B&B shortly after the new year. It is in a great location, you could easily stay local for evening meals and drinks if you wanted. Irene, the owner, was extremely friendly and welcoming and I was made to feel at home straightaway. The room was very well furnished and extremely clean, I really liked the decor and furnishings. he bathroom was great wit h a nice shower and plenty of towels.
The idea of having a self service kitchen area was a good one and was quite well stocked with breakfast food and drink with plenty of crockery etc.It certainly meant that you could have alie in if you wanted and still know that there was food available for breakfast.
I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Leave aside the great location in the Pijp (minutes from Museum plein and albert kuyp market) and the beautiful rooms (only 2 of them but nicely renovated and very comfortable) but not often you meet someone like Irene, the owner of the place.
Such a kind and helpful lady that took care of everything we needed and was happy to help in every single minute, really makes the difference between a nice place to stay to a perfect one.
Yes, there are a few stairs to climb before you reach to the room but it doesnt take a bit from the excellent experience we had.
The kitchen is well supplied both with food and accessories, the rooms are big and clean and the shower is beautiful, so what else there is to say?
Don't hesitate!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Wonderful position, so close to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. 10 minutes from the touristy centre, right in a lively area (der Pijp) with a big market and lots of places to eat. Irena is very welcoming and an excellent host. Having a little kitchen suited us very well - we got food for supper from an Indonesia take-away round the corner. There was a good choice of food for breakfast but there was not fresh bakery goods every day. The actual accommodation was good but not excellent. The furniture was eclectically interesting - a welcome change from IKEA-type functionality. The wifi signal was too weak to be useful. It was sometimes a bit noisy at night. However I have no hesitation in recommending this b&B; we would use it again if in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: The red room looked bigger than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently spent several days traveling around Europe and stayed three nights at this charming B&B. Yes, there are a lot of stairs, but if you're relatively fit (read: not 800 lbs) and able bodied, it's not a big deal at all. Irene is the most amazing host. She made us feel right at home, showed us around the place and welcomed us to the fully stocked kitchen, and even helped us plan out our day trips. The room was just the right size for me and my boyfriend. The shower and toilet are in the same room, but there's a curtain so nothing actually gets wet. No, there weren't 800 thread count satin sheets, but the bed was very big and comfortable and we slept very well. If you want to pay 300 euro a night for someone to pick up your towels and put candies on your pillow, look elsewhere. If you want to feel at home in Amsterdam in a clean and comfortable space in a great location for a bargain price with a fantastic host, stay at Between Art and Kitsch!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Address: Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between Art and Kitsch B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.