We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy the temporary Van Gogh exhibition in the Beurs Of Berlage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beurs van Berlage

Beurs van Berlage
Damrak 213 | Old Centre: New Side, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
31 20 521 75 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 527 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Enjoy the temporary Van Gogh exhibition in the Beurs Of Berlage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After a short walk through the Beurs Of Berlage I went to the side entrance of the Beurs Of Berlage in order to enter the exciting world of Van Gogh. This exhibition (until mid-May 2013)shows all his famous paintings along a serie of lesser known and even some destroyed and lost paintings. With arrows you are guided through the exhibition on the basement of the building where you will be blown away by Vincent Van Gogh his unique, very colourfull and expressive style. A special feature is the 3-D painting, especially The Asylum and Wheat Field With Arrows turn into a mindblowing experience! Not to be missed by any serious lover of the art of painting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    6
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Go there to see Amsterdam School architecture. You can drink something in the cafe , but don't expect anything exceptional.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We really enjoyed this exhibition. We got discounted tickets across the street in one of the retail tour provider stores and then went directly to the show. There was no line there. The digitized animations were really great -- we loved seeing the paintings come to life along with music befitting of them. We wished they had transformed more than seven of the paintings.

There were many reproductions of Van Gogh paintings there that we had never seen (considering there were 200 repros there). You will also learn a lot about Van Gogh's life there. The show was very professionally and creatively done. If you like Van Gogh's style, even though these were only reproductions, you will really appreciate this exhibition. I expect that it will travel the world in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Van Gogh Exibition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Went to this exhibition as the Van Gogh museum is currently closed for renovation. Whilst it was great to have all of his works in one place the fact that they were all prints and not one actual painting was on show I found disappointing considering it cost 16 Euros to per adult to visit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“[--] - this isn't art, its reproductions. You don't have to come to Amsterdam for this crap.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If I want to study paitings, I use the Google Art Project, browse the web, and use a book. Why come to the Netherlands, with literally hundreds of the best paintings of Van Gogh, and then see a really expensice tourist trap, rip off?

You go at your own peril - the joke will be on you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beurs van Berlage also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Beurs van Berlage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beurs van Berlage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.