We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best prices
Ranked #74 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Genova, Liguria, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“absolutely recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice place, near the city centre, the rooms are comfortable with original decor, Irene is a great host and cat lovers will find a lovely cat to welcome them. Delicious breakfast, good view. Absolutely recommended!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
40
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very comfortable beds! Great shower! Fresh bread and snacks from the deli delivered daily! Famous market just around the corner! A quick walk to Vondel Park! Great location! Great local pub on the corner - what more could you ask for!! Oh ya - amazing helpful hosts! Irene and her husband are great people - they went above and beyond to make sure we had a wonderful stay!
If you aren't physically fit to walk up 2.5 flights of stairs to get to the room you'll have to give this one a miss. But for all the healthy people out there - nothing wrong with a bit of extra exercise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

we have just returned from 4 nights and between art and kitsch. will go back.. fabulous find. Irene is a grt host. breakfast is self serice and yummy.. eat in room at your table. I loved the quirky funky decor and it was all spotless and comfy. Grt views and reasonably central.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed in this B&B for 3 nights while attending a business conference in May.

As expected, the place has quirky decor and the typical steep Amsterdam stairs. The location is fantastic, just across a canal from the Van Gogh museum.

It was a great quiet, place to sleep, very comfortable, good showers, etc

The host, Irene was very accommodating - providing loads of advice on where to go and what to see. Also, there were always nice pastries and fruits for breakfast.

Overall, I think it's a fantastic B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hello,
I spent three days in Amsterdam and I found this b&b really nice and confortable. It's located in a safe and lovely area in front of a canal and near by the Van Gogh museum.
Irene the owner was really helpfull, she could give me lot of advices on publics transportations and on what to visit in Amsterdam. There is also a lovely white cat which is living there, so then pets' lovers would be enchanted
I recommand this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I loved Amsterdam all the more thanks to the hospitality of "Between Art and Kitsch". It's a funky and relaxed little place along a canal, and the location is fairly central, but not too central. It has three rooms with views the Rijksmuseum. Nearby are many attractions, including a market and the city's biggest park, and there is also a place to rent bicycles. All the staff are friendly, including the cat. Irene, the owner, is kind, helpful, interesting to talk to, and knowledgeable about the city. She made some recommendations about things I wouldn't have known otherwise. There is a fully-equipped kitchen, and everything was clean and tidy. The rooms are furnished, and the whole place is cozy and welcoming. There was a thunderstorm one evening, and I had a great time curling up with a book and cup of tea in the room with the sound of the rain outside. In short, it had everything I needed for a great visit to Amsterdam. I will go back the next time I visit. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were two couples who went to Amsterdam for a four night stay at Irene’s B&B and so we took 2/3 of the rooms. It’s a quirky place but the stairs are not bad as some say and there were no queues for breakfast. You get your own breakfast from a good selection of foods provided and if you need more or something different just ask. All of the rooms have tables for 2 and ours had one for 4 so we all ate breakfast together at a time to suit us. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were serviced daily with new towels. Irene was helpful and made some good suggestions for restaurants and bars. Between Art and Kitsch is in an excellent location – minutes away from both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum; on a canal, close to one of the best markets, bars and restaurants. Tram stops are close so most areas are easy to get to. We walked to Anne Frank’s house from here, in fact we didn’t use the tram, apart from getting there on day 1 until 24 hours before we left. The area had the feel of the Parisian Marais and was wonderful for exploring with the occasional café stop. A good way to escape the frenzy of the Jubilee!

Room Tip: Of the two larger rooms one has a wet room and one a full bathroom - take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Address: Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between Art and Kitsch B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list