We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdameer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Between Art and Kitsch B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Between Art and Kitsch B&B
Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct - best prices
Ranked #74 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amsterdameer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Once in Amsterdam, the best way to get the amsterdameer feeling is staying over an amsterdameer place and Between Art and Kitsch is the place: Irena is really nice and her tips are the best. In the heart of a nice amsterdameer neighbourhood, we can come and go easily, and local restaurants and bars are cool and nearby. I love it! Deeply recomend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
40
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time! The room was spotless and beautifully quirky; the surrounding area is full of lovely restaurants and cafes; and Irene was a great host and made us feel very welcome. There was fresh bread and coffee every morning and our room was cleaned daily. We both felt that this B&B represented real-value for money, while also being a little bit special. We could happily have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

As Amsterdam as it gets. A lovely B&B, a lovely host (Irene) and a lovely room with a view to the Rijksmuseum. The B&B is located in the centre, on a Canal, in a historical Amsterdam-Canal mansion with four stories. A lot of care has been given to the (very Amsterdam) bric à brac interior with art deco an kitsch influences (hence the name of the B&B!) A small kitchen is available to guests, where a DIY-breakfast is at guests disposal, which is nice as you don't have to get up for breakfast at a certain hour. Will definately return the next time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 7 nights here and had a wonderful time! The B&B is convenient to public transport, the museum quarter, and the cafes and pubs of the Leidseplein. All the rooms look out onto the Rijksmuseum, which is a 5-minute walk away. Our hostess, Irene, took great care of us, always supplying some special breakfast treat for her guests. And Hatrje, Irene's snow-white cat, kept us company during breakfast.

There are three rooms in total. We stayed in the middle room for 6 nights then moved to the smallest room on our last night. (To make room for a larger party). We were given a discount for being accommodating. The middle room is great for an extended stay. The smallest room is good for a couple of nights at most. Breakfast is serve yourself and consisted of a good variety of bread, baked goods, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, fruit and coffee. The staircase to the rooms is long and steep but really not that challenging. My wife and I got lots of great tips and advice from Irene about what to do and where to go, including a discount for the canal cruise. If you are looking for civilized accommodation in a very cool part of the city but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown, you will find it at Art & Kitsch!

Room Tip: Ask for the middle or largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The place was junky and smoky. The room was clean, but I did not like the interior and atmosphere. The shower room had odor probably from the drain. I was to prepare my own breakfast. I only had a piece of cheese and a glass of oj because other stuff were not really appealing to me. It was like 9:30 am when I tried to check-out... I had to knock on the owner's door for like 15min. I even went outside to ring the door bell... to wake her up... I felt terrible.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Pros - excellent location, de Pipj is a great area. Flat itself is quirky and unusual and charming. Breakfasts are plentiful.

Cons - no heating all weekend and no real effort to get it fixed, we were given an extra blanket each.

The dining table had a ball of cat fur and a layer of dust. The host cleaned it off with the palm of her hands, hygiene is clearly not a big concern here.

I specifically asked for a twin bedded room and was assured it was fine, but on arrival the host breezily admitted 'I know you asked for a twin room, but as you can see this double bed is large enough for 2'. As it was 10pm, we hardly were in the position to argue. This was incredibly cheeky if you ask me and quite blatantly advertising the room incorrectly.

The shower pressure was non existent, a trickle at best.

The host was eccentric and at times downright rude. She would walk into the room (even when you are in bed) and linger for ages. Whilst cleaning the shower, she mentioned that lots of hair had been shed on 4 occasions - to the point were this was offensive. After all, humans as well as cats shed hair.

Other reviews have mentioned the cat - it's freely allowed into all the rooms and does frequent them often. The stairs - 3 flights and very narrow and steep - a challenge for anyone with luggage.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Had a fantastic stay at Art and Kitsch. Irene is a great host, she is friendly and informative. The breakfasts were fabulous and a real feast by European standards. The room was spacious and had all we needed. We even got a little bottle of Champagne for our honeymoon. The De Piyp neighbourhood is quiet and in a good location with the market and museums close by. Would recommend it highly as a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Between Art and Kitsch B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Between Art and Kitsch B&B

Address: Ruysdaelkade 75-2, 1072AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Between Art and Kitsch is a hospitable Amsterdam bed & breakfast, it's in the middle of the city right between the Museum area and the Quartier Latin. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Between Art And Kitsch Bed And Breakfast
Between Art And Kitsch Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Between Art and Kitsch B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Between Art and Kitsch B&B to your Saves list