We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, Depends on What You're Looking For” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Verdi to your Saves list
Hotel Verdi
Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Okay, Depends on What You're Looking For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

First the good things: good breakfast; a certain amount of charm; very nice, familial feeling.

But as with places with charm and a local feel, they sometimes push it, and it becomes just a shoddy attempt to show they don't have the desire, ethic, or money to spruce things up.

Being in Europe, though, you might enjoy the way the toilet works; but though the shower is very European, it doesn't have the feeling of being very clean.

The room I had was on the very top floor, but the stairs leading up (no elevator) are so narrow and steep, there's no way it would be allowed in North America. Coming down on the day of check out with my heavy suitcase, I almost fell. I stumbled down the stairs and hit a wall. Luckily, I escaped injury. But beware.

It is a hotspot for classical musicians with its proximity to the legendary Concertgebouw. You will see black and white pictures of many musicians in the lobby and in the dining space where the breakfast is served.

Breakfast has an array of meats, eggs (boiled or scrambled -- stick with boiled), and fruits. Tea and coffee are delicious. It's on a very quiet and charming street. But it is old. If you are looking for a European feel -- and don't mind roughing it a little for it -- you will enjoy this place.

Room Tip: Try for something closer to the bottom of building: stairs are killer; no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
13
27
29
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights in Amsterdam in June 2012. We had a great stay at Hotel Verdi! The staff instantly welcomed us and gave us a rundown of the city and provided us with a map! The breakfast in the morning was excellent, with great fruits, breads, hams and coffees and teas!
We were really happy with or stay. It's in a quiet area still within the main touristy areas of Amsterdam, a good distance from the labyrinth of the red light district and coffee shops!
We would stay there again for sure, and would recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam! Thank you to everyone at Hotel Verdi!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel was in a great location, close to many of the museums and about a ten-fifteen minute walk from the centre.
Decent accomodation on a budget is hard to find in Amsterdam and so I wasn't expecting a great deal from this hotel but the service made up for the basic rooms.
The lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful, taking us through the City map and pointing out where everything of interest was. We were too early for check in but it wasn't a problem to leave our bags in the breakfast room for a few hours while we went out and explored the local area.
In the hotel itself, we were the third floor up and the stairs were almost vertical! Luckily I had my boyfriend to carry my case (large as we were starting a two week trip) but if you are somebody who struggles with stairs this may not be for you!
The room itself was basic, two single beds and a sink. One of the beds had a mattress that was slightly too large for the bed though. The decor was pretty dated but the room was clean. We had a very small room but other reviews suggest that there may be larger ones as well.
Our room was next to the shower room and to be honest the noise from the shower was loud enough to wake us each morning. The toilet was the other end of the hall from our room.
The breakfast wasn't great, on the first morning i just had some toast as the selection didnt appeal (meat, cheese, fruit - to be honest i think we had come down at the wrong time and possibly missed the best of it) and didn't bother on our second morning.
Overall, I found this to be a good place to stay if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep, however if you like to spend a bit of time in your hotel room it doesn't offer too much. It's more comparable to a private dorm in a hostel, but was actually cheaper than the hostels we had seen at that time.
I cannot fault the service though, and also there was a beautiful cat that lived in the hotel!
Another thing is do not take a taxi here from the train station - it cost us 25E when we could have got a tram for 5. Beware Amsterdam taxis!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hotel Verdi in Amsterdam

Price: I paid about 70 Euro for one night in a single room in June 2012.

Room: I ended up on the 3rd floor in a small twin room though. The hotel is very old but that was to be expected. The stairs are small and steep so getting luggage up 3 flights of stairs can be difficult. The bathroom is fine. Clean and small. The TV was old and had sticky tape holding it together but it worked and I wasn't there to watch TV

Location: The location is good. Its near the Van Gogh Museum and close to tram lines back into town. It is a bit of a trek into Amsterdam Central but its easy enough.

Facilities: I didn't get a chance to test out the breakfast due to an early flight. The free wifi works well on ground level and ok on the 3rd floor but does drop out a bit from up there.

Staff: Helpful. The older gentleman doesn't have very good english but tries to help and the other staff are also helpful with advice on buses etc.

Conclusion: If you are after a cheapish room just out of the town and near the Museum area, this is worth a visit. It served its purpose for me on a one day stopover. If you want to be close to the action and nightlife, I'd suggest staying somewhere more central than here though. If you want something modern and spacious, I'd look elsewhere too.

Room Tip: don't expect anything modern or new from this hotel. its old but you get what you pay for. it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We loved this hotel, from the lovely lady receptionist who was very accommodating down to the spacious room. The location is very good, close to museums, bus and tram stops. They have discount coupons and maps provided at the reception. The room was very clean and spacious. Towels were provided. There's a refrigerator and a kettle too. Wi-fi was provided for free and so was breakfast. Breakfast buffet spread was commendable. The only thing we didn't like was the steep stairs (no lift). It was a bit pricey compared to other hotels that we booked (in Paris,Rome and Venice) though. If I ever go back to Amsterdam, I'd love to stay here again.

Room Tip: perhaps you should choose a room on the lower floors so you won't have a hard time carrying your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Wanningstraat 9, 1071 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.