We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“different!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beurs van Berlage

Beurs van Berlage
Damrak 213 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
31 20 521 75 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Convention Centers
Attraction Details
liverpool
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“different!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to this exhibition, purely because it was something new to see!
We were not disappointed.
However, you really need to understand that this is not an exhibition of his real work.
It was fabulous to see some of the paintings brought to life via 3D.
My only disappointment was when reading some of the quotes from Van Gogh, that were next to each painting: the grammar and the punctuation, which were presented in English, were, at times, embarrassing!
Don't ruin something that has potential with errors such as this!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A unique way of appreciating Van Gogh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a modern presentation of Van Gogh's works which hang in a labyrinth. It also includes 7 3D booths which are enjoyed with a supplied pair of 3D glasses. Be sure to note that this is not the Van Gogh museum, nor is it affiliated with the Van Gogh museum. The good that about this exhibit is that is presents images of Van Gogh's works which have been destroyed, stolen or are currently in private collections. I would recommend seeing this in conjunction with the Van Gogh museum. Also note that since this is not a museum, the iamsterdam card is not accepted. My wife and I still enjoyed this exhibit and it was fun to see the 3D version of the Cornfield with Crows; I felt like I was in the middle of Hitchcock's The Birds! This exhibit is not for anyone, but if you view it for what it is, you should enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3D is not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

3D animations did not do anything for me.. but the quotations taken from Van Gogh's letters written along the exhibition were the highlight. Read them and watch the reproductions of the paintings to feel Van Gogh.. OK, two 3D were good, the labyrinth and weat field with crows.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Van Gogh overview”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

There are photos of Van Gogh paintings organised in periods with several interpretations in 3D animations. They also show the oevres that have been stolen, lost in fire or in the war or for some reason the location is currently unknown

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Enjoy the temporary Van Gogh exhibition in the Beurs Of Berlage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a short walk through the Beurs Of Berlage I went to the side entrance of the Beurs Of Berlage in order to enter the exciting world of Van Gogh. This exhibition (until mid-May 2013)shows all his famous paintings along a serie of lesser known and even some destroyed and lost paintings. With arrows you are guided through the exhibition on the basement of the building where you will be blown away by Vincent Van Gogh his unique, very colourfull and expressive style. A special feature is the 3-D painting, especially The Asylum and Wheat Field With Arrows turn into a mindblowing experience! Not to be missed by any serious lover of the art of painting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beurs van Berlage also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beurs van Berlage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beurs van Berlage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.