We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Save Saved
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list
Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best prices
Ranked #84 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sheffield, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We were two couples who went to Amsterdam for a four night stay at Irene’s B&B and so we took 2/3 of the rooms. It’s a quirky place but the stairs are not bad as some say and there were no queues for breakfast. You get your own breakfast from a good selection of foods provided and if you need more or something different just ask. All of the rooms have tables for 2 and ours had one for 4 so we all ate breakfast together at a time to suit us. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were serviced daily with new towels. Irene was helpful and made some good suggestions for restaurants and bars. Between Art and Kitsch is in an excellent location – minutes away from both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum; on a canal, close to one of the best markets, bars and restaurants. Tram stops are close so most areas are easy to get to. We walked to Anne Frank’s house from here, in fact we didn’t use the tram, apart from getting there on day 1 until 24 hours before we left. The area had the feel of the Parisian Marais and was wonderful for exploring with the occasional café stop. A good way to escape the frenzy of the Jubilee!

Room Tip: Of the two larger rooms one has a wet room and one a full bathroom - take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
44
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent three nights here and loved it. Well-appointed room, comfortable bed and soft bedding. Lots of light and very airy with cheerful decor. Great location.

The B&B is in a typical Amsterdam rowhouse, meaning lots of steep stairs (although this is true for all Dutch houses, especially in Amsterdam); this shouldn't be a problem, just double check that you have everything before you leave for the day! The rooms are average size, the bathroom is small but very well-designed (the whole room turns into a shower, which is very cool).

As for breakfast, we were provided with many kinds of bread, cheese, cold cuts, and fruit as well as butter, jams, nutella, cereal, milk, and juice. All we had to do was pop some bread in the toaster and make coffee in a very easy-to-use machine (using coffee pods). For the sake of comparison, I stayed at an actual hotel (as opposed to B&B) in Leiden, with a real dining room and full breakfast service. That service consisted of two slices of toast, a variety of untoasted bread, a plate with three slices of ham and three slices of cheese, and an assortment of spreads (jam, butter, nutella, sprinkles, etc...). There too, I had to get up to pour my own juice or make myself a coffee using the automatic espresso machine. It is nice to eat in your room, you can even have breakfast in bed. And it's not like they expect you to wash the plates!

In any case, Amsterdam is a lovely city (best seen by bike, which can be rented at numerous locations) and this is a great place to stay when visiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights in beginning of May.
The name of this place says it. Between art and Kitsch. Furniture a bit old, room big enough but sanitary a litlle surprising (shower and WC are in the same little room, so that when you take a shower you throw water all over the WC).
The guests are invited to prepare their own breakfast, in the small kitchen just outside the rooms (kitchen shared between all the guestrooms).
Owner nice but absent, and wants to be paid in cash only.
I would say it does not worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the big double-bed room; very spacious. The bedding was pretty old and musty, though clean enough, but the place absolutely STANK of cigarette smoke, I suppose from the owner. Also, we were there in winter, and the heating was very insufficient; I woke up too cold every morning and developed a cough. The breakfast items were great, except that you have to prepare everything yourself and take it in your room. Biggest complaints were the smoke smell and the heating; the location is fantastic, though. The facility is very close to the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum, and De Pijp is a very cool neighborhood. We also loved being close to Albert Cuyp Market.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The name says it all. This great little find really is something Between Art and Kitsch. My partner and I wanted to celebrate his big 50 in one of Europe's coolest hubs. We decided to bypass the usually stuffy and staid and settled for this gem in the heart of the Pjip. We couldn't have been happier. Our wonderful landlady Irene was there to greet us upon arrival and showed us to our hippy chick room with a great view of the canal and the Rijksmuseum beyond. Everything was clean, comfortable and cozy. The ensuite bathroom was obviously recently remodeled and gave us great hot showers every morning. We told Irene what were looking for and she customized our itinerary, giving us a few tips that went well beyond our expectations. Before we arrived, I had forgotten to mention my gluten-free diet and she made sure I had my eggs and fruit ready and waiting in the kitchen every morning. We couldn't have felt better even if we were at home. Between Art and Kitsch is the best value we have found in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Great location and good sized room, nice ensuite that looked fairly new.
Room had TV and fridge and good views.
Owner helpful but wasnt expecting us even though we had booked.
Room and house was constantly smelling of fag reak, not nice, self service breakfast quirky but only good if you like cold meat and bread, never any cereals, never any juice even though that was what was requested. Was a work trip and dont really have time to cook own breakfast before leaving each day so bread was staple start to the day...hardly a breakfast though the coffee machine was great.
Amsterdam isnt cheap and its a struggle to find any value anywhere but at 100 euros a night plus taxes with self serve bread and clothes smelling of smoke doesnt inspire.
Lastly they only accept cash, meaning you need to keep substanial cash aside for end of visit.
This may suit some visitors but if you have allergies, hate steep stairs or are a non smoker stay away.

Room Tip: Art deco room was good size, had new ensuite with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

the owner, irene, made us feel very welcome and at home. location was great near museums and concert hall and the neighborhood has many nice and reasonably priced restaurants. the communal self service breakfast room was very convenient. the stairs were a little bit of a challenge, but thats amsterdam. wonderful city and hospitable people. highly recommended and a good value...that's it...goodnight Irene

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Address: Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between Art and Kitsch B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.