We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verdi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Wanningstraat 9, Amsterdam 1071 LA, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Had a nice stay here for Queen's Day. The best value budget hotel that I could find in Amsterdam at a reasonable price for the time I was there - the busiest for many years. The hotel is nice and quiet and my room, although small, was comfortable and warm. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was included in the price and was very good with an all you want to eat continental buffet. They also have bikes to hire for 12 euros per day. The owners let me leave my luggage on the last day as I had a late flight, while I explored the Rijksmuseum nearby. The 'steep' steps that have been mentioned are not an issue! Typical of every old Dutch house. And the area around the hotel is the nicest in Amsterdam. Would definitely recommend and stay there again!

Room Tip: The single room has a shared toilet and shower which are nearby and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    53
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
25
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Hotel Verdi is quaint, quiet and warm. The breakfast is decent enough to get you going in the morning. The location was ideal for me, as it is close by several museums, eateries, shopping and Leidesplein. It is a few miles walk to get to the "city center" but that was no problem for me. Great deal for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

My flatmate and I had a great stay at Hotel Verdi. We were on a university student's budget so we were not expecting much from the hotel for the price that we payed. However, we were surprised. The hotel staff was very friendly and were able to answer all of our questions, and the rooms, although small, are very clean. The shared bathrooms are also very clean and maintained. We couldn't have asked for a better location! Regardless of where we wanted to go, it was within walking distance or a short tram ride away. I would definitely stay at Hotel Verdi again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel, the owners are very kind and attentive; they always ask how are you and if you need anything. Also, they gave me breakfast even if the breakfast time was over! :) The room where I stayed was small but clean, very warm, and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great because you are close to the Museumplein, and from there you can easily take the tram anywhere you want! (Amsterdam isnt that big haha). Overall great place to spend some days!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel was fantastic, nice and clean and everyone was really friendly. Breakfast was basic but there was more than enough food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, Amsterdam 1071 LA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#75 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.