We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest stay - very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Hotel Verdi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honest stay - very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The best point is the location. Near the legendary concertgebow, Van Goh museum and voldenpark. Good place if you need to sleep well. The neibourhood is quiet and away from night clubs and bars (to me is quite important). The building is old as the entire Amsterdam, so dont expect modern stuff. The staff is a family and are very friendly and helpful. I chose a room with private toilette but not all roons have this facility. Be aware of that. The price is adequate and breakfast is satisfatory. Overall i found it a good option and i would stay again with my family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    62
    26
    11
    5
See reviews for
16
30
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really good value hotel if you don't mind few inconveniences.

good points: price can't be beaten, nice welcoming staff, good breakfast, quiet location and also easy to get to the centre and museums!

Negative points: there were about 3-4rooms but we had to share only one toilet and one shower.
No cups to make tea or coffee. Our room had a lovely view but very old and dated.

overall we were happy to stay here for a night, no frills:)

oh! there is a very tasty indonesian take away near the hotel, quality food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

At first positive points: staff is friendly, nice atmosphere in breakfast room, close to museums and midtown.
Disturbed that fan did not work ( in +30 degrees ) , TV was a stampsize, there was a little water cattle in the room, but no spoons, mugs, coffe , tea; walls were kind of dirty with dirty fingerprints, and a cupboard was on the edge to collaps. One hook to hang towels but we were two. It is a HOTEL! Looked more like really cheap B&B, but we used this place only for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a nice stay here for Queen's Day. The best value budget hotel that I could find in Amsterdam at a reasonable price for the time I was there - the busiest for many years. The hotel is nice and quiet and my room, although small, was comfortable and warm. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good with an all you want to eat continental buffet. They also have bikes to hire for 12 euros per day. The owners let me leave my luggage on the last day as I had a late flight, while I explored the Rijksmuseum nearby. The 'steep' steps that have been mentioned are not an issue! Typical of every old Dutch house. And the area around the hotel is the nicest in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Room Tip: The single room has a shared toilet and shower which are nearby and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel Verdi is quaint, quiet and warm. The breakfast is decent enough to get you going in the morning. The location was ideal for me, as it is close by several museums, eateries, shopping and Leidesplein. It is a few miles walk to get to the "city center" but that was no problem for me. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#222 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#160 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#183 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#219 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#186 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verdi 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.