We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canal-View Apartment Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Save
You added Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Singel, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Canal-View Apartment Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can't say enough about our stay at the Heren B&B. After not-so-great accommodations in Paris, Ken and Vlad's canal view apartment suite was heavenly! Beautiful views, gorgeously renovated full apartment, and a spa-like bathroom-- we could not have asked for more. Vlad was super friendly, showing us the apartment and returning each morning during breakfast to see if we had any questions or needed recommendations on sites or restaurants. We loved chatting with him! Breakfast was also great (thanks, Milo!) and the entire experience really made our stay in Amsterdam fantastic. Would go back to Maes & Heren in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is hard to write a review when so much is positive. To start, the location is incredible. It is walking distance to almost all the tourist spots. We actually walked to the house from the Centraal station, yet it is far enough away that you are definitely not staying in a train station neighborhood. Instead, you are staying in one of the most beautiful areas in Amsterdam, right on the gorgeous Singel canal. The rooms do not have canal views, but the main living room does. At the end of the day, my partner and I often found ourselves sitting in the living room looking out at the canal. We were so relaxed that one night we both feel asleep. This canal house has a common living room and full kitchen.

Vlad immediately made us feel very relaxed and welcome. Milo works the kitchen and ensures that everything is perfect. They often helped us plan our day with excellent suggestions. Breakfast involves a dining room table covered with food - bowls of fresh fruit, delicious dutch yogurt (which we call greek style in the US), croissants, breads, dutch pancakes and cheese ...

Everything was clean and spotless. The bed was very comfortable. The house is furnished with a beautiful mix of modern and antique furniture. The free wifi is so fast that I decided to just go ahead and write this review from here on our last day.

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable place to stay with an authentic Amsterdam ambiance, this is it!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a sliding glass door and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked Heren B&B for a few days over last weekend with my 83 year old Mum.It was perfect in every way...Vlad welcomed us and provided us with all the information that we needed for our stay and have to say he is the most amazing host,nothing is too much trouble for him.The accommodation is very clean,comfortable and even better than portrayed in the photographs on the website.The breakfasts especially the Dutch pancakes are amazing.The location is so central and within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions.There are a number of restaurants and bars within minutes walk and if you don't want to eat out there are excellent facilities to cook for yourself.
All this makes Heren B&B a real home from home
Thank you so much for helping us to have a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: The purple room is downstairs at the back of the house so very quiet...separate private toilet immed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stayed at heren for 4 nights and love it. location is good, a few minutes walk from tram station 'Kolk', though this station was shut after 20.00 for construction when we stayed, it's 10+ min. walk from the next station, but we felt safe at night. breakfasts was great. we stayed on the 2nd floor, it's a lot better than staying a a hotel. room very spacy and convenient. laundry is just around the corner, very near. the house owner, Vlad is friendly and informative when it comes to tourist attractions in holland. would recommend this b&b to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I booked Heren B&B on a special winter offer. When you book you do not know which B&B you will be staying in, but they are just minutes from each other and both delightful. The location is perfect, round the corner from many attractions and within walking distance from the rest, yet in a quieter area facing onto the canal.

We were met by one of the owners Vlad who showed us all round the different communal areas (living room, 2 kitchens and the breakfast room) in the building and giving us advice on the local attractions/where to eat. The owners couldn't be more generous, with food and drink in the fridge that you can help yourself to any time.

We were in one of the basement rooms which was surprisingly bright and modern. It had many luxuries including under floor heating and a great bathroom. It had obviously been renovated to an extremely high standard with excellent attention to detail.

Breakfast was served around a communal table which was great for meeting others and swapping tips on the attractions. The breakfast assistant was very friendly and helpful, making sure that the huge spread was constantly replenished and making us various treats such as Dutch pancakes.

We couldn't fault the B&B at all and have highly recommended it to all our friends and family. Thank you so much Vlad - (PS I finally gave in and we went to the Heineken Museum!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We're a young couple and stayed here over the Easter bank holiday weekend. We were greeted by Vlad on arrival at 11pm and he gave us a tour of the house. We were given the downstairs room with very large ensuite shower and sink but access to the toilet was just outside the room, however this was fine as it was still private. Room was perfect, modern decor, very spacious and included decent size TV, wardrobe space and skyline windows that were controlled by a remote. The controlling of the blinds allowed you to decide how much light you let in. The bed was very large and comfortable.

Breakfast is served between 9-11 which was perfect time for us but some residents would go out before hand, for example, to Anne Frank's house as this would get very busy during the day! The breakfast was fresh and included cereal, fruits, eggs, ham, several breads, cakes, yoghurt and one day Ken made us some pancakes too which weee delicious. All residents from the b&b sit together around the table which was nice to get to get recommendations and reviews of different attractions.

We were welcome to access the kitchen at any time and cook for ourself and use the milk, tea, orange juice etc. We forgot travel plugs and were kindly provided with 2! The one downfall / negative was the fact we checked out at 11am and flight was not until 10pm and we were unable to leave our bags in the b&b. As central station is only a short walk away from the b&b with cheap lockers, €5.10 for the day, I didn't feel this was that bad. In general the b&b is a short walk from all tourist attractions. The furthest we had to walk was 25mins to the Heineken experience but this could have been easily accessed by the tram if we wished!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Like others, after thorough research of the mulitude of A'dam B+Bs, we chose this place.It keeps all its promises and delivers in addition. Yummy breakfast. Step out obto the cobble stone strret by the gracht. Really nice. The location near the old quarter, the joordan is excellent. Hope to go back some day,

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Singel, 1015 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Bed and Breakfast'Home away from home' as our guests say. Heren Bed and Breakfast our second B&B, along with Maes B&B is located in Amsterdam the heart of the canal area and is truly a quiet retreat. All the home comforts as well as many extra's. A listed monument from the 18th century, a typically canal house which has been renovated with all the modern comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heren Bed And Breakfast Amsterdam
Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heren Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.