We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, nice friendly staff, simple but good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Hotel Verdi
Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value, nice friendly staff, simple but good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really good value hotel if you don't mind few inconveniences.

good points: price can't be beaten, nice welcoming staff, good breakfast, quiet location and also easy to get to the centre and museums!

Negative points: there were about 3-4rooms but we had to share only one toilet and one shower.
No cups to make tea or coffee. Our room had a lovely view but very old and dated.

overall we were happy to stay here for a night, no frills:)

oh! there is a very tasty indonesian take away near the hotel, quality food!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
26
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

At first positive points: staff is friendly, nice atmosphere in breakfast room, close to museums and midtown.
Disturbed that fan did not work ( in +30 degrees ) , TV was a stampsize, there was a little water cattle in the room, but no spoons, mugs, coffe , tea; walls were kind of dirty with dirty fingerprints, and a cupboard was on the edge to collaps. One hook to hang towels but we were two. It is a HOTEL! Looked more like really cheap B&B, but we used this place only for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a nice stay here for Queen's Day. The best value budget hotel that I could find in Amsterdam at a reasonable price for the time I was there - the busiest for many years. The hotel is nice and quiet and my room, although small, was comfortable and warm. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good with an all you want to eat continental buffet. They also have bikes to hire for 12 euros per day. The owners let me leave my luggage on the last day as I had a late flight, while I explored the Rijksmuseum nearby. The 'steep' steps that have been mentioned are not an issue! Typical of every old Dutch house. And the area around the hotel is the nicest in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Room Tip: The single room has a shared toilet and shower which are nearby and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel Verdi is quaint, quiet and warm. The breakfast is decent enough to get you going in the morning. The location was ideal for me, as it is close by several museums, eateries, shopping and Leidesplein. It is a few miles walk to get to the "city center" but that was no problem for me. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My flatmate and I had a great stay at Hotel Verdi. We were on a university student's budget so we were not expecting much from the hotel for the price that we payed. However, we were surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and were able to answer all of our questions, and the rooms, although small, are very clean. The shared bathrooms are also very clean and maintained. We couldn't have asked for a better location! Regardless of where we wanted to go, it was within walking distance or a short tram ride away. I would definitely stay at Hotel Verdi again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.